We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wood Norton Hotel

Save
Share
Worcester Road, Evesham WR11 4YB England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
US$207
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (638)
Room & Suite (376)
Dining (104)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 9 hotels in Evesham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Wood Norton Hotel & Restaurant , the former home to French Royalty, is a glorious Grade II listed, four star country house hotel. Set in its own grounds the hotel looks over the beautiful Vale of Evesham to the nearby Cotswold Hills.50 rooms and suites with beautiful public areas, large ornate gardens, and public areas.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Billiards
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
1537Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 837
  • 412
  • 169
  • 87
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Karen L wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
We visited the hotel for my dads birthday in the xmas break. There were 11 of us. The hotel staff couldnt do enough for us, especially Leah who gets a special mention. The rooms are enormous and spotlessly clean. We stayed for 2 days and there was a wedding on the first day and the hotel was extremely busy, the staff were completely rushed off their feet and the service was quite slow. We had a chat with the lady in charge and explained that my father was quite unwell and needed to eat at a specific time. She then made an extra special effort to take our food order earlier and made everything perfect for the second night. We could not fault anything, including the food. We quite understood that during these uncertain times with a lack of staff etc things can go wrong but as soon as we pointed this out nothing was too much and the service and food were amazing. We will definately return and highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Happy traveller wrote a review Dec 2021
England, United Kingdom66 contributions32 helpful votes
Lovely hotel in fantastic grounds. Staff were very attentive. Food was delicious in the restaurant and a very good breakfast. Nice lounging areas and great games room. Overall a very good stay and would highly recommend this hotel and restaurant!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Drop off your bags before parking as steep walk!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
joannekirby303 wrote a review Dec 2021
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom1 contribution
Had a lovely over night stay. Staff very attentive and friendly, beautiful room, lovely dinner and fantastic breakfast. Definitely be back in the summer to take advantage of the grounds. Thank you for all your hard work!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Peter-by-the-seaside wrote a review Dec 2021
Torquay, United Kingdom9 contributions9 helpful votes
I was very concerned after reading recent reviews. However, what a surprise. My wife and I stayed here on Sat & Sun the 11th and 12th December. The hotel is lovely and the room 205 was great. Reception staff were very welcoming. We arrived whilst a wedding party was in full swing and they were very loud, boisterous and left a mess everywhere. Once they were moved to the seperate reception building the staff did an amazing job clearing everything up very quickly. The dinner on the first evening was superb, a cote de boeuf for 2 and the service was fantastic as nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was cooked to order and again very good. Not sure why there are so many bad reviews as we had a great experience and were served by polite and friendly staff. We will return again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Paige Yates, Guest Services / Front Office at The Wood Norton Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Peter-by-the-seaside, Thank you for you taking the time to leave your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience at The Wood Norton and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Steven
Read more
FLMAD wrote a review Dec 2021
Lichfield, United Kingdom41 contributions68 helpful votes
We booked a stay for a birthday getaway. The hotel itself is a gorgeous old stately home. On arrival the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful advising that (as we were early) our room wasn't yet available but we could get some lunch and a drink in the bar. We we're advised there was a wedding taking place and that they would be in the bar area for a while, this was not an issue. We had a pleasant lunch (basic sandwich) but the service left a bit to be desired - no seasonings were offered and when asked we were grunted at, but was bought over. We then were able to access our room in the main house which was lovely, very clean and a good amount of toiletries in the bathroom, as another writer has said, the sink drainage was slow, but it wasn't an issue for us. There was a Nespresso in the room and a kettle and tea and coffee in the wardrobe. We couldn't quite get the temperature right, but that was our issue. The windows didn't open so you are reliant on the air con/heating system. The TV in our room was on top of a chest of drawers, this could really do with being moved to at the end of the bed instead of off to the right, as the bed end sat right in the middle of the screen. We had a pleasant day in Evesham and had dinner planned in the hotel restaurant. The menu was ok, not quite what we had hoped, but again this was our preference. On arrival at the restaurant we were shown to our table, the vibe with the staff seemed stressed/strained. We ordered our drinks and these were bought fairly promptly, unfortunately the waiter just 'plonked' these on the table with little communication, wine wasn't opened or even offered to be, no matter. Starter was ordered, again brought promptly, but no real service given - for the 'calibre' of the hotel we felt this a bit off. There was also no salt or pepper on the table nor was there an offer or opportunity to request any. Main course arrived, Wild mushroom and barley crepe and a Medium sirloin steak - the crepe was burnt! when this was pointed out to the waiter, we ere told "that's how its supposed to be", this could not be eaten, it tasted awful. The steak, pretty sure not sirloin, was very well done one end, medium in the middle and rare at the end - again inedible. When the waiter came to collect the plates we advised the issues, he offered to refund one meal (he commented that it clearly hadn't been eaten), we then had a cheese board, unfortunately this too tasted just like shop bought cheeses certainly not 4* quality. We had ordered breakfast to our room the following day, it finally arrived 20 minutes late (it would have been better for them to say they couldn't accommodate room service) it was poor, only 1 glass of orange juice for two people, no salt or pepper, one egg, one sausage, one tomato, one hash brown, one mushroom - no toast, no sugar for the tea and it was lukewarm. On checking out, there was no discount on the restaurant bill and we were told as we had bought a meal package it couldn't be discounted (we had £60 credit). It wasn't worth the fight for us, but was a shame that they didn't do as offered. Overall, the room was comfortable, some staff very pleasant, some could do with customer service training. I would avoid the restaurant and food - for the prices you will get a much better service and quality elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose the main house for the nice rooms
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Paige Yates, Guest Services / Front Office at The Wood Norton Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear FLMAD, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I would like to assure you that we take all feedback received very seriously and will review internally with our teams. We are fully committed to delivering an outstanding guest experience here at The Wood Norton and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Steven
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$102 - US$214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wood norton hall country house hotel and restaurant, wood norton hall country hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWorcestershireEvesham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Wood Norton Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Wood Norton Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Regal Cinema (2.7 miles), Pershore Abbey (4.4 miles), and Abbey Park (2.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Wood Norton Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Wood Norton Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Wood Norton Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Wood Norton Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buongiorno Cafe, The Ivy Inn, and Delicious.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Wood Norton Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Wood Norton Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Wood Norton Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Almonry Museum (2.4 miles), Evesham Bell Tower (2.5 miles), and St Lawrence's Church (2.4 miles).
Does The Wood Norton Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is The Wood Norton Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.