We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sunbank Accommodation

The Barn, Sun Bank Sunbank, Llangollen LL20 8EG Wales
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (141)
Dining (3)
Room & Suite (2)

View prices for your travel dates

£123
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 12 B&Bs in Llangollen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sunbank accommodation consists of a charming B&B room in a grade 11 listed barn conversion & 2 luxury yurts, in an idyllic setting situated just under 2 miles to the east of Llangollen, North Wales, set on a wooded hillside commanding spectacular views from every window over the Vale of Llangollen, the River Dee and the Shropshire Union Canal.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Breakfast in the room
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quaint
134Reviews0Q+A15Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 125
  • 5
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Diane E wrote a review 21 Feb
Nea Artaki, Greece8 contributions3 helpful votes
Having stayed in the Sunbank yurt on previous occasions we were looking forward to stay again. We weren't disappointed. Horrible weather but the yurt was cosy with log fire, hot water bottles and an electric blanket. The log burner was enough to keep the yurt cosy. A short drive away is the lovely town of Llangollen with lots of choice for eating and numerous independent shops. We love Llangollen but love all of Sunbank accommodation more. Sam, Simon and the girls are fabulous hosts and we will continue to return for as long as they'll have us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LT0606 wrote a review Jul 2023
Tamworth, United Kingdom146 contributions76 helpful votes
+1
The cutest place I've ever stayed. We stayed here in June and the weather was very hot so the yurt was hot in the day then the temperature dropped quite a lot during the night. Plenty of blankets provided as well as a lot burner. Kitchen and bathroom/shower facilities are right next to the yurt. Lovely view over the fields and sheep. A short walk to a local pub. A longer walk down the canal can get you into Llangollen. Owners are lovely and allowed us to check in early as it was ready when we couldn't find parking in Llangollen. A really peaceful weekend and we plan to return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
15Liverbird wrote a review Apr 2023
Leicester, United Kingdom19 contributions3 helpful votes
Where to start. From the moment we arrived, Sam was so helpful & friendly. As for the accommodation, just WOW. Awesome wet room including a bath with a view. The most comfiest bed too. Simon's breakfasts were so tasty and delivered straight to the room. Great location for walking to Llangollen and a pub close by too. Sam & Simon were THE best hosts, nothing too much trouble.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
George R wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We visited Sunbank for a few days at the beginning of April, we couldn’t have asked for a better welcome (from Sam, Simon, the girls and pickle the dog ) as soon as we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble, we chatted to Simon and Sam about what we where doing and they gave some advise on the local area. We stayed in the Cowshed which was just stunning, the room was cosey, comfortable, with an amazing brass bath you could sit in all day. We had breakfast both mornings and it was home cooked and was brilliant. We have already recommended to friends and family and would not hesitate to book again. 10/10.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Samantha Bamford, Owner at Sunbank Accommodation
Responded 15 Apr 2023
Dear George, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! And thanks so much for the recommendations! Word of mouth really does help! We hope to welcome you back one day in the future! Best wishes Sam, Sunbank Accommodation
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephx90 wrote a review Apr 2023
5 contributions3 helpful votes
We spent two nights at the Cowshed over Easter weekend and had the best time. Sam and Simon were the most welcoming hosts, giving us useful recommendations and information about the local area. The food was amazing (I recommend the eggs!) The Cowshed was beautiful, warm and cosy with amazing views over the valley and a glorious gold bathtub. Definitely recommend 10/10! We will be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Samantha Bamford, Owner at Sunbank Accommodation
Responded 14 Apr 2023
Hey Steph! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review & the very kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future! Best wishes to you both! Sam & Si Sunbank Accommodation
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Colin D wrote a review Apr 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Fantastic views and superb location , friendly hosts and a bath to die for... our stay was for a short break and we stumbled across the Cowshed and it was a fantastic find... Sam and Simon were gracious hosts who provided a tasty cooked breakfast in our room... we will be staying again for sure and will recommend to all our friends...
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Samantha Bamford, Owner at Sunbank Accommodation
Responded 13 Apr 2023
Dear Colin & Mandy! Thanks so much for your kind words. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay! And look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thanks for recommending us! Best Wishes, Sam & Si Sunbank Accommodation
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
E12 wrote a review Apr 2023
10 contributions6 helpful votes
Unfortunately due to ill health I have had to cancel several bookings for this accommodation in the past. Whilst I totally understand how frustrating this may be for the owners I have always cancelled well in advance of the 14 day cancellation period & have all correspondence to prove this. Also, when emailing or messaging the owner Sam I have ALWAYS apologised sincerely for the cancellations & have explained this was due to ill health (again I have all correspondence to prove this). There has only been one recent cancellation which was due to my partner & I having to attend a family holy communion on the same date as our reservation which again I explained to the owner Sam & apologised (I also have proof of me explaining this to Sam). Thankfully the chemo treatment has now come to an end so on the weekend just gone I tried to book for one nights stay in July which was & still is available to book (for one night only) on Sunbanks website & on their Airbnb site (I have screenshots to prove this). I sent an email to Sam asking do I need to pay this in full only to be told that August wasn’t available for a one night stay, when I explained it was a July date she sent another reply saying this wasn’t available either even though it was & still is available on their website & Airbnb for one night on the July date I was wanting to book. It was clear from Sams rude replies that she basically does not want me to stay there due to the cancellations I’ve made in the past even though I explained the cancellations were totally out of my control due to ill health. My partner & I were so excited that we’d be able to book the one night stay this July for his 50th birthday & we were both ecstatic that we wouldn’t have to cancel this time as the chemo treatment is now thankfully finished. Sam knows who I am because a few weeks back she sent me another rude reply stating how she’d refunded my deposit in the past (I have proof of this correspondence). I have ALWAYS been polite when corresponding with Sam & cannot stress enough how I’ve always apologised for doing so & explained the reason why. I did this because I know it’s a family run business & did not want Sam to think I was messing them around & that the reason for my cancellations were always a genuine one. If booking with a hotel I may not have explained my reason for cancelling but as I wanted to build up trust with Sam in that my reasons for cancelling were genuine I always offered an explanation. It appears that Sam has zero empathy or understanding towards a serious, life threatening illness which requires treatment hence why I was unfortunately unable to stay in their accommodation in the past. I was so excited & relieved this weekend knowing we could book for my partners special occasion & that nothing would get in the way of us going but unfortunately Sam put a stop to this by basically not allowing me to book & clearly telling lies that it was unavailable when it’s clear to myself, my partner & all my friends who have also checked Sunbank website & Airbnb & they all agree with me that the date I wanted to book was & still is available to book…..Sam CLEARLY is holding a grudge & if anyone was to read her rude replies to my polite emails & messages to her anyone would agree how rude she was in her tone & words & would also understand why she reduced me to tears after everything I’ve been through the past few years.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Samantha Bamford, Owner at Sunbank Accommodation
Responded 13 Apr 2023
Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We understand that your previous cancellations were frustrating for you, but we would like to clarify that you cancelled six times providing an explanation once- re a Holy communion. As a small business, we rely on the income from bookings, especially during peak times. Despite this, we promptly refunded your payment without question every time you cancelled. It was brought to our attention through your review that your cancellations were due to ill health. We sympathise with your situation and would have appreciated the opportunity to work with you to find a suitable solution had we been made aware of your situation during any of our previous correspondence. Regarding your recent booking attempt, When you enquired about a one night stay, the information I gave you was correct, which is that we operate a minimum two night stay during the summer holidays. Whilst you may have been lucky enough to find we had availability during such a busy time for us, had you tried to book on another platform they would also clearly have explained that only a two night stay was bookable. My decision as the owner to operate a two night minimum stay is one I am confident contributes to the extremely high standards we operate and the enjoyment of our visitors. We do not hold grudges and We take all feedback seriously and will continue to pride ourselves in our friendly and approachable communication with actual guests, which is one of the things that makes us so popular with visitors. Regarding your assertion of rude correspondence, we are happy to provide copies of all correspondence. We note that you have oddly deleted our Facebook chat history to a certain point so we can only go back so far, possibly so that we could not use these to demonstrate that you are sadly mistaken about any rudeness and the amount of times you’ve cancelled. We do hope you are able to find suitable accommodation in the area and wish you all the best with your future travels. Best regards, Sunbank Accommodation
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DMR wrote a review Dec 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom82 contributions21 helpful votes
We had the most amazing stay at the Cowshed- the room was beautiful, clean, and ever so stylish. In the morning we had a home cooked breakfast in the family home and we felt like royalty, we were truly spoilt. I will definitely be back for a weekend away to explore Llangollen. Thank you so much
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
BlueCrocus wrote a review Oct 2022
Y Felinheli, United Kingdom435 contributions120 helpful votes
+1
My boyfriend booked The Cowshed for two nights for my birthday and it was perfect. I’d wanted to stay for a long time and it definitely exceeded my expectations. The room is cosy and warm with everything you need to make this a luxurious home from home, the views are stunning and it’s so peaceful and relaxing. The bathroom and gold tub are definitely the stars of the show, they’re incredible and I didn’t want to ever get out! I’d 100% stay again and next time we’d definitely book the breakfast as all the reviews say how delicious it is.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JayMc88 wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Booked here for part of my little girls birthday & it did not disappoint. Great location, an amazing cosy yurt with gorgeous views & a mexican takeaway ordered to your door. We was made to feel so welcome straight away even there dog pickles & horse rosa came over to say hi! Honestly cant wait to go back again such a lovely peaceful place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Llangollen area.
PRICE RANGE
£112 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sunbank Holiday Cottage
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesDenbighshireLlangollen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUNBANK ACCOMMODATION - Updated 2024 Reviews (Llangollen)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sunbank Accommodation
Which popular attractions are close to Sunbank Accommodation?
Nearby attractions include Castell Dinas Bran (1.5 miles), Plas Newydd Historic House and Gardens (1.7 miles), and Llangollen Canal (1.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunbank Accommodation?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, barbeque facilities, and express check-in and check-out.
Which room amenities are available at Sunbank Accommodation?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, a view of the mountains, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Sunbank Accommodation?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunbank Accommodation?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunbank Accommodation?
Conveniently located restaurants include Riverbanc, S&G Bistro, and m'Eating Point.
Are there any historical sites close to Sunbank Accommodation?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Plas Newydd Historic House and Gardens (1.7 miles), Llangollen Bridge (1.9 miles), and Berwyn Railway Station (1.9 miles).