We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Vestry

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Vestry
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 247: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really clean room with loads of space. Staff were welcoming and always eager to help us out. My wife is a vegetarian and there was a great choice of breakfast for her. Great location to explore chichester, thanks Vestry! Well worth the trip from Wales. :)

Helpful?
Thank Bork G
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Firstly I should say up front the staff in this place were very polite and friendly, but the place itself is pretty grimy. I know it doubles up as a pub, but there is nothing pleasant about eating your breakfast in a room which your shoes stick to the floor as you walk across it. Took me right back to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Binny67

Travellers are raving about these Chichester hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow! What a fabulous find! My wife and I were greeted by a very polite member of staff then shown up to our room. The room was immaculate and very spacious, with a selection of tea, coffee and delicious biscuits. We stayed on Saturday night and did not hear any sound from downstairs. Breakfast service was fab and breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Markhalford65
thevestry, Manager at The Vestry, responded to this review

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Vestry. Lovely to receive such positive comments. Hope to see you again on a return visit. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed at The Vestry. The rooms were very spacious and clean, towels lovely and fluffy. The breakfast was well cooked, fresh and tasty. Lovely staff throughout. Very enjoyable stay and would return.

Helpful?
Thank jewson1997
thevestry, Manager at The Vestry, responded to this review

Pleased you had a comfortable stay and found our rooms to be spacious and clean. The Vestry breakfasts are famous in Chichester! Glad you enjoyed it. Very best regards More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

The staff were friendly, the location was great and the room was large, just a shame the beds were stained and terrible. The breakfast was lovely but they stopped doing evening meals.such a shame it could be a lovely place if more money was spent

Helpful?
1 Thank chelseakirby1990
thevestry, Manager at The Vestry, responded to this review

I am sorry to read your review. I enjoyed chatting with you and I know you were disappointed we had stopped doing evening meals. Chichester has an abundance of restaurants and we are focussing on our music evenings and cocktails. I was very sad to see you had posted a photograph of the offending valance. The valances are regularly washed... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Staff lovely. Breakfast brilliant. No meals through the week. Good sized bedroom but disgusting bedding .was given a complimentary drink for the evening by the manager on the morning but when I went to get it the evening staff didn't know anything about it

Helpful?
Thank Terry C
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I stayed in Room 2 which was comfy clean and spacious. The Vestry is in a great location and close to many bars and restaurants all within walking distance. Also closeby are shops. The Staff are exceptionally helpful and so friendly. Enjoyed my stay very much.

Helpful?
Thank kayeskalski2016
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed on a Thursday night, and we had room 11. Huge room and bed, lovely whirlpool bath and the quietest room they have. Free parking, easy walking distance of the Cathedral, restaurants and brilliant shopping. Very helpful staff, lovely breakfast and great coffee. Stay Sunday to Thursday if you want a quiter stay, we would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Alison P
England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

It's right in the town and has free overnight parking. No evening meal so had to eat out. Room was a good size and comfortable and although a little tired decor wise and checkin at the bar - I would say it's good value due to the location and would book again.

Helpful?
Thank Man_o_Kent
Cambridge
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Before visiting this hotel we had read the reviews relating to their late night discos on Friday and Saturday. When we checked in we asked to have a quiet room and were assured that our allocated room was 'well soundproofed' and we would not be disturbed. WRONG. It was noisy and unpleasant and even ear plugs did not help very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ray M

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chichester hotels
0.4 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#9 of 9 in Chichester
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#6 of 9 in Chichester
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
0.1 mi away
Trents
Trents
#35 of 76 in Chichester
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Vestry

Address: 21 Southgate, Chichester PO19 1ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Price Range: £69 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vestry 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Vestry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vestry Hotel Chichester
The Vestry Chichester, West Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Vestry staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Melbourne, Australia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Vestry staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 11 and those nearby are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 242alisonp, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Away from the Disco or bar area if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles raym817, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed equal.”
 of 5 bubbles kathleenc529, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Sorry - no idea..... as I said just a night out”
 of 5 bubbles 977mels, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 9 was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Suejohnstone, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay