We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Holyhead Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holyhead Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Stayed in the twin room in a separate building. Beds were very comfy and we had the luxury of a bathroom each. There was also a small kitchen well equipped. We had the most awesome breakfast in a delightful bright dining room. Very helpful when we had to rearrange times of stay due to horrific train journey that ran 5...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ammilburn
Cheshire West
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Stayed for one night in this rather dated establishment opposite the town cemetery. But it isn't the dead centre of town quite a way from it in fact. The accommodation was a conversion of an out building on the driveway and is probably OK for a short stay. The owners are busy people and try their best to balance all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheKaptain
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your comments, we are sorry about the fridge it is there for your milk and filtered water but it could have been unplugged and we usually tell guests this. The boiler I am afraid I cannot do anything about, but I don't understand why you did not shut the door between your bedroom and the kitchen. kindest...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here overnight for ferry to Dublin to visit family. Helpful from the start...I had made a mistake on my booking (I'd booked a double room for one person instead of two people), this was quickly sorted out for us and extra towels, cups etc taken to the room. Pearl showed us a map with all the best places to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise C
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments we try to please all our guests. kind regards

Southport
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Brilliant nights sleep on super comfy beds. The twin room is in a separate building so no disturbing other guests/owners when you come and go. It has 2 bathrooms which is great - no fighting over the shower. A mini fridge and kitchenette are provided. Off road parking behind secure gates - so I'm not too sure what other guests...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank claireylou84
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments we try and put everything you would need in your rooms. kind regards

New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 July 2016

While the service was lovely (good breakfast, called a cab for us in the am) and the rest of the room was fine (had a mini fridge, clean bathroom) the bed really killed this place for us. It had a high peak in the middle and we felt like we were rolling onto the floor. It was so worn down,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Koala5555
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

Hi We are a bit unsure if you have got the wrong place as we are not on a narrow street, wagons go down to the school on a daily basis even when cars are parked on the road. The mattresses in all our doubles were replaced for this season so they were brand new in April. kind regards

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

If your not happy with your stay here then you may as well stay at home, you won't be happy anywhere. Run by a lovely couple who ensure your stay is like home from home with the best breakfast I have ever eaten. Thank you so much for the way you looked after me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl G
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you again. kind regards

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

We had a really warm welcome from Pearl and Mel, who made us feel right at home. We had an excellent breakfast with a brilliant choice. The room was spotlessly clean with a good shower and comfortable bed. We would highly recommend this B&B. It is ideal for breaks ,as well as great access for the ferry for people using...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. kind regards

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

I stayed at the Holyhead Lodge whilst attending a friend's wedding on Anglesey. I drove to Holyhead from Huddersfield, and I found the Lodge really easy to find with ample parking. Mel introduced himself and showed me around my room which was small but had everything you could need. Television, radio, ipod dock, fridge, microwave, cupboard space, tea/coffee making facilities,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angielm2015
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review kind regards

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

We arrived by train - lodge is about a 15 min walk from the station up a slight hill. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Cute nicely appointed room with refrigerator, microwave and tea/coffee maker. Only one accessible power outlet in room and bed was soft but broken down on edge towards door which can be a problem if you need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Breakaway1954
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

thanks for your comments they are great, I wish you had mentioned the bed but we will look at it today.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Pearl and Mel were fabulous, friendly hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The lodge that we stayed in (1) was a lovely, comfortable room with all the facilities needed provided to us. Breakfast was lovely and included options for everyones needs. Pearl and Mel had great local knowledge, and were more than happy to help with any questions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harrietsarahh
badlady48, Owner at Holyhead Lodge, responded to this review

thanks for your lovely comments

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holyhead hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
4.8 mi away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crossroads Guest House
Crossroads Guest House
#2 of 27 in Holyhead
102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blackthorn Farm
Blackthorn Farm
#1 of 27 in Holyhead
248 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Boathouse Hotel
The Boathouse Hotel
#5 of 27 in Holyhead
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a family run bed and breakfast about a five minute walk from the ferry/railway terminal (we do run a shuttle service back and too). We also pick up from the late night ferry.The Lodge rooms are across the Courtyard from the main house, each has its own private entrance off the driveway, one is a double and the other a twin(the twin has two ensuites, and a small kitchenette).The rest of the rooms are in the main house. We have private gated parking with CCTV cameras for your security.All rooms are ensuite.All rooms have drinking stations with a selection of tea / coffee / chocolate / decaff / green tea / biscuits ect. All rooms have filter jugs for fresh filtered water, there are docking stations in all our room for your iphones or ipods.All rooms have flat screen tv's with free view or free sat channels, and clock radio alarms.We pride ourselves on getting it right for your stay and nothing is to much trouble. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holyhead Lodge

Address: 63 Maeshyfryd Road, Holyhead LL65 2AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Price Range: £49 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Holyhead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holyhead Lodge Island Of Anglesey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holyhead Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Sligo, Ireland
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holyhead Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms were good and even had a microwave, kettle and tea facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles 243mrsmd, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great!!”
 of 5 bubbles sendittotom, 2 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Ask for the en suite bedroom.”
 of 5 bubbles marelenee, 27 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Great food, Great sleep, Privacy 100%, Free shuttle service to train station & ferry terminal.”
 of 5 bubbles Deedee411, 8 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Our room was on the far side of the courtyard, but couldn't say it was any better than the others, given the quality we enjoyed.”
 of 5 bubbles llammarb, 10 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay