We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Gwesty Cymru Hotel

19 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2AZ Wales
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (251)
360
Panoramas (4)
Room & Suite (242)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#2 of 13 hotels in Aberystwyth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Gwesty Cymru Hotel is an artistic, colourful and luxurious property. We have recently opened a sustainable environmentally conscious restaurant serving high quality local seasonal cuisine (vegan and gluten free options available). See why so many travellers make Gwesty Cymru their hotel of choice when visiting Aberystwyth. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you. Close to some of Aberystwyth's most popular landmarks, such as St. Michael's Church (0.1 mi) and St Paul's Methodist Church (0.1 mi), Gwesty Cymru is a great destination for tourists. Rooms at Gwesty Cymru offer a flat screen TV and a desk providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wi-fi. An on-site relaxed day time cafe serving Kenyan Blue mountain Coffee, homemade cakes and fine alcoholic beverages along with soft drinks will also help to make your stay even more special. Each room at Gwesty Cymru contains original artwork focusing on a theme centred around the warm colours and romantic landscapes of the Aberystwyth area. This would make a great starting point for exploration. For example room one focuses on the rock formations of nearby Constitution hill. Room Number 3 focusses on the rich warm colours of nearby hill fort Pendinas. The theme to this room is "Pendinas, Terracotta, Fired Earth and Bronze". The theme to Room Number 5 is "The Fresh Green Mountains and Emerald Fields of The Ystwyth Valley and Room Number 7 is centred around "The sand Dunes of Ynyslas" At Gwesty Cymru, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and We look forward to welcoming you to Aberystwyth. A wonderful 2 course breakfast is served daily at an additional cost of £14.50.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Beach
Kids stay free
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Greek, Latvian and 1 more
678Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 521
  • 115
  • 19
  • 14
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
BrummieSteve wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
This hotel was closed, dark and deserted when we arrived for our stay on December 27. The owner didn't answer his phone and inquiries with businesses nearby suggested this was not unusual. We were left stranded in the rain after a tiresome drive from Birmingham and had to find alternative accommodation at short notice. I did some research and it appears Gwesty Cymru went into voluntary liquidation in August. The owner, Julian Shelley, accepted my booking in November and took a non-refundable fee. It transpires he emailed me on December 23 saying he had transferred my booking from "boutique hotel" to another of his businesses, a guest house on the other end of the seafront which was about to close for renovation. Had I received the offer of alternative accommodation, I would have refused. It was definitely not like-for-like. However the email went straight to junk as he used an unfamiliar email address. He didn't bother to check whether I had received it and made no effort to contact me at check-in time ( no note on the door of the closed hotel, no-one there to meet us, no phone call ). He eventually responded to my emails and after some discussion agreed to refund me. I would not do business with this man again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kuroneko_89 wrote a review Dec 2023
Rome, Italy10463 contributions629 helpful votes
I was at Gwesty Cymru earlier this year, and I am writing only now a much due late review. First and foremost, I should point out that I was in Aberystwyth in January, and for academic purposes. I underline this because even at a such time of the year I found Aberystwyth to be a very charming town, and for sure Gwesty Cymru made my stay more comfortable. My single room was very comfortable and perfectly appointed, with plenty of space. The bathroom was nice and quite spacious too. I also appreciated the small little touches, like a steel cafetiere and excellent ground coffee from a local independent shop, crisp linen and the very comfortable mattress. The theatrical lights were a welcome bonus as well. All the members of the staff I encountered were very polite and kind, and the cooked breakfast was perhaps one of the very best I ever had in the UK. And I travel across the UK a lot. Last but not least, the seafront location is another wow-factor. Aberystwyth has perhaps one of the most charming rows of seafront Victorian townhouses within the whole UK, and the possibility to enjoy this cute sight - plus the beach and the sea - was definitely an added bonus. I noticed there were many other accommodations by the seafront, but very few of them seemed to have the shame charm as Gwesty Cymru. Will be back there for sure if travelling again to Aberystwyth.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Adam K wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Not once on my life have a ever made a review upgraded to a sea view room but had no sea view broken heating but the main thing is I complained on booking.com and the owner phoned my number not sure how he got it and gave me loads of abuse on the phone would avoid at all costs
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Julian Shelley, Owner at Gwesty Cymru Hotel
Responded 23 Nov 2023
I am afraid that I believe that you have the wrong business. There are many businesses with the word Gwesty in Aberystwyth … Please can this be removed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alan Ramsey m wrote a review Oct 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
What a brilliant place, we had our wedding party there they where very accommodating indeed . Staff where brilliant we got more than we expected. Room was wonderful Julian and staff thanks for everything you made our day very special, Lois and Al
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MrBouali wrote a review Sept 2023
Carshalton, United Kingdom80 contributions66 helpful votes
+1
We spent a lovely night here at Gwesty Cymru. Room No 8 right at the top was well worth all the stairs, beautifully appointed, a bathroom to die for, very romantic. Great views across Cardigan Bay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, compliments to the chef! Will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking at the St Michael’s Church car park is only 5 minutes walk and very cheap for overnight...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Morlew wrote a review Sept 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom55 contributions24 helpful votes
When we arrived at the hotel, which is directly on the sea front, it was late. The the pathway to the hotel was well lit, as was the parking. The staff were super polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Once we were shown to our room, the lady returned with some complimentary Prosecco, which, after a long day was the perfect tonic! The room was spotlessly clean, had a walk-in shower, free WIFI and a great selection of teas,coffee and chocolates. Breakfast was superb! Everything was freshly cooked from good quality produce. Would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Evening food menu wasn’t available when we stayed.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sophie J wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
Went for breakfast staff were really friendly, breakfast super tasty I had the mushroom Bruschetta with an egg! Kris who was serving me told me there was live music and spoken word later which I went to see and was amazing, they have loads of cool events on and beautiful view for a drink in the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Niall P wrote a review Sept 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom5 contributions
Very comfortable hotel, and very welcoming staff. Also a great location where you can just step out onto the promenade. Although possibly not a frequent issue on the west coast of Wales, we really appreciated the air conditioning in the unusually hot weather!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is available along the promenade, but keep an eye open for time limits, which vary on...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Samantha H wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
We ate at the restaurant, had one of their meat and cheese platters. The food and drinks were delicious and laid out so nicely. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, very chatty. Was nice to sit facing the sea on a lovely day with good food.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Carolyn R wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
This place is fantastic! Great selection of food and drinks. It's the perfect place to watch the sunset. The service we received was amazing and we will definitely be back again! Would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Aberystwyth area.
PRICE RANGE
£96 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gwesty cymru aberystwyth, gwesty cymru hotel aberystwyth
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Gwesty Cymru Hotel and Wine Bar
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesCeredigionAberystwyth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GWESTY CYMRU HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Aberystwyth)

Frequently Asked Questions about Gwesty Cymru Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Gwesty Cymru Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Amgueddfa Ceredigion Museum (0.05 miles), Castell Aberystwyth Castle (0.3 miles), and Aberystwyth War Memorial (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Gwesty Cymru Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Gwesty Cymru Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Gwesty Cymru Hotel?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gwesty Cymru Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Agnelli's Aberystwyth, Dragonfly Bistro, and Little Italy.
Is Gwesty Cymru Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Aberystwyth.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gwesty Cymru Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Polish, Greek, and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to Gwesty Cymru Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pen Dinas Hillfort (1.0 miles), Cofiwch Dryweryn Wall (4.9 miles), and Statue of King Edward VII (0.06 miles).
Does Gwesty Cymru Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.