We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Traveller (141)
Room & Suite (111)
Dining (17)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
See why so many travellers make Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City their hotel of choice when visiting Birmingham. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you. As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms include a flat screen TV and air conditioning. In addition, Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City offers free breakfast, which will help make your Birmingham trip additionally gratifying. Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City makes getting online easy, with free wifi. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests. Close to some of Birmingham's most popular landmarks, such as Jewellery Quarter (4.1 km) and Birmingham Back to Backs (4.2 km), Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City is a great destination for tourists. While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the Indian restaurants, including Ziryab Executive Buffet, Hen and Chickens PH, and Mowgli Street food, all of which are a short distance from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City. During your visit, be sure to check out popular attractions like Monster Mayhem (0.3 km), Aston Hall (2.0 km), and Adventure Island Mini Golf (0.3 km), which are all within walking distance of the hotel. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City as you experience all of the things Birmingham has to offer.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Book Direct and Save
Hotel deals
Location
Full view
53Somewhat walkable
Grade: 53 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 0.25 miles
11Attractionswithin 0.25 miles
539Reviews
192Photos
5Q+A
97Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 145
  • 192
  • 101
  • 57
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I stayed on my recent business trip. Staff at the front desk was lovely and helpful. Quite disappointed with the fact that there is no restaurant at the hotel, but I was advised there is pub literally next door. Pub name was Farmhouse Inns, dining and carvery. Food there was
Read more
We picked this hotel due to its proximity to Alexandra athletics stadium as my son was competition there the next day. Whilst on the way to the hotel, I received a call from a member of hotel staff asking whether I wanted one or two rooms. Despite receiving a confirmation email
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Responded yesterday
Hi Bob G, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a candid review. I was concerned to see that your had problems with the condition of the room, mattress, and room sound insulation just to name a few this time around. I understand your disappointment and I am so sorry. I will make sure to share your comments with the entire team for necessary improvements needed. Again, thank you for the review and for staying with us. I hope that you would still consider staying with us again in the future. Mike F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Stayed here on business, it was fine for one night but wouldnt stay longer. Its a handy location for where we were going. Food is limited, the man on reception told us that and if we wanted to go out there were plenty restaurants just a 10 minute walk out the back of the hotel,
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Responded 1 week ago
Hi, swish53! Thank you for choosing us among your lodging options in the area. I am delighted to know that you had a great night sleep and found our location favorable. I am sorry for the condition of the hotel due to the renovation. I kept your comments in our files and shared them with our local management for evaluation. We will use this as we continue to find ways of enhancing our features for better guests' experience. As we strive to become better, we would love to host you better than the last. Many thanks, Anne A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This is an ideal location for working in Birmingham, only 10 minutes from the city centre. The usual comfortable room you expect from holiday inn. A large room, very comfortable bed and a great shower cubicle. Was expecting a continental breakfast but got a nice English
Read more
You generally can't go wrong with a Holiday Inn Express: the rooms and beds are comfy and the breakfast is good. My biggest issue is the lack of plugs near the bed. Having been on the go for 12 hours my devices were running low and I had to use the desk. The shower in my room
Read more
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi AncientEric, I am elated you chose our property and thank you for taking the time to write a review about your hotel experience. It is good to read you like our room accommodation and breakfast experience. I'm happy our outstanding amenities added to the enjoyment of your visit. On the other hand, I am sorry for the challenges you encountered with the location or lack of electrical plugs. We understand how important convenience and comfort should be, especially for our weary travelers. I've forwarded this to the hotel management and they will review the appropriateness and need in terms of installation. your comments about the shower will be inspected by the maintenance team. While we understand that your stay was not as perfect as you may have expected, we hope to have another opportunity to provide you, a much better experience. Best, Zel N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
PreviousNext
12345623
Can you check out earlier than 7am?
Yes there’s 24hr receptionist so you can check out anytime
1 vote
Hi. How long have you worked there?
I don't work there..I was visiting from the south coast..Dorset ;)
0 votes
Show all answers
Is the hotel on the star city site . Ie can we walk to restaurants etc with young children ?
No it's not but it's a 5 minute walk along a safe pavement and traffic light controlled crossings
1 vote
Show all answers
Parking at this hotel?
Yes no problem.
0 votes
"Bring ear plugs and your own heater and fan"
"Rooms on the outside of the building are noisy to traffic, even though double glazed"
"The back of the hotel is probably better as it is on the side of a carriageway so you will get boy racers late at night,"
"A room at the back if you do not want to hear the traffic , which to be honest at night was very little"
"Rooms at the back seem to be quieter"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$53 - US$136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hampton by hilton birmingham star city hotel birminghambirmingham blueberry hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBirmingham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing