Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Prince Llewelyn Hotel

Smith Street, Beddgelert, Caernarfon LL55 4LT Wales
Traveller (65)
Dining (18)
Prince Llewelyn Hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#4 of 4 inns in Beddgelert
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Prince Llewelyn is located in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park, dog friendly and offering home made food. Vegan, vegetarian and Gluten free options available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Bicycle tours
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Housekeeping
Private bathrooms
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:20% discount code for early bookings in March & April 2024
176Reviews4Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 94
  • 22
  • 12
  • 13
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lakeyblakey wrote a review Jun 2021
8 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner booked this hotel for a long Bank Holiday weekend at the end of May so that we could explore Snowdon. Having travelled from the Isle of Wight and got stuck in Bank Holiday traffic, our hosts still made us feel extremely welcome on our arrival, allowing us to take drinks up to our room. They had informed us en-route that we would be unable to get a meal on arrival as the kitchen would be closed so we grabbed a quick takeaway beforehand.

The room was perfect for us as a base, clean, tea and coffee facilities, toiletries and the best power shower I have used in a hotel in a long long time!

Morning breakfast was cereal and a full English which set us up nicely for the day. Again the staff were incredibly helpful and attentive when it came to giving us tips for where to walk, booking evening dinner in advance which we were extremely grateful for as we watched other frustrated diners from outside the hotel not being able to make reservations in the village as it was full to capacity.
We also took advice from the local tourist information centre about how to access Snowdon. Their suggestion to take the local bus was a brilliant idea as we got dropped to the base of the mountain and having climbed and descended it, the bus was there to take us back to the village in time for our dinner in the hotel! The bus driver was a legend in himself giving us brilliant advice in relation to the tracks available. Even the local litter picking volunteers stopped to give us friendly advice and to enjoy the sound of a cuckoo in a nearby tree!

The staff at the Hotel were truly lovely and couldn’t do enough for us during our stay. The one thing I would say to the staff is to stop saying ‘sorry’ for everything as it worries me that people will take advantage of this. What you offer is brilliant and we had no complaints at all! We will definitely be revisiting in the future. Thank you to all of you for a lovely weekend ... I just wish we could have stayed longer!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you book dinner reservations in advance. If you find a good parking space, leave the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Prince Llewelyn, Owner at Prince Llewelyn Hotel
Responded 5 Jun 2021
Thank you for your lovely feedback. And I am glad that you enjoyed the wonderful area we are based. It is lovely to see the village so busy and we wish we could accommodate more people. I will feed back your comments to the staff and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jayne R wrote a review Sept 2021
8 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked in last minute as needed a twin room in the area. Got a good price and after reading some reviews about the food/landlady decided to just ignore and booked anyway. The room was lovely very clean and beds comfy. Shower was pretty good all clean. Quite noisy from the street cars passing and could hear people in other rooms talking and snoring but wasn't really that bad. There wasn't much choice for breakfast both being vegan but the landlady was kind enough to make us both something, a veggie breakfast and then beans on toast for myself. We thought she was nice to us despite the other reviews. Me and my friend had a lovely stay overall. The only niggles I had was the parking I had to pay £5.50 for 24hr overnight down the road where the B&B doesn't tell you that part and was a bit of a walk with our cases and then there's literally no WiFi so we basically had a detox day from our phones. Lastly noticed the milk jug for breakfast was a bit dirty. Other than that it was a pleasant place to stay the night and exploring the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eliza Delilah wrote a review Sept 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom37 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stopped by for a drink and some food after climbing up and down Mt Snowdon.

Service at the bar was fantastic and food was great. For drinks we both had cider which was fresh and for food we shared a cod baguette (accompanied with crisps and salad), cheesy garlic bread and chips. All was absolutely delicious!

Only lost a star as one of the staff members was a bit much (slender lady with brown hair) to the point we left instead of getting a second drink. Extremely loud, chatting away with some other guests who were eating in the dining room, the volume of her shouting and talking about herself was just too much, especially whilst eating.

Other than that, an absolutely fantastic place!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sue S wrote a review Dec 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for just one night but wished we could've stayed for longer. The bedrooms are undergoing a rolling refurb but we weren't inconvenienced by this at all. We had room 8 on the top floor, (very recently refurbished) and were impressed by the stylish decor, very contemporary but sat well with the view of the river from the window. We loved the coffee machine, it was a real treat. Everything was spotlessly clean. The mattress and bed linen felt very luxurious and we slept so well.

The bar is welcoming and served a great range of local beers as well as the usual Continental suspects. We ate dinner and breakfast at the Prince Llewellyn and enjoyed them both. I can recommend the charcuterie board. Breakfast was hearty and made with great quality produce.

I always think the staff make a great contribution to whether you enjoy your stay. I can't fault the staff at all, from Georgina who settled us in, Jack, Sam and Arwenna who looked after us in the bar and over breakfast.

There are nice shops in the village and just a short walk to Gelert's grave the Prince Llewellyn is well situated. Parking is just a long the road in a public car park but there are no parking charges over winter. We really enjoyed our stay and are planning a return in the spring.
Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.
Arwenna, the picture is for you. Happy Christmas to all.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great location for Snowdon. Visit our of season for a great value break and no parking charges.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jay J wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We attended this pub in the late afternoon on 17th September.
COVID measures are in place but are a bit pointless. We sat down and all ordered our food and drinks, my partner is a fussy eater so I made sure to order her a plain chicken burger with nothing on and no coleslaw.
After what seamed like a very long wait for very basic foot it started coming out. Mine came out and looked ok burgers where very over done but I’m not fussy so I started to eat it. My partners chicken burger can out as predicted with everything on all the salad and cheese which I made sure to order without and coleslaw on the side which again I ordered without.
After brining this up with the sever, who again said he had ordered with plain and no slaw, took the meal away.
After 5 mins he came back with the dish.
All they had done was scrape the salad, source and cheese off the burger placed it back in the same bun took the slaw off the plate and brought it back.
No this is very disappointing, not only was the burger cold by now it still had remnants of salad, source and cheese all it, it was rock hard and hard to bite into.

Please sort your chief out as this is bad service for a pub such as yourself, I’ll never eat at this location again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sean Lloyd, Owner at Prince Llewelyn Hotel
Responded 28 May 2021
Apologies that you had a bad experience. I will feed you comments back to our kitchen and at our weekly staff meeting. This member of staff is no longer with us however I will ensure your comments are fed back to the team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samuel K wrote a review Oct 2020
5 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me, my fiancé and our boxer dog visited Beddgelert one late Sunday afternoon after a road trip through north wales, we fancied a Sunday roast and called in here to see if they had a table in the beer garden, they did, so we ordered drinks then shortly after ordered our Sunday roasts. The quality of the meal was truly outstanding. The beef was spot on! The gravy was delicious and the roast potatoes and Veg were also extremely tasty. I don’t usually leave reviews but I felt this place really does deserve one! We will be back soon I’m sure of that! Big thanks to the chefs and the rest of the staff especially during these difficult times. 👍🏼
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sean Lloyd, Owner at Prince Llewelyn Hotel
Responded 28 May 2021
Glad you had a wonderful Sunday roast, and I hope your box dog got a treat too. I will pass your messages on to the staff and kitchen hope to see you again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
regokid wrote a review Sept 2020
68 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I have just finished a week long stay in Beddgelert and visited this well managed establishment several times and absolutely loved it.

The CV19 guidance was polite but firm, on entrances, ordering and where to sit, which is for all our protection.. thank you.

The food was very reasonably priced, quickly delivered and delicious, and the drinks were also of an excellent standard.

There is no better spot for relaxing after a hard day's walking than the Prince Llewellyn in Beddgelert, spoil yourself in its homely qualities of good food and drink and genuine Welsh hospitality.

We will return and thank you.

Brendan Regan
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sean Lloyd, Owner at Prince Llewelyn Hotel
Responded 28 May 2021
Thank you for your feedback, we have worked so hard to make our establishment CoVId safe so amazing to hear from a customer how safe they felt. Thank you and hope to see you again soo.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sarahcaine2017 wrote a review Oct 2022
Lichfield, United Kingdom1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed Friday to Sunday in room 10 great ensuite room even with a bath greatly appreciated after climbing Snowdon in crazy rain, hail and high winds. Stunning views, together with the calming sound of the river truly lovely. Hosts were great even when we couldn't get the tele working as we had mistakenly unplugged something. All sorted very quickly, so helpful. The kitchen was unfortunately being refurbed so no food. We hadn't booked anywhere on the Sat night and couldn't get in anywhere so reverted back to the Prince Llewelyn for a yummy sausage roll and packet of crisps, and a few drinkies. Such a lovely pub and staff. Highly recommend. Mich and Sarah x
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire D wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We took a family member for lunch who was visiting. Made to stand in porch till sour faced waitress came. She was rude and unhelpful. There was no lunch menu so I asked for the avacado salad to be told they didn’t have it. I said to my daughter I’d share a large meal with her and Jack could order one too and they refused to do that even if we ordered extra sides. So no light bites and expect slim people that eat sensibly to pay £14.50 for a burger where half would be wasted. We left as unhelpful, not welcoming and bad atmosphere due to staff not smiling or being remotely happy or welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A cold wet walk around the hills of Beddgelert should always be followed by a warm meal and a warm welcome…. Afraid to say neither was achieved on our visit …

On arrival …”you have to be dining to come in hear!” Our response “fine”…

“we’re only doing pies today”
our response “superb we love a good pie”…

“Ok then sit down”

The chap on the floor was trying his best to keep things positive but he was clearly petrified of the landlady or manager who was very ill mannered and short with customers. Wouldn’t even let us charge our laptop whilst we went online to look at things to do in the area… I know eleccy can be pricey but come on just pop it on the bill like…

Pie turns up and after a few bites i discovered mine was stone cold in the middle (have to say I did enjoy the chips though). We politely raised concerned and we’re offered a refund which we politely accepted then just the way she dealt with it and issued our refund was enough to make your skin crawl, no apology, no conversation just slammed the money on the table and walked off….

I’ve never written a review before but it just annoys me when people work in the industry and can’t even make the effort be nice to the customers that ultimately keep them in business…

Currently driving round north wales in desperate search of a good warm pie 😂🍻
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pepsibeth73 asked a question Jul 2021
Leicestershire, United Kingdom164 contributions81 helpful votes
hi where is the best place to park? how much does it cost? thjanks
Answer from PrinceBeddgelert
The parking we suggest is the public car parks in the village there are two located a short walk from the hotel we do not recommend the parking on the other side of the bridge due to the congestion it can cause
Lovelylaura66 asked a question May 2019
Derby, United Kingdom100 contributions42 helpful votes
Do the rooms have tea and coffee making facilities?
Answer from PrinceBeddgelert
Yes, all rooms have tea, coffee and a kettle
Trivandrum asked a question Sept 2014
Coventry, United Kingdom17 contributions5 helpful votes
Do you have any ground floor twin rooms, or a lift to floors with twin rooms? Thanks.
Answer from Zubenelgenubi
Fairfax, Virginia143 contributions3 helpful votes
No lift, and I didn't see rooms on the ground floor. In addition to what Natalie P, added, parking is a bit down the road, perhaps a tenth of a mile. The Saracen Head is closer to the municipal parking and may have a few spots of their own on-site.
markgreensmith61 wrote a tip 7 Apr
Wirral, United Kingdom119 contributions77 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bedgelert is a very popular place so arrive early to get a parking place. There are a couple of car parks but they’re not the biggest"
Read full review
Shooz wrote a tip Mar 2024
Blackpool, United Kingdom65 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try somewhere else"
Read full review
Sue S wrote a tip Dec 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location for Snowdon. Visit our of season for a great value break and no parking charges."
Read full review
Ian C wrote a tip Aug 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go here"
Read full review
Companion31052146912 wrote a tip May 2023
2 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't bother "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Beddgelert area.
PRICE RANGE
£125 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesGwyneddCaernarfonBeddgelert
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PRINCE LLEWELYN HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Beddgelert)

Frequently Asked Questions about Prince Llewelyn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Prince Llewelyn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Snowdon (4.1 miles), Beddgelert (2.6 miles), and Gelert's Grave (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Prince Llewelyn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and meeting rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Prince Llewelyn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Prince Llewelyn Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Prince Llewelyn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro Hebog, Caffi Gwynant, and Glaslyn.
Is Prince Llewelyn Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the centre of Beddgelert.
Are pets allowed at Prince Llewelyn Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Prince Llewelyn Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portmeirion Village (6.7 miles), Cae'r Gors (7.7 miles), and Porthmadog Eisteddfod Stone Circle (5.5 miles).
All Beddgelert HotelsBeddgelert Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BeddgelertHotels near Prince Llewelyn Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire