We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Crown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Old Crown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went to The Old Crown for breakfast this morning with my girlfriend and absolutely loved it. I thought the full English was great. Everything came out hot and in a good waiting time. The sausages were especially good. My girlfriend had the oak smoked salmon which again was great and was presented really well. If I had to nitpick, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
kieran1368, General Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this review

Thanks for your five star review. We love getting feedback especially when it's positive. I will pass your comments onto our kitchen and front of house staff. We hope you will be back and look forward to seeing you again. Thanks, Sean Ryan, General Manager

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I chose The Old Crown to book into for 2 days as i had booked the Peaky tour which started from there. The location is perfect, only a few mins walk from the Bull ring. It was my friends birthday and i decided to treat her to something special - could not have been better. The Old Crown is astonishing,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolebrown28
Sean R, General Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this review

Hi Carole, Thank for you the Perfect review, I have shared your review with all the team and we were all extremely happy to know we have made such an impact on you and impressed you that much you shall not only be returning to Birmingham but to the Old Crown to! Extra milk we will look into, we are...

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went part of of my birthday treat Fantastic quality old building Breakfast was also great 2 little complaints was the music outside went on till late and there is road noise but you accept that as its an old property Didn't ruin our stay ,would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
Sean R, General Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this review

Hi Daniel, I am delighted you spent your birthday with us and found our breakfast great, we have had some parties on over the festive period so I apologise for the music being on late, and unfortunately the road noise is out of our control however we are looking into secondary glazing to reduce the noise levels from the street....

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here after a night out in Digbeth. For the price I can't knock it. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. There was pub/party noise into the early hours but what do you expect in Digbeth? Breakfast is even included in the price. Recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey D
Sean R, General Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this review

Hi Joey, Id like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us, and I must say a 5 star rating really made us happy! I am glad you found your room clean and comfortable I shall pass your comments onto the housekeeper. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Old Crown again soon...

Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We ate here on a Friday evening just before going to a gig at the O2 institute, a couple of minutes walk away. It's a lovely traditional old pub, one of the oldest in Birmingham. We had fish n chips which was very nice, they also serve a great selection of real ales. There is a nice outdoor area with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DERWYN
Sean R, General Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this review

Hi Derwyn, Thank you for the 5 star review, I am glad you love our pub as much as we do she is an olden with a lot of stories to tell! I shall pass your comments onto the chef regarding the fish and chips we are happy you enjoyed your meal. I will also pass your comments onto Matt...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Very old building which requires much TLC and investment in badic renovating. Relatively cheap. Dinner stops at 9 pm plus a limited vegetarian menu. Unfortunately we were in the front of the hotel (upstairs facing the main road) and it was incredibly noisy. Woken up several due to this. The lights were not all working which made the room appear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank her_maj64
Sean R, General Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this review

Hi her_maj64 I have recently taken over as the GM for the Old Crown, I am saddened at the 2 star you gave us however understand your reasons for it, We do try and accommodate anyone with a certain food requirement and it does state on our menu to ask if there is something you would like but cant see...

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this wonderful, quirky, cosy inn as we were watching a gig at the Institute. Great location for this, just a few minutes walk away. Check in was very relaxed, and we were shown to wonderful room 8! It's huge! Massive room with such a comfy bed and a large separate bathroom with beautiful roll...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth F
Sean R, General Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this review

Hi Ruth, 5 star reviews make us very happy at The Old Crown so thank you very much :) Room 8 is my favourite! with our lovely roll top bath its a bit special isn't it I shall pass all your lovely comments onto the relevant departments they will get a real sense of satisfaction hearing this review i am...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Amazing building and great food. Atmosphere was relaxed and the staff were friendly and helpful. Played great music. Room 5 has a really comfortable four poster bed. Would definitely stay there again if ever in Birmingham.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cos250
Sean R, General Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this review

Hi Cos250, Your right! it is an AMAZING Building she's an olden but a golden! Room 5's bed is lovely and I think really fits in with the character of the building. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Sean

Reviewed 21 November 2016

Clean friendly location we have used before. Staff very happy to help and accommodating. Foods good although they might think about expanding the menu and the residents breakfast was first rate. On the down side parking is a lottery (Cheap parking a short walk if not) and the area is very noisy at weekends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
Sean R, General Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this review

Hi Patrick Thank you for your feedback and your kind comments about the team, we now have a new head chef and we are currently in brain storming sessions about the new menu so please watch this space. Breakfast is important so we always make sure we get it right and get you set up for the day. Parking is...

plymouth
Reviewed 18 November 2016

WOW,Fantastic place to stay Thank you to all the staff at The Old Crown for making our stay so memorable, my sisters & I spent two nights with you & had a fantastic time, Our room was at the front of pub & yes was on the busy main road but it didn't bother us The beds were very comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valPlymouth
Sean R, General Manager at The Old Crown, responded to this review

Hi Val WOW! What a fantastic review you left for us, we all had a good talk about this in our meeting and we are overjoyed in honesty that we left such a great lasting impression with you. All i can say is thank you, and your more than welcome to pop back and see us whenever you want. Have...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 142 in Birmingham
1,004 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 142 in Birmingham
864 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 142 in Birmingham
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Old Crown

Address: 188 High Street | Deritend, Birmingham B12 0LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: £28 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Crown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Crown staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
plymouth
2 months ago
england
8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Crown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room 7 - its a must”
 of 5 bubbles carolebrown28, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not the quietest place to stay. Busy road.”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 10 (The Dining Room)”
  • Room 10 (The Dining Room) - Secret Cupboard!
  • Room 10 (The Dining Room) - Big Spacious Room!
 of 5 bubbles Matthew_Bester, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you'd like a bit more peace and quiet ask for a room at the back of the B&B, away from the street”
 of 5 bubbles 396hannahr, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“music concert stay”
 of 5 bubbles 292taylae, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay