We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Anglesey Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 125: English reviews
Garndolbenmaen, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited this lovely old pub in Caernarfon, where roaring log fire greeted us. A dog friendly pub for a group of us who had just been on one of the Madog Dog Walks. We were made welcome, the staff were helpful and friendly, and the service was excellent. The fish and chips were delicious. The dogs were really grateful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janebeer57
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place gives you great feelings. The old building just next to the castle, the view, the stories... It is not the most luxurious or comfortable hotel on earth but who cares! Go take great pictures and enjoy a pint in their pub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blackbeers
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went per the direction of a local when asked who served the most authentic local food. We had a salmon and potato appetizer, filled by a very heart warm Lamb shank. My husband and I shared both along with two local beers. Although we didn't stay there, the food was delicious and is probably the nicest place in angelsy. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahhakes
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just had the best carvery. Our xmas girls night out. Wow!! The food was amazing. Home made feel and plenty of it free bottle of prosecco. And banter from the staff. Excellent service. Just look at the pictures bellow. Yum!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike2217
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited The Angelsey Arms in Caernarfon tonight as a night out with friends. The tables were beautifully adorned with xmas garlands. We were invited warmly by John And Chris. There was a lovely happy and warm atmosphere to be had. It has been warmly refurbished , the salmon fishcake starters with salaa verde were to die for. The main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as we were doing the zip wire, only 15 miles from there. The pub is warm and friendly, the people are so helpful. Rooms clean and tidy too. Geoff is a great landlord and he is full of local knowledge, breakfast was a good set up for the day, we will definitely return as the zip wire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Have had a very good weekend. The staff could not have done any more than they did. The food was very good indeed we will be back again thank you all. live music was fine. The selection of malt whiskey was impressive and enjoyed the award winning Japanese malt is a must to try......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
chester
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Went in for lunch ,lovely bright fire. Ordered fresh mussels. They arrived cold and tough in a very salty sauce. When we spoke to the chef he said that they were fresh he had just opened the packet!! The other food ok with hot chips. Just don't have mussels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moonshadow2
Anglesey A, Owner at The Anglesey Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your the mussels as part of your meal, we do pride ourselves on this dish. As we are out of season at the moment we do buy the mussels in and I am sure the chef would have meant packaging. Where and we can we do purchase the mussels locally in season from...

Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We had a lovely journey to Caernarfon and looked forward to rest of experience. What an experience. Room filthy, dirt everywhere. Used soap on wash basin, chips on floor. Thick mould on window sill. Dirty container for tea and coffee. Twin room. No heating and summer quilts. Looked for extra bedding. One blanket between the two beds!!! Hoped meal would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank granniejones
Alford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Called Into this lovely looking pub today for lunch, all seemed well... Then for some reason we waited almost an hour for the food with no explanation, and the kids meal (fish and chips) came out, there was loads of food.. But the fish was absolutely full of bones!! Not ideal at all for kids! I couldn't let my daughter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrs_denman1705
Anglesey A, Owner at The Anglesey Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry you did not enjoy your meal, if you look at the majority of reviews our staff are rated highly, I have spoken to the girls on shift who are really apologetic if they have come across in that manner. I have also spoke to the chef, we serve a huge amount of fish due to our...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
397 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a public house in Caernafon formally "the old port Customs house" adjoinng the Castle walls by the seafront, serving fresh seafood on the seafront wall with stunning views of every sunset over the menia straights, we have three rooms, and a newly introduced restaraunt(Irishes) featuring Irish chef and Co Owner Sean Devlin.Boats now deliver freshly caught fish, outside events are now plannned for the rest of the summer.These will include hog-roasts-live music events-and theatre style cooking with a look at doing live training out in our forecourt/patio area!!.We have recently taken this venue over and are striving to return this old girl to her former glory. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Anglesey Arms Hotel

Address: Harbour Front, Caernarfon LL55 1SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range: £44 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Anglesey Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglesey Arms Hotel Caernarfon, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Anglesey Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Anglesey Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Shared bathroom was nice and clean.”
 of 5 bubbles blackbeers, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We wouldn't recommend anything in 'The Anglesey Arms Hotel', to our worst enemy”
 of 5 bubbles granniejones, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“did stay in hotel only had lunch”
 of 5 bubbles soulcity52, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles AnthonyI15, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room,(3), didn't have a sea view but looked out onto a turret of the castle wall. Still very pleasant. Number three is a twin room.”
 of 5 bubbles 668jackied, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay