We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Menai Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Menai Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 96: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment you walk in the door of the Menai hotel and bar in Bangor you feel welcomed. The very lovely couple who have taken it on, Declan and Rachel, are thoughtful, hard working, kind perfectionists. This is obvious as soon as you check into your room - atop a pile of snowy white towels sits a chocolate in... More 

Helpful?
Thank badzelda
wales
Level Contributor
146 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here overnight for a meeting at Bangor University. The hotel is really a large bar with rooms. It is very basic which would have been fine, had the price been basic too. Wifi did not work outside the bar, so had to work in the bar area. Owners are cheerful but the quality of the offer means it's not... More 

Helpful?
Thank binnysays
Rachel M, Owner at The Menai Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Binnysays, I am disappointing to here your review, I am surprised you have written the WiFi doesn't work outside the bar as we supply WiFi across the hotel and all rooms receive it, perhaps you hadn't selected the correct router as there is one for the bar, and one for the residents both are open and there is no... More 

Travellers are raving about these Bangor hotels

Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here with some friends for a late lunch. I went for the doubled up breakfast and after quite a lengthy waiting time (to say we were the only people waiting for food) it arrived. For what I paid and what I received I would say it is good value for money though some aspects are better than others. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank HanIngham
Rachel M, Owner at The Menai Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your positive feedback I have spoken with our kitchen team re: food waiting times and can promise you a speedier service next time! We have a new head chef starting with us who will be raising the standards even further to ensure a perfect service every time! We look forward to welcoming you back at... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Have stayed here a few times before - due to its great location in the middle of the city (well Upper Bangor). It's very good that it has reopened. Was a issue with our rooms upon check in - was given the keys to a room already occupied due to a mix up with a bookings. The bigger room we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dylan W
blackburn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

My husband, myself & our pooch ( yes dog friendly!) stayed here recently & thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was very clean & spacious.Comfortable double bed with lovely fresh white bed linen. There was also a single bed. The room was well equipped & stocked with everything we needed for our stay.Plenty of clean towels were supplied also. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank catkin61
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I have visited the Menai on several occasions since the new management have taken over. I first went for food on my birthday with a mixed group of friends and we were given a warm welcome by the staff and seated at a large table together. The menu is varied and interesting and had a lot to offer vegetarians and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caio R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

We spent our friends 40th Birthday here and to say the staff went the extra mile is an understatement! The food was delicious and really good value, and we were treated as VIP's from start to finish. The hosts Rachel and Dec gave us a warm welcome and waited on us hand and foot. All of the staff are really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
South Ockendon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I have little to a lot to say but only few characters... one night we stayed for! And the 3 person suite was AWFUL! We basically named this the unfinished hotel, tiles off the wall, screw holes in the wall, broken draws, bin the the bathroom was rusty (from people with a bad aim), no hot water, paper thin walls... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miklewicz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

The Menai Hotel is very good located and very quiet. We had a big room with a good view. Of course the hotel is a bit old and needs a small renovation at a few places but overall the staff was very friendly and the room was reasonably clean. I read a comment from the management, who said there are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pascal T
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Just come back from trekking snowdon and snowdonia. Stopped here overnight and was pleasantly surprised given the price. Very friendly staff, comfortable spacious rooms and although it is part of a pub not a sound made it up to the room. Would definitely recommend as long as your looking for a straight forward night away.

Helpful?
Thank Stewart P

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bangor
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bangor
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
819 reviews
2.0 mi away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bangor
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Management Centre
The Management Centre
#1 of 10 in Bangor
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3-star Menai Hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Bangor on the North Wales coast. All 9 rooms are en-suite with free continental breakfast, with fantastic views of both The Menai Strait & The Snowden Range. Vegetarian & Vegan cooked breakfasts available on request.There is a vibrant bar serving home-cooked meals with a focus on Welsh produce, extensive vegetarian, vegan & gluten free options, a range of beers, wines and spirits. Food is served every day 12-3 6-9pm. An entertainment schedule runs throughout the week including quiz nights, live bands & open mic sessions. Each well-equipped bedroom has its own private bathroom, TV, radio and Fairtrade Welsh tea and coffee making facilities with free parking and free WiFi. Our bar also boasts SKY keeping you up to date on all sporting events.We are a pet friendly hotel allowing up to two dogs at £10.00 per animal. We also have a meeting room available for hire for workshops,classes & functions. Being close to Bangor University, there are many pubs and bars contributing to the active nightlife just a 10 minute walk from the Menai. Transportation links are nearby with Bangor Rail Station and the Bus Station just 0.5 miles away. The mountains of Snowdonia can be reached within a 10 minute drive, where you can hike and enjoy the scenery the national park has to offer. The beaches of Anglesey and the rolling countryside are just a 15 minute drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Menai Hotel

Address: Craig Y Don Road, Bangor LL57 2BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Price Range: £54 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Menai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Menai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menai Hotel Bangor, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Menai Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front of the hotel have a lovely view over the Menai Strait.”
 of 5 bubbles badzelda, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the Lasagne washed down with a Guiness ot two.”
 of 5 bubbles nigelbarryh, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't mind sharing? Book a family room - good value.”
 of 5 bubbles amcgrath49, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“My room faced westerly and had great view of distant mountains.”
  • Room 11
  • Bathroom room 11
  • Sunset view from room 11
 of 5 bubbles FL33, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If available top floor views to the coast for sunsets or to the mountains on the opposite side.”
 of 5 bubbles 834wayneb, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay