We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Malvern

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (197)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (113)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 spas in Great Malvern
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Great Malvern, The Malvern is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its romantic environment and proximity to great restaurants, The Malvern makes it easy to enjoy the best of Great Malvern.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and The Malvern makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the spa, including 24 hour front desk and room service. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and a lounge during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Close to some of Great Malvern's most popular landmarks, such as Great Malvern Station (1.5 mi) and Herefordshire Beacon (1.6 mi), Malvern Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Gallery 36, which is a wine bar that is popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

Should time allow, Priory Park and Rose Bank Gardens are some popular gardens that are relatively easy to get to.

The Malvern is sure to make your visit to Great Malvern one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Spa
Adults only
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
1,229Review12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 616
  • 357
  • 148
  • 69
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ella D wrote a review Today
2 contributions
Me and my partner went to the Malvern Spa for a few hours in the evening as a break from our new puppy! We were greeted by our spa host Millie who was lovely and chatty and always reachable when and if we had questions or wanted to order drinks etc. I had a beautiful pregnancy full body massage with added scalp by Isobel. I used to be a massage therapist and have had hundreds of them! I can safely say Isobel made me feel incredibly comfortable and relaxed and I came out feeling the most refreshed I have felt my whole pregnancy! My partner had a hot stones full body massage with added scalp by Ellie. I’ve never seen him so chilled after! 😂 He absolutely loved it and Ellie managed to relieve the knots he had in his back. He came out feeling very relaxed. Both girls are very talented therapists. We also rented one of the pods for the evening, which were a great touch! And an extra and more personal place to chill during our visit. The facilities were great too! The pool which came outside was a great temperature. We will definitely be back!😊
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kirsty S wrote a review 14 Apr
Hereford, United Kingdom15 contributions4 helpful votes
My daughter and I stayed at The Malvern for a one night spa break. We were not disappointed. Ollie greeted us and checked us in. From the moment we arrived we were treated fabulously by everyone. I had booked a suite and it was lovely. We had a full body massage each - absolute heaven. The pool area was great. Warm water and comfortable loungers We had lunch and dinner and the food was good. Definitely going back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Although we booked a suite we didn’t use the lounge area. Next time I’ll book a standard room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Celia et Claire wrote a review 14 Apr
Worcestershire, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
It was a lovely experience! We offered our friend the ‘Yummy Mummy Spa Pod’ experience for her birthday. The Pod is very cute and comfy and was nicely decorated for the birthday. The facilities are very modern and amazing. We enjoyed very much the experience ! Thank you to our Spa host Sarah and the whole Team. Celia
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
R383ccaCgb wrote a review Mar 2024
England, United Kingdom407 contributions188 helpful votes
I booked our stay through a gift voucher company online last year. Location of the hotel is great underneath the Malvern hills and beside handy suoermarkets. On arrival staff we were greeted by extremely warm and welcoming staff (shout out to Oli who bent over backwards) Unfortnuately we did have issues with our room straight away but the staff swiftly sorted it and we ended up with a comfy bed and clean facilities. The spa area was clean and warm and a nice to relax in with a handy bar area for drinks and snacks. Overall id recommend for a one night stay
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Downton, Other at The Malvern
Responded 1 week ago
Hello there Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so pleased you had a great stay with us and hope you will come back and visit us again soon. Yvette Dine, Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pearly wrote a review Mar 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom1 contribution
Just returned home from a one night stay here. Where do I start, the staff were so friendly nothing was to much effort , Ollie was out of this world he literally couldn’t have done anymore for us ,from towels to cocktails to just making our stay as lovely as possible. We will be returning again if not just for the treatments and the outdoor pool area , but to know your in the best hands when knowing Ollie is around , superb in all he did for us and made our stay second to none . Thanks all for a beautiful stay and thanks Ollie for going above and beyond . You have to stay here!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Downton, Other at The Malvern
Responded 1 Mar 2024
Hello there Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted you enjoyed such a wonderful stay and that Ollie looked after you so well. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Yvette Dine, Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Simon wrote a review Feb 2024
10 contributions6 helpful votes
This is a review of two halves Firstly the check in and spa ,met by lovely colleague who checked us in and a lovely man who showed us around (Steven i think) , the spa was amazing (just a suggestion although we couldnt check in till 3pm why not let people use spa from 12pm as we would have had lunch and numerous drinks and spent maybe another £40-50 in that 3 hours). The pool was 1st class and saunas excellent,all in a lovely chilled ambiance to the place Now the not so good hence the 2 star review. Restaurant took our order 4 a drink and took 25 minutes for our bottle of wine to arrive to the table,Restaurant was quiet yet food was 35 minutes after seating before our order was taken. Food was poor quality ordered steak medium and it was rare, the peppercorn sauce was the worst ive ever tasted and like runny brown water,and the veg bland.Then when it came dessert we waiting again 20 minutes for a menu and when ordered after another 25 minute wait someone approached the table and told us it didn't print in the kitchen and asked us again what we had ordered , Faulty Towers springs to mind in the Restaurant. When dessert arrived the cheesecake was frozen solid and was inedible. We did complain and again Steven was 1st class and a credit to the place but the staff in the restaurant were clueless,half were dressed in trainers and no proper uniform and it was chaos. At check out the next day i noticed 2 other people complaining about the restaurant experience. After a 5 hr round trip for a treat for my wife we was very underwhelmed. Shame as the spa is superb.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Downton, Other at The Malvern
Responded 1 Mar 2024
Hello there Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am pleased to learn you enjoyed the spa and general atmosphere. In line with most hotels, our check in time is 3pm. However, the spa area is open much longer than most which gives plenty of time to enjoy the facilities. We do offer a 12 oclock check in to use facilities on our deluxe spa packages. It is a shame you had the restaurant /bar experience you have detailed and I apologise for this. It is most certainly not our usual standard of service and this will be discussed with the front of house team. I am sorry you left feeling underwhelmed and hope you will gives us another chance in the future. Yvette Dine, Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Xbbb wrote a review Feb 2024
Gloucester, United Kingdom23 contributions8 helpful votes
We did the Sunday Slumber, and couldn't fault the staff and the treatments or the food. We were made to feel welcome and the spa has everything you need. The room was a good size and clean, comfortable bed but some signs of wear and tear. We thought the restaurant was lovely and the food was really tastey particularly the desserts. Service is a but slow in the restaurant but I guess this is to suit the tone of the spa. Our only complaint is that we used the gym during our stay and were a bit alarmed by the behaviour of the PT who seemed to be overly comfortable with members, shouting obscenities across the gym. This just spoilt the experience slightly but we did feedback to reception who said they would report it. We would recommend to others as a reasonably priced soa break.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Busiest time in the spa is between 3 and 5 when people check in
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Downton, Other at The Malvern
Responded 20 Feb 2024
Hello Zoe Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very pleased to learn that you had a great visit and enjoyed most aspects of the facilities. It is disappointing to hear of your experience in the gym and I sincerely apologise for any offence caused. This is most certainly not how our team usually behave and I confirm this was dealt with when you advised of the situation. I hope you will come back and visit us again soon. Yvette Dine, Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephanie D wrote a review Feb 2024
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom21 contributions3 helpful votes
Pot luck with staff, some super helpful some exceptionally rude. Spa in need of some work - one of the room had no door? If this is intentional then the old door hinges could be sealed. We had a nice time, making the best of the day - and able to be outside in the winter sun. The price is extortion for what you pay, please book with caution and consider other spas.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't book life, over priced and done work as they should.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Downton, Other at The Malvern
Responded 20 Feb 2024
Hello there Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your visit. As can be seen from previous reviews, we regularly receive positive comments on our team and their customer service and so it is disappointing that you feel you did not experience this. Unfortunately, the salt grotto door smashed and we are awaiting a replacement made to order door. Yvette Dine, Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alan M wrote a review Feb 2024
Great Malvern, United Kingdom3 contributions
A visist to the Spa for a half hour back massage and which was complted by Ilona. Only my second or third massage means that I am not an expert, but I have little doubt that Ilona is both knowledgeable and experienced. I also found her thorough and caring.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Downton, Other at The Malvern
Responded 14 Feb 2024
Hello there Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your visits to The Malvern. Ilona will be delighted to read your feedback- she is a great asset to our team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Laura Phillips, Spa Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wanderer720949 wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
Everything you could need from a gym and perfect, warm and relaxing spa area. Looking at the winter sky from the hydrotherapy pool with a glass of fizz was heavenly. I was too chilled to drag myself off for a treatment but I admired others’ dreamy smiles and polished nails as they drifted into the salon. All the staff were super friendly and attentive. Great menu choices, with delicious options for the health conscious, wine connoisseur like me but also plenty for the scoffers and beer swillers like my friends (or body builders)! The room was very clean, comfortable and restful. Lovely toiletries, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. And a proper, powerful hot shower! There was even a full sized ironing board and iron so I could keep my lady’s maid busy. The only downside? Leaving ☹️…… but I will return 😁
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy Downton, Other at The Malvern
Responded 1 Feb 2024
Hello there What a great dreamy review! It sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us and your feedback is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon Yvette Dine, Front of House Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Great Malvern area.
PRICE RANGE
£153 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
malvern hotel malvern
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWorcestershireMalvern HillsGreat Malvern
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MALVERN - Updated 2024 Reviews (Great Malvern)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Malvern
Which popular attractions are close to The Malvern?
Nearby attractions include Ice Quest (0.3 miles), Clue Hq Malvern (0.4 miles), and Gloster Arms (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Malvern?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Malvern?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Malvern?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Malvern?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Everest Eatery, The Swan Inn, and Vasai Fine Indian Dining.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Malvern?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Malvern?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Malvern?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Firs (4.9 miles), Herefordshire Beacon (1.6 miles), and St. Wulstan’s RC Church (4.5 miles).
Is The Malvern accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.