We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,037 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,033: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

5 minutes from the Mailbox and centenary square and 10 minutes from grand central station and the bull ring. Comfortable bed, nice view from the window of the canal. Building work at present but no noise from outside even on a Monday morning. Didn't stay here to eat or drink as so close to surrounding places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gail1842
leics
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

A ideal location, only one minute to the mail box on foot, the canal net work and shops are all close by, the parking was about 10 mins away but we picked the cheapest. The hotel is having a extension and our room was a bit tired but clean, we was aware of this and didn't bother us. We never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilf10
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Room very poor with fittings falling off and bathroom furniture loosing its protective covering leaving untreated MDF exposed. Not a typical high standard we are used to with Premier Inn. Extension in progress so had to put up with contractors at 07.30 banging and rattling around on Sunday morning

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuartr905
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Stuart, Thanks for your review of our Premier Inn, Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side). I am very sorry to read that your experience with us during your recent stay had fallen short of our usual standards. Naturally, we want all of our guests to enjoy every aspect of their stay with us and therefore we shall be sure to...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

The staff that this hotel were very supportive at a stressful time, as I was down for a funeral. They ensured I had a comfortable room which met my needs, with a large comfortable bed. They also were very helpful with my travel arrangements, giving knowledgeable advice

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

we have stayed at Broad street at least ten times, this is the first experience of a disturbed night, with shouting and cars screeching their tyres. on all other occasions the stay has been great, the staff are friendly and welcoming

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y5602LLkeithw
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Keith, Thank you for taking the time to review our Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel. I am very sorry to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay with us and the disappointment caused by the noise from outside which disturbed your stay. Our rooms are fully insulated to prevent an much noise as possible so I...

Newcastle Upon Tyne
Reviewed 26 February 2017

I have stayed at the Premier Inn Canal Side hotel many times over the years. Probably in excess of 15 nights. I have always left very positive reviews, even coming back after the 6 month period between reviews has expired on TripAdvisor to extend my thanks to the hotel for comfortable and pleasant stays. This is not one of those...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Zillion
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Zillion, Thank you for taking the time to review our Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel again. I am very sorry you were not happy with the current extension works at this hotel. Although we do advise guests of the current works on the website, I am sorry you feel it affects the quality of your stay and so...

Galashiels, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Chose this hotel because it was a short, 10 min walk, from New Street Station. There was a significant amount of work going on at the hotel, which we were made aware of in advance. Staff at reception were really nice. Room was ok, but it is time for the refresh. It's an older Premier Inn, so not as spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hawklord_pxr5
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

I have stayed at this hotel a few times over the years. It has never been good but is handily placed in the centre of the city so I have returned despite the poor quality of my stays. However, When I went back a few days ago for a two night stay I was shocked to find the car park,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david r
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you for your review. It's such a shame to hear that you have not enjoyed your visits to the Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) hotel. Recently the hotel has been refurbished, however this has been displayed on our website, as well as a notification of the smaller room sizes so that guests are able to make an...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The hotel, staff and surrounding area was excellent. Unfortunately there were works taking place and this impacted on our stay but we received a full refund without asking for one. If it was not for this it would have got top marks.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nebloc
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

View of the building works from room 312. No parking here at all and tricky access with the building work on site. As notified on the website the rooms here are small. I had only 12 inches my side of the bed and the bed was shorter than normal. Clean and very comfortable though and in a perfect location for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheila r

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
3,487 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
1,049 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 242 and its noisy heat pump!”
DrBob317, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try a different Premier Inn Hotel.”
P-j-S-2, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't go there. Its a rip off.”
854davidr854, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Refurbish with better sound insulation and air conditioning.”
petm2017, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High floor canal view”
marka467, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5