We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Plas Derwen

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Plas Derwen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 202: English reviews
Start your review of Plas Derwen
 Click to rate
Coleford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped here with partner for lunch yesterday after a long walk. We were child free for a few hours so thought we'd try somewhere new. Looks welcoming from the outside and we were not disappointed when we walked in. Seated quickly and orders taken fairly soon after. Food was deliciousand reasonably priced. If in the area again, safe to say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
Gloucester
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent one night here at the start of February. Our room was of a good size with a very comfortable bed. We chose to eat in the restaurant and we're not disappointed. Although some meals were a bit pricy we were very impressed with the quality of the food and the size of the portions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SparkesT
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited in the hope of getting some good pub food in a cosy county place. The starter slate cost £12 when it had around £5's worth of food. 4 chicken breasts, 2 lamb patties and 2 bizarre sausage rolls! Certainly not a £12 sharer starter. My partners steak was cooked well but a questionable weight, very small 8oz. My 'posh'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRC1991
Management response:

Dear BRC1991, I am sorry you were not satisfied with your experience during your visit and felt unable to raise your concerns on the night, if there are any issues we do welcome feedback and try to resolve these when they occur. We follow strict company specs as per ingredients and size of the products but I will feed your...

Greiz, Germany
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Came here to visit the area and been recommended the place. The price was acceptable for what you get. The room is spacious and has everything what's needed. Little out of date, but the price was good for that. Stayed in room 7 which had parking right outside so no long walks. Went for dinner there and the price /...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian L
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

First visit to this hotel and impressed with room size and decor. Bathroom too was large and maybe a bit cold as only a towel rail to heat it. Parking was right outside the door so great when we arrived on a damp day. Only criticism would be there wasn't a decently lit mirror for doing make-up etc. but staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelizlee
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Lovely friendly place to eat and drink. Staff were very helpful. Food was really good and lots of families were there. Highly recommend this pub. We took our 10 month old baby and they were more than happy to get a highchair and provide hot water for his food. Will visit again if in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicci D
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

I enjoy Plas Derwen any time of the year. The restaurant is a combined bar with eating area. It is spacious and the conservatory area is bright. The food on Christmas day was excellent and I am definitely making a return visit asap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TraWill
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Met with my friend here today , greeted by Kevin we hadn't booked but he still managed to get us in. Kevin had a great knowledge of the menu and explained things brilliantly, beautiful atmosphere and food was great, one of the nicest places in Abergavenny must give it 10/10 and the service from Kevin was 10/10 many thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina N
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

The atmosphere calm and relaxed. The tables looked lovely and the staff unfailingly cheerful. The service was exemplary and the food very tasty indeed. Plas Derwen is very easy to find and there is plenty of parking. Visit Abergavenny when you come as this pretty town has a great deal to offer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_Boardmans
Reviewed 14 December 2016

A group of ten ladies thoroughly enjoyed a Christmas celebration, beginning with a free glass of Prosecco. The food was excellently cooked and presented, the selection varied and interesting. It was accompanied by very good quality Christmas crackers and because we ordered at the time of booking had 20% off wine. The service was friendly and efficient which all added...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bsrbara M

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.6 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
809 reviews
3.8 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
468 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 31 in Abergavenny
277 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#14 of 31 in Abergavenny
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Plas Derwen is a fantastic pub restaurant which offers exceptional food at ordinary prices. Located within easy reach of the A40 and A465 (Heads of the Valleys Road), it was redeveloped to a high standard in April 2007. All our food is cooked to order, using produce from local suppliers, listed on the back of our weekly changing menus, enabling you to have a different dish with every visit. There is also a Specials board and a Fish Specials board for even more variety. This is a warm, welcoming venue with pastel colours and a large see through feature fireplace. The building dates back 600 years and the refurbishment has been sympathetically undertaken to reflect old meeting new. With contemporary furnishing, the traditional slant has been retained with many nooks and crannies around the pub. The Garden Room, Lounge Bar and double Conservatory are separate rooms offering different experiences. Some areas have leather sofas and leather tub chairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plas Derwen

Address: Monmouth Road, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Price Range: £79 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Derwen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Plas Derwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Derwen Hotel Abergavenny
Plas Derwen Abergavenny, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Plas Derwen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to the railway station and easy access to the main motorway connection. Excellent countryside close at hand - good for walkers.”
 of 5 bubbles bsrbaram, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Several rooms are set across the car park - they are big, very quiet and cars can be parked outside the door - good if it starts to rain!”
 of 5 bubbles PKNelson, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I can't advise on this, I have experience of three rooms and have had no cause for complaint.”
 of 5 bubbles jrdo5959, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in converted stable block are nice and quite, bedroom for elderly relative (or disabled person) is ideal with parking close by.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnH185, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 has no windows had to change”
 of 5 bubbles 630jasg, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5