We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Goodwood Hotel

Goodwood, Chichester PO18 0QB England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (436)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (272)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 8 hotels in Chichester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set in the spectacular 12,000 acre Goodwood Estate, the Goodwood Hotel has 91 comfortable rooms. Guests can enjoy complimentary use of The Health Club, with a 14 metre indoor swimming pool, Waterbeach treatment rooms, sauna, steam room, gymnasium and fitness studio and tennis courts. Guests may also enjoy beauty and holistic treatments as well as golf on our championship courses. Hotel guests are also welcome to use The Kennels, Goodwood's stylish and welcoming club house during their hotel stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Golf course
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
2084Reviews17Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 915
  • 580
  • 320
  • 169
  • 101
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Brian R wrote a review Yesterday
89 contributions32 helpful votes
We’ve stayed at Goodwood Hotel a number of times over the years and it never fails to please. The hotel and Goodwood estate is a perfect place to escape to for several days. Whenever we stay we go no further. The staff, whatever their position, are exceptional. Helpful, friendly and so welcoming. They are all enthusiastic about everything Goodwood, as are we. Thank you everyone at the hotel, Farmer Butcher, Chef, Aerodrome, Goodwood shop, farm shop and the Kennels for making our stay another wonderful experience, one we haven’t found anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Goodwood Hotel and estate is the perfect place to unwind and relax
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
NinaMcKrazy wrote a review 11 Feb
London, United Kingdom292 contributions129 helpful votes
A return visit for a company dinner. We stayed in exactly the same room as last year and the difference was very noticeable. The room had been refreshed, with new lighter furniture and a repaint. The bathroom was far cleaner and shinier too. Breakfast had moved to farmer, butcher, chef and there was speciality coffee available from the self service machines at no additional cost. A real positive change. As previously the hospitality was exceptional and the staff very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Goodwood Estate, Other at The Goodwood Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear NinaMcKrazy, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your return visit to the hotel, I am delighted to learn that we met your expectations and that your stay was memorable. I have passed on your kind words to our hard work team who were delighted to that they had such a positive impact on your visit to us and I do hope we can welcome you back very soon. Kindest regards Miguel Abellan van Kan Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Robyn T wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Visited today as a guest to the health club and for a massag - felt obliged to leave a review. Having scrolled through the many negative comments the evening before my visit I was feeling a little apprehensive but I have to say - I have had a wonderful day. Let’s be clear - this is a high-end family health club. And to that end, you will experience families and young children. If you’re looking for a Champneys style spa retreat sans children, especially over a weekend, then this is not for you. That said, the children in the pool area were all so polite and having fun I couldn’t fault them. I wasn’t offered a robe on check-in, but I did see people with them, assuming hotel guests only. I didn’t feel the need for one, as unlike Champneys style spas it wasn’t the type of place you would wander around in one. The towels provided were ample with fresh ones stacked everywhere for you to help yourself. I stopped for breakfast before my treatment in the lounge area which was delicious and a lovely view over the golf club. The lounge area is used for golfers, club members and hotel guests which was fine by me. Every staff I encountered was polite and couldn’t do more for you. The treatment itself was out of this world, I couldn’t recommend it more. Then on to a few hours in the pool and spa area - pool separated with swim lanes and an area for family swimming. Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room - all of which really clean and lovely. Never too many people in each. The changing rooms were spotless with a full set of products in each shower (shampoo, conditioner and body wash) and GHD hairdryers. Loved it and will definitely be returning
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Goodwood Estate, Other at The Goodwood Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 564robynt, Thank you for sharing your amazing review here, I am delighted that you had such a fantastic experience and felt so welcome and relaxed during your day with us. I have passed on your kind words to our hard-working team who will be thrilled to learn of the positive impact that they had on your time with us. I do hope on this basis that we can welcome you back to the hotel again, very soon. Kindest regards Miguel Abellan van Kan Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
foodfanUK wrote a review Jan 2024
Godstone, United Kingdom272 contributions156 helpful votes
A great stay. Friendly staff and comfortable rooms with excellent restaurants. Lots of places to visit nearby. Breakfast was a little noisy and busy and the hotel guests were mixing with the members of the health club - it would have been more respectful to the hotel guests to keep the two apart. But otherwise no complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Goodwood Estate, Other at The Goodwood Hotel
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Dear foodfanUK, I am delighted you had such a fantastic stay with us recently, thank you for sharing your kind words here. You will be pleased to learn that we are indeed in the process of moving our guest breakfast service to our other restaurant within the hotel, this will enhance the breakfast experience for our residents. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel very soon. Kindest regards Miguel Abellan van Kan Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carls wrote a review Dec 2023
Surrey, United Kingdom23 contributions5 helpful votes
Myself, my now husband and our dog stayed for 2 nights at the Goodwood Hotel, as we were getting married in The Kennels (also part of the Goodwood Estate). We were upgraded to a dog friendly suite, room 100, which was just what we needed, as it had a beautiful room with blue sofas at one side, and a very very large bed on the other side, with a lovely bathroom which had a walk in shower and a bath and plenty of space. The room was perfect for hanging up my large wedding dress and having a whole team of hairdresser, photographer and family in the morning of the wedding. The room had lots of great facilities such as glass bottles water, a coffee machine, cookies etc. Great dog facilities with a giant dog bed, treats, and a bowl left for us to use in the room. On our wedding night we came back to the room to find the chaos of me getting ready had been all cleaned up, and a heart shape design made of rose petals on our bed. The staff at the hotel could not have been more wonderful. They were all so happy, attentive, just couldn’t do enough for us, nothing was to o big or too small, from the team at the reception desk, to breakfast in the morning they all made the whole stay exceptional. The staff knew our dog by its name and kept saying hello whenever we saw them. Our wedding guests were also staying at the hotel and they were all allowed to check-in early before the wedding which made a huge difference. I had room service for breakfast one day, and ate in the restaurant for breakfast the next, and the food was absolutely delicious, especially the sausages!!!!! Yeah there is the odd scratch on the door, the odd faded stain here and there on the furniture or carpet, which could do with a bit of a shimmy, but it didn’t take the shine off our visit. We are looking forward to returning to explore more of the Estate.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Goodwood Estate, Other at The Goodwood Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2024
Dear CarlyMKP, Firstly congratulations on your recent celebrations, thank you for sharing your review here, I am delighted that you had such a fantastic stay with us. I have passed on your very kind words to our hard working team and they were just as thrilled to learn of the positive impact that they had on your time with us, during your special celebrations. I do hope that we can welcome you back, to celebrate your anniversary perhaps.! Kindest regards Miguel Abellan van Kan Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vicky F wrote a review Dec 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
From start to finish our experience at the Goodwood hotel was perfect! All of the staff were so friendly and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. The food was exceptional especially the venison in the restaurant and the Ful medames at breakfast! Luxury but relaxed, we have stayed many times and looked forward to returning. Well done!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Goodwood Estate, Other at The Goodwood Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2024
Dear Vicky F, I am delighted you had such a fantastic stay with us, thank you for sharing your kind words here. I have passed on your compliments to our hard working team and they were just as thrilled to learn of the positive impact they had on your time with us. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon. Kindest regards Miguel Abellan van Kan Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
trvguest wrote a review Dec 2023
Bangkok11 contributions18 helpful votes
In the round, terrible hotel for the price. Room we had was well decorated. Paid extra for a suite to house the family and they didn't bother putting an extra bed and cot in despite confirming over email with a strangely formal document. Was difficult to get that sorted. Then visiting the restaurant is where it went downhill fast. Service shocking, but worse they lost our order for both dinner and breakfast, bizarre. Service staff never picked up on and never checked on any table, so wasted an extra hour just sitting there. It was clear other tables were struggling too. And for dinner the restaurant was half empty. Seemed to be a severe lack of staff training. As per other reviews, food is worse than a harvester. In fact a premier inn has much better standards and service across the board. Room boiling as heating/air con controls didn't work. Please stay somewhere else. 400 pounds for one night, 2 adults and a toddler. Nuts.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid his hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Goodwood Estate, Other at The Goodwood Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2024
Dear trvguest, I am extremely disappointed that your time here did not live up to your expectations and for that, I would like to apologise, I am grateful that you were able to speak with our Front Desk Manager during your stay to express your concerns and I do hope that she was able to help during that time. I believe since then you have spoken with our Deputy General Manager to discuss your concerns during your time here and I can reassure you that we have since been able to highlight areas within our teams where training is required and has been implemented. I would like to assure you that your feedback has been taken very seriously, I do hope that you will consider returning to stay with us again at some point, please if you do decide to do so, please do contact me directly and I will ensure you are looked after during your time with us. Kindest regards Miguel Abellan van Kan Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris O wrote a review Dec 2023
Southampton, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
As always, we were treated very well by all the staff at the Goodwood Hotel. We stayed one night in a Character room with dinner at the Farmer, Butcher and Chef. Our room is set in the old part of the hotel up a couple of stairs. The room is very specious with a clean and stylish bathroom. Lots of USB ports available to use. The espresso machine was a nice touch. Dinner was fabulous. I had the venison loin which was very nice, my wife had the red beef tricep. Both meals were very filling so didn’t have room for dessert. As it was birthday, the staff provided a number of finishing touches to the meal and even giving a small box of truffles in the room! We will always come here and I have not seen any falling in standards mentioned in the other comments.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Always ask for extra. If you don’t ask, you don’t get.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Goodwood Estate, Other at The Goodwood Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2024
Dear chrisoW9211TE, I am delighted you had another fantastic visit to us recently, I have shared your very kind words with our team here, who were thrilled to learn of the positive impact that they had on your time here. Thank you for sharing your review here and we shall look forward to welcoming you back very soon I hope! Kindest regards Miguel Abellan van Kan Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CNEP052 wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom103 contributions83 helpful votes
I have been meeting a friend here for our annual Christmas lunch for about 10 years and the standard has been gradually declining. Today’s lunch menu in the bar area was very poor with few choices. When the meals arrived, in my case fish and chips, it was very obvious that both the fish and the chips had been bought in frozen from a catering company. The fish, cod I think, was tasteless and the flakes just disintegrated as I cut into it. There was also very little fish inside the puffed-up batter coating. The dessert was also reheated from a bulk buy. Although we ate early, there was no custard left for my dining companion. How difficult is it to make some fresh? In addition, the ladies toilet had a broken hand drier and there were no paper towels in either of the two containers. Everyone had to ‘air dry’ their hands! The toilet roll holder in one of the two toilets was hanging off the wall. Does no one check on these things? Next year we will be looking for a different place to meet up and lunch.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Goodwood Estate, Other at The Goodwood Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2024
Dear CNEP052, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent visit to the hotel, I am extremely disappointed to learn that your lunch traditions did not live up to that of your previous visits, and for that, I would like to apologise. I have of course passed on your concerns to both our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager, and they have reassured me that the fish is indeed supplied to us fresh and cooked to order, I am sorry if it was not cooked to your liking, I wonder if you spoke to a member of the team as the chefs would have been happy to prepare you another option or indeed the same again. Your feedback has helped us to identify some training requirements within our team and ensure that the regular quality check in our restrooms is reviewed and adhered to. I am sorry that you feel unable to visit us for your annual catch-up again, if you do decide to do so, please do contact me directly and I will personally ensure that you are looked after during your visit. Kindest regards Miguel Abellan van Kan Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
831M831 wrote a review Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom12 contributions12 helpful votes
Goodwood Hotel is somewhere that I had high expectations for given the Goodwood brand. However the hotel interiors are severely dated (a lick of paint and cleaning the carpets would be a start) and it all feels all very disjointed for hotel guests. There is no where that you can relax at ease as they don’t have a proper lounge or drawing room area where guests are looked after as the Snug was either closed or just cold and not inviting. The in-between “lounge” area is completely ignored by staff and the Bar & Grill area just feels like a train station of people coming & going for those using the Leisure centre. The food in Farmer, Butcher, Chef is ok but very over priced for what it is. Our room was nice (bed was comfortable) but being woken by Housekeeping banging on doors at 9am spoiled the experience. The highlight was walking the Goodwood estate which was lovely but I guess you could do that without being a paid hotel guest. The leisure facilities are good.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Weekends in the pool are very busy with Leisure members which is fine if travelling as a family,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Goodwood Estate, Other at The Goodwood Hotel
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Dear 831M831, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us, I am most disappointed and sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations. I have noted your thoughts on the hotel and can assure you that these have been taken seriously and helped us to identify areas that we need to improve on within our teams. This has also helped to identify training requirements and these have been implemented where necessary. I must admit, I am surprised at your thoughts on our two AA rosette restaurant, the ethos behind it is sustainability, all of our produce comes from the estate's very own farm which is just a short walk from the hotel. Home Farm has been providing food to the estate for the last 300 years and the estate's farm-to-fork ethos is well replicated within the restaurant, all of the meat is organically farmed and prepared, resulting in delicious and organic ingredients for our chefs to work with and guests to enjoy. Our check-out time is 11 am and I am sorry to learn that one of our Housekeeping team disturbed you prior to then, the policy is not to service rooms until they are advised by our reception team that they guests have departed, I have passed this across to the departmental manager to ensure it does not happen again. Once again thank you for leaving your review, I do hope you will stay with us again in the future. Kindest regards Miguel Abellan van Kan Hotel General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chichester area.
PRICE RANGE
£149 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
goodwood park hotel, marriott chichester, goodwood park chichester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest SussexChichester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
91
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GOODWOOD HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Chichester)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Goodwood Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Goodwood Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hawking About (2.5 miles), Tangmere Military Aviation Museum (1.6 miles), and Kingley Vale (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Goodwood Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Goodwood Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Goodwood Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Goodwood Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cassons Restaurant, Bill's Chichester, and Thyme & Chillies.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Goodwood Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Goodwood Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Goodwood Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Goodwood Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Goodwood Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Arundel Castle (8.0 miles), Amberley Museum (8.7 miles), and Petworth House and Park (9.9 miles).
Does The Goodwood Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.