We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

893 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 868: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

It's not luxury, but for what you pay, it's absolutely fine. If you just want a comfy bed and a shower then it's perfect. It's in a good location in the jewellery quarter, easy to walk into town, nice pubs and restaurants nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeilaS84
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great room, bed was comfy and everything you needed in the room Even a handy travel hair drier, Loved the monsoon shower, big selling point Drainage could have been better as didn't want to get bedroom floor wet but nothing a hand towel wouldn't stop, great views on to Birmingham and St Pauls too over all great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrlarmour
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The rooms are small but you wouldn't know it... contemporary modern mixed with a Japanese style pod! Good set up, very comfy bed and pillows were great! Only disappointment was the window just had a blind so didn't keep all the street lights out, plus it was quite noisy in the hotel as the rooms didn't tend to keep noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
Sapcote, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

A very modern pod room hotel. It's clean with nice rooms but be aware they are pod rooms so the bed spreads the width of the room and you'll have to climb over who ever is next to you in bed. Overall it's great if like us your after somewhere to just sleep and shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Definitley not for weary traveller to stay, constant noise due to thin walls, banging either side and up above, youthsrunning amok at 2am in the morning! Toilet dirty, think it only gets cleaned by the shower that sprays out everywhere

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
Sebastian S, Guest Relations Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Chris, I was really sorry to read your review of BLOC St Paul's. We pride ourselves on offering exactly what the weary traveler needs and wants and thus to see that, for you at least, we didn't deliver is very disappointing. Whilst we cannot be responsible for the behavior of other guests I know that if you had alerted...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here and found it great value for money. Compared to other hotels in central birmingham and the jewellery quarter it's a great deal. The rooms are small but if you're looking for a one night stay in a comfortable and clean room then this is it! Bed was comfortable, bathroom and bedroom clean. Couldn't complain.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlotte H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really nice hotel rooms are good wicked shower in room staff very helpful and friendly good location would stay again and I will defo stay there again found the place through booking.com Bahysgsgsgsgsgsggsgsgsbbsbsbsbsbxbxbxbxbxbxbxbxbbxbxbzbxbxbxbbxbxbxbxbxbxbxbxbxbbxbxbxbxbxbxbxb

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nutty1810
Worminghall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Modern Pod style rooms with good amenities in the rooms, well thought out and clean, we were upgraded to an apartment and that was spacious and well presented. Quick service and helpful staff. Just be aware there is no frills in regards to food, breakfast etc. but plenty close by and for us no issue, pleasant nights stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carl M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is very modern and clean and it is in a good location. The best part was the bed which was extremely comfy. The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful. The only problem I had with the hotel was that the lighting in the room was very dim which made it difficult to do makeup. Other than...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Clairemay92
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was not sure what to expect when booking as I noticed it was pod style rooms but when I went into my room it was spacious and had everything you need. Had it's own kitchen space with microwave and fridge, living area with a couch and flat screen and then a bed with flat screen also. Was very impressed as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony M

352 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (114)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (124)
Viewed
Accessible Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Standard Double Room No Vista (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Room With Vista (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 115 in Birmingham
1,031 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 115 in Birmingham
2,235 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#30 of 115 in Birmingham
1,093 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 115 in Birmingham
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: £40 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bloc Hotel Birmingham staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Bloc Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles O1174HWchrisj, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be aware no restaurant or bar, but not an issue for us”
 of 5 bubbles carlm729, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade for a window- £5”
 of 5 bubbles Giorgio-Lucia, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try and ask for a window in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles JASON247, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The apartments are definitely worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Ladowding, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5