Concierge Camping
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Concierge Camping

Ratham Lane West Ashling, Chichester PO18 8DL England
Traveller (383)
Aerial view 2016
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (9)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 8 campsites in Chichester
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Concierge Camping at Ratham Estate is situated in West Ashling near Chichester. Concierge Camping offers 27 spacious hardstanding pitches in a landscaped area with hedging between pitches offering plenty of seclusion. All pitches are fully serviced with a 16 amp electrical supply, free wifi, TV & satellite connection. We are able to accommodate large units such as American RVs. Our on site facilities are second to none, with complimentary toiletries, luxury individual shower suites. On site shop selling local produce and a licensed bar and coffee area. Check out our Emperor pitches with day living tents on them, with dishwasher, fridge/freezer and log burning stove with small oven and hot plate, Concierge Camping is totally unique in it’s concept to touring as you know it. We also have 4 Luxury Safari Lodges to rent for weekends, midweek and 7 day stays. Each lodge has full ensuite facilities, range cookers, underfloor heating. Every conceivable extra has been added for your comfort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shops
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Charming
470Reviews10Q+A39Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 423
  • 23
  • 12
  • 4
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Graham P wrote a review Mar 2020
Frome, United Kingdom13 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my family’s first visit to this campsite where we stayed in one of its Safari Lodges - strictly a Safari Tent. On the plus side we received a warm and friendly welcome and help with taking our luggage to our Safari Lodge. The Lodge itself was luxurious with an oil fired range, fridge, freezer and dish washer and all you could possibly want to prepare an ambitious family meal. Under floor heating ensured it was warm and cosy and the bedrooms were well furnished with top quality bed linen and towels for everyone. A covered outside deck with BBQ and seating completed our lodge’s very impressive equipment. The owners have obviously gone to great lengths and spared no expense to make the entire campsite as luxurious as is possible. It is very clean, smart and beautifully landscaped.

On the downside its site is located only a few hundred metres from the busy A27 dual carriageway which is a major arterial road running along the south coast of England. We had hoped this road would quieten down overnight but it remained busy and noisy all night long during the first night in our lodge, and none of us slept at all well. I tried counting HGVs instead of sheep and gave up several hours later when I reached 1000. I met the owner the next day who explained that the wind direction that night had exacerbated this noise problem, and that with a different wind direction it would have been quieter. I accept this point but I doubt that this site will ever be tranquil. We bought ear plugs for our second night in the lodge and this helped to ensure a much better night’s sleep for everyone in my party. I would strongly advise anyone booking a stay in one of this camp site’s Safari Lodge’s to take ear plugs with them.

Everything else about this camp site was well designed and very impressive and I would have liked to have given it a five star rating. Unfortunately because of its proximity to the A27 and the noise problem I feel I can only give it a four star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LordandLadyHodgkin, Owner at Concierge Camping
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we cannot be responsible for the A27 ‘s traffic. It really does depend on what way the wind is blowing and if the trees have all there leaves on etc. On our website we do not hide were we are situated, that’s what makes us so accessible to everyone. We do hope you will consider another stay with us another time and hopefully the road won’t be so busy. Best regards Tracey & The Concierge Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin H wrote a review Oct 2020
Ashbourne, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic site with the best facilities of any campsite we have stayed at. The attention to detail is what makes this different and tower above all others. Friendly staff and a great location. Food was available on site for Friday and Saturday nights which matched the high standards of the site. Great dog walking areas and easily accessible foot paths and when you return with your wet mutt they even have a dog shower/room. We had a standard pitch that was spotless with more than enough room but still had its privacy. A happy and friendly site not only the staff but all the other customers onsite. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TRACEY HODGKIN, Owner at Concierge Camping
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for your great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, especially that you enjoyed both the park and the food. Obviously a good weekend had by all, we thoroughly enjoyed you staying with us, and we do hope you will visit us again another time. Until then take care & stay safe. Best regards, Tracey & The Concierge Camping Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy R wrote a review Feb 2020
101 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent site, just a few miles from Chichester. Very good facilities on site. Safari Lodge is excellent and very well appointed, we had a 4 person lodge. Sleeping was provided in 2 separate rooms, one double and two single beds each room has ample power points. Television provided in main bedroom. Kitchen very well equipped with dishwasher, fridge, freezer, range cooker and microwave. Lounge has plenty of seating and a television. Toilet facilities are also very good. Outside is a barbecue and large outdoor covered deck area, although not used on this stay!

Thoroughly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LordandLadyHodgkin, Owner at Concierge Camping
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Thank you so much for your great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we do hope you visit us again so you can use the Bbq area etc, it's delightful in the warmer wether sitting along side the stream. Thanks again for your informative review. Best regards, Tracey & The Concierge Camping Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charmain4321 wrote a review Aug 2020
Crawley, United Kingdom79 contributions67 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived back yesterday after a few lovely days away, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and full of banter!
The on-site food van offer tasty food (veggie option was chosen first day and fish and chips the next) the fish is frozen and not a great portion for the £12 charged....save tour money and go to the chip shop down the road...I am pretty sure that the food van is nothing to do with the camp site so this isn’t in any way a bad mark against the site at all.
The facility’s on site were most definitely 5*, fantastic bathroom and toilets ( I can see why they won best bathroom awards)
The whole site was clean, well looked after And extremely secure. We felt totally safe the whole time.
A bonus of having a ‘day bar’ that serves drinks and a small onsite shop to grab them last minute bits up.
There is an on-site laundry service machine that I think was £2 for a wash and £1 for the tumble dryer or maybe it was the other way round?!
Highly recommend this site and will be booking again, the only bad point was in pitch 17 we could smell the toilet/shower block on Saturday night which wasn’t that great but no so offensive that I felt the need to complain.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TRACEY HODGKIN, Owner at Concierge Camping
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Hi Charmain, Thank you for your review we are so delighted you loved Concierge Camping. Regarding your comment on the Fish and chips, please note if you had all the sides down the road of Mushy peas, curry sauce and mayonnaise it would of cost you more than £12.00, the fish is breaded not battered and perhaps thats why you thought the potion small. We do hope you will visit us again and maybe try one of the delicious Katsu burgers next time. Best regards, Tracey
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bea M wrote a review Aug 2020
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom341 contributions116 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having called for a last minute booking we were lucky enough to get their last pitch and we couldn’t have been any luckier. The campsite is immaculate and each pitch is secluded from the rest. The toilets were clean and the showers were as good as any top end hotel. What I particularly loved was the little touches. The free shampoo and conditioner in the shower, the dispensable cloths and washing up liquid in the washing up room.

If you want to camp in style then this is the place to come. We loved it. Thank you Guy for your generosity!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TRACEY HODGKIN, Owner at Concierge Camping
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Glad you loved it, really hope to see you again. Best regards, The Concierge Camping Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
garyross1975 wrote a review Nov 2020
Fareham, United Kingdom233 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a safari lodge for 4 night just on Lockdown 2.0 and absolutely love this place.

The site is very well maintained and the caravan pitches are massive with some having the optional emperor tent.

We however took the safari lodge option for 4, it’s great, a real difference for us when being on a campsite. I’ll add some photos and let them do the talking.

I will say however you need to bring ear plugs if you want a good sleep, it’s quite close to the roads esp our one and local airports, so plugs are a must and we went out to buy some after a very windy first night.

There also a little shop / bar on site for when you need a beer and essentials although that’s pretty much the same thing when on a camp site!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TRACEY HODGKIN, Owner at Concierge Camping
Responded 22 Dec 2020
Thank you Gary for your great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. \ Best regards, Tracey & The Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian S wrote a review Aug 2020
Grovesend, null, United Kingdom48 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve stayed at Concierge camping a few times over the past year and this site has to be rated amongst the very best throughout the UK.
The site isn’t commercial & large like many others.
The staff really do ensure everything is in good order without being intrusive.
This time, we hired a car through the contact provided by the site owner ... Panther car hire.
Car was promptly delivered on site and collection arranged at the end of our stay.
The service provided was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TRACEY HODGKIN, Owner at Concierge Camping
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Hi Liz, Thank s for your review, glad you liked Panther car hire and their excellent service. We do hope you will visit us again. Best regards, The Concierge Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew B wrote a review Sept 2020
Colchester, United Kingdom47 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our first time here and I really can’t express how impressed we are.
It’s not cheap compared to most caravan sites, but hey you need to treat yourself every now and then.
First thing that catches you is how clean the site is, then how neatly laid out it is, then wow the size of the pitches and so on and so on !!!!
We had the Emporer pitch with a salary tent attached. This has dish washer, 40” tv, table, log burner for cold nights and a raised deck area to sit outside.
The toilet and shower blocks were fab to, although we used our own facility’s in our van.
The site has a huge dog walking field that’s fully enclosed.
A lovely shop and food being served in the evening.
Really I could waffle on about how good this place is all day, so just treat yourself and try it.
Although it’s a little pricey, remember the price is for:-
Up to six adults
Two cars
Three dogs
So cheap if you have a good sized family or bringing friends !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shirley S wrote a review Jul 2020
West Sussex, United Kingdom12 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Following a family recommendation we are first time visitors to the Concierge Camping site. This site absolutely exceeded all our expectations! From the super sized pitches (we stayed on an emperor) and having the use of a daytime safari room providing great additional space, to the exceptional toilet and shower facilities (beautifully maintained to a very high standard). In addition this is a small intimate site set in beautiful surroundings yet the space afforded each pitch was superb. We loved every minute of being there! Dog walk goes above and beyond with a very large field available that is in keeping with the immaculate camping area, well maintained where there is an additional public footpath leading to a nearby village. This is our first outing since lockdown and it/we felt very safe indeed. So much so, we managed to get another booking in before leaving. The reception area is great with table and chairs providing an extra space for enjoying a glass of wine/beer. The surrounding area offers so much from beautiful Bosham to charming Chidham, along with a great bike ride along the Centurion Way in Chichester! Looking forward to going back and know this site will be our ‘go to’ on a very regular basis! Well done to everyone at Concierge Camping, you have so much to be very proud of in achieving a five star standard and thank you for providing a sense of home from home!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TRACEY HODGKIN, Owner at Concierge Camping
Responded 6 Sept 2020
Hi Shirley, Thank you so much for your great informative review, we do hope you will choose us again for your next staycation. Best regards, The Concierge Camping Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter C wrote a review Aug 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Following a friends recommendation we booked ourselves one of the 6 bed Safari Lodges that are pitched beside a gently flowing stream.
The site is situated in a delightful location and immaculately maintained. The Lodge exceeded all our expectations, beautifully presented and fitted with everything you could possibly need. This is off the charts
glamping with only a passing nod to sleeping in a tent 🙂Our kids aged 7 & 5 loved paddling in the stream and exploring, very quickly settling in to their surroundings.
The staff were all charming and helpful.
There’s a small Coop 5 mins away by car where we picked up fresh baguettes each morning, Chichester is 3 miles away as is a Tesco superstore if you don’t fancy packing the car up with food and West Wittering beach is 25mins away.
There is reference in other reviews to road noise. There is some but it’s minimal and will depend on how sensitive you are to things like that whether it’s a factor. For us we hardly noticed it and never crossed our minds during the stay. Had it not been mentioned in other reviews we wouldn’t have mentioned it.
We’ve already booked again for next year!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Guy H
1 contribution
Unfortunately not, they have a dishwasher, fridge/freezer, small kitchen area, log burning stove with small oven. Large dining table. The Emperor’s are for day living only. Best regards Tracey
Answer from TRACEY H
Chichester, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Answered via email.
StainesJo asked a question Jan 2019
Staines, United Kingdom180 contributions82 helpful votes
Are there any nice walks direct from campsite. Thanks
Answer from TRACEY H
Chichester, United Kingdom1 contribution8 helpful votes
We are on the edge of the Southdowns National Park, so there are some good walks in the area. It’s best to Google walks from PO18 8DL this will give you direct routes from the park. Best regards Tracey
Answer from Smithy87
Surrey431 contributions388 helpful votes
Yes, a large flat screen, also full size dish washer, large fridge freezer, sink and a table and benches to seat 10 people. It was great and gave Camping a new dimension.
DayTrip725010 wrote a tip Apr 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Think about the safari lodges to add another dimension to your camping"
Read full review
Sandra M wrote a tip Dec 2023
Suffolk, United Kingdom25 contributions94 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early as it is a very popular site."
Read full review
Lisa B wrote a tip Nov 2023
Kent, United Kingdom24 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take ear plugs for road noise"
Read full review
Explorer8685 wrote a tip Oct 2023
england1 contribution7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the site!"
Read full review
John B wrote a tip Aug 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early to avoid disappointment "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chichester area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest SussexChichester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CONCIERGE CAMPING - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Concierge Camping
Which popular attractions are close to Concierge Camping?
Nearby attractions include Kingley Vale (2.5 miles), Pallant House Gallery (3.4 miles), and Bosham Quay (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Concierge Camping?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Is parking available at Concierge Camping?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Concierge Camping?
Conveniently located restaurants include Darbar Restaurant, Fat Olives, and Bill's Chichester.
Are pets allowed at Concierge Camping?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Concierge Camping?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stansted Park (3.9 miles).
Is Concierge Camping accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Chichester HotelsChichester Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ChichesterHotels near Concierge Camping
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire