We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Save
Share
Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
US$92
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (495)
Room & Suite (138)
Dining (51)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Updated 27/08/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 27/08/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 15 hotels in Salisbury
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1273Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 470
  • 448
  • 198
  • 89
  • 68
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Richard T wrote a review 23 Nov
Portsmouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
A total of some 18 retired naval officers and their wives spent two nights - for some of us - one night for the rest - at the Rose and Crown, the first evening for a most especially arranged Grand Diamond Jubilee Gala Buffet! The whole event was a great success and the hotel staff really excelled themselves to make our stay and the Gala Buffet, especially, both thoroughly enjoyable - and definitely memorable! Everyone was immaculately polite and helpful ; the rooms are very comfortable - the food is fine - we had especially arranged kippers for breakfast - and the location of the hotel is simply wonderful - with the River Avon racing by the bounds of the hotel with sundry flotillas of ducks and geese and swans borne past by the racing water and the magnificent spire of the cathedral in the background! It was terrific - as it always is!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom on the first floor with its wonderful view of the cathedral spire and the river.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from James Sellick, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Richard, Well, you did say your review would make us blush and you weren't joking! Thank you for the kind words, we are so pleased your group enjoyed their stay with us. On behalf of the whole team we look forward to welcoming you all back again next year.
Read more
CasHollandonsea wrote a review 21 Nov
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom41 contributions19 helpful votes
Great rooms large, clean and very well serviced. lovely staff especially Sharon on reception, terrific views from back of the hotel overlooking the River Avon, Salisbury Cathedral. We were allowed to have Deliveroo from the local fish shop as I was physically unable to go out when we arrived. Very reasonable for a 4* hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from James Sellick, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Cas, Thank you for your faultless review, it is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stays with us. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for a longer visit so you can experience all the hotel has to offer.
Read more
Jacqueline E wrote a review 20 Nov
383 contributions175 helpful votes
Great location, close to the centre and with parking. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel with a view over the river Avon to the Cathedral. It had plenty of space and a comfortable bed. Breakfast offered everything you could want , and the cooked offering was very good, plenty of choice and decent quality ingredients. There was also a good choice of fruit and cereals. The only downside to breakfast was the temperamental coffee machine , it produced decent coffee but wasn’t the speediest, fortunately the breakfast room wasn’t busy. The hotel offer a guide to breakfast times, indicating when it might be less busy. They offer gloves to customers at the buffet offering to minimise hand contact, it’s a very good idea but several people we saw were not making use of this service. Had dinner in the hotel on 2 occasions and the food quality was good, and so was the service. All in all a great base for exploring Salisbury and the surrounding are.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from James Sellick, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Jacqueline, Thank you for your lovely 5-Star review. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the hotel has to offer our guests. I apologise that our coffee machine at breakfast was being 'temperamental'. We have had issues with the machine as of late and the company who supply it are looking at replacing the machine for an updated version, however, as with most things at present, are experiencing supply chain issues. We are however hopeful that the new machine will be with us before Christmas. I do hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back for the same great experience on your next visit to Salisbury.
Read more
nikkianddel wrote a review 18 Nov
London, United Kingdom7 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed 2 nights over the weekend 12 & 13 November through Great Little Breaks. Part of the package was breakfast, £25 allowance ea towards dinner both nights and packed lunch for one day. The Hotel is nice, we stayed in the older part which was quirky. Our room was nice and clean. The Hotel is in a great location. We found all of the staff to be polite and helpful. The downside for us was the food, the cooked breakfast in the morning was hardly warm, there was only one hot drinks machine and it took forever with having to wait for the water to heat. They need at least another machine. We had dinner in the Restaurant the first evening, we had a duck tart as a starter which was small and i think expensive for what it was, it was beautifully presented but difficult to eat on a slate slab, it was taste wise ok. My Husband had the Mongolian Beef which came with rice but no sauce and the beef was tough and bland. I had chicken roulade which was ok. We did hear one of the staff saying it was a new menu so maybe the Chef was just getting to grips with it. Personally for us we were not fans of the menu, we ate elsewhere on the second night. However, the packed lunch supplied was great, sandwiches tasty, fruit, drink, cereal bar and yogurt was also provided - although no spoons to eat the yogurt with. We would defo stay at this hotel again but maybe just on a bed and breakfast basis.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from James Sellick, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Nikki and Del, Thank you for providing your review for your recent stay at the hotel. All guest reviews offer us an opportunity to further improve what we do here at the Rose & Crown. As you rightly point out our dinner menu was revised on the first day of your visit, I am disappointed that you are not fans of the offering. I will pass your comments on our new menu onto our kitchen team with a view to improving our food standards. I am pleased you will consider staying with us again in the future, and I do hope you will give the restaurant a second chance to win your approval on your next visit.
Read more
squirrelmonkey wrote a review Oct 2021
Northampton, United Kingdom22 contributions21 helpful votes
The kids folding bed was rickety to the point of dangerous, held together with masking tape and peaked in the middle like a mountain (I wish this was an exaggeration.) The mattress was two, thin, garden bench type seat-pads put together and you could still feel each individual slate. My daughter is 10 and 140cm and found the bed very uncomfortable as it swayed with her every movement. Much more comfortable and safe to put the mattress pads on the floor for two nights as we ended up doing. No excuse really. The bed was clearly broken and should have been disposed of. And this was a bed we had to ask them for, because it wasn't there on arrival, despite booking for double with a child's bed. Now I understand why - because they didn't have a safe bed available, this was probably retrieved from the skip. Perhaps we could have caused a fuss and asked for another bed but a.) The mattress pads were not adequate padding for this kind of bed, broken or not. b.)I'm not hotel a health and safety officer, they should know without a lecture from me that the bed was broken, my 10 year old worked that out immediately. They also only provided towels for 2 not 3 people, but to be fair that's a minor complaint. Honestly, I would find a different hotel if you are going as a family. At least take an inflatable mattress and sleeping bag instead of relying on the hotel. Rooms are a bit tired but have all you need and they are a good size and clean. The numerous rips in the voiles gave the wrong impression though, and so cheap and easy to fix. The staff were friendly, everything seemed clean and the hotel is a pretty, short walk through the cathedral grounds to town. Ample parking too. Breakfast is not great. Continental breakfast buffet wasn't exactly plentiful but what was there was nice enough. First morning the cooked breakfast took a fair while to arrive, it was good overall but the beans were cheap and unpleasant. Second morning cooked breakfast (less the beans) still hadn't arrived 50 minutes after ordering and I had to leave hungry as I had a schedule to keep. If this had been a cheap room I'd have been a lot more tolerant but when spending in excess of £100 per night, I expect a lot better. Hotel did not inquire into our level of satisfaction on checking out, so I didn't volunteer the information. I guess because a lot of people probably complained about the slow breakfast that day. Why would reception ask for trouble eh?
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from James Sellick, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Squirrelmonkey, Please accept my sincere apologies that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the hotel. I have requested that both the housekeeping and maintenance teams do a full review of all the hotel's extra beds to ensure they are all in good working order. My apologies that the bed placed in your bedroom was not suitable. Whilst I understand your not wishing to 'cause a fuss' I do wish you had brought this issue to our attention as we would have sourced a solution for you during your stay. I am sorry that the hotels' breakfast offering did not live up to your expectations. We had a number of issues back of house over the course of your stay directly effecting our ability to serve breakfast in our usual timely manner. I'm sure this is little consolation but I am happy to report these have now been rectified and are looking to further improve our breakfast offer for future guests. The hotel's Reception team should be enquiring into how each guests' stay was upon departure, I apologise if this was not the case. I do hope you will consider a return visit in the future so we may have the opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
legacy rose and crown hotel, legacy rose crown salisbury
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWiltshireSalisbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Salisbury Escape Rooms (0.7 miles), Maul's Wine & Cheese bar (0.6 miles), and Salisbury Cathedral and Magna Carta (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Allium, The Chapter House, and Cafe Diwali.
Is Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the centre of Salisbury.
Does Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Close (3.5 miles), Mompesson House (0.5 miles), and Wilton House (2.9 miles).
Does Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.