We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse

Traveller (49)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Family run three-star hotel, cafe, bar and bunkhouse in Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia. Selected dog-friendly rooms available. All rooms en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities. Food served seven days a week. Drying room and mountain bike lock-up available. Walkers, bikers, kayakers, climbers welcome, suitable for activity holidays. Welsh speaking staff.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
75Somewhat walkable
Grade: 75 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
14Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
131Reviews
66Photos
2Q+A
13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 27
  • 22
  • 22
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+7
On arrival the place smelt and we heard the chef hacking his guts up. This isn't what you want to hear when your meant to be eating in a few hours time. When we got to the room we discovered it was filthy, dusty covered in mold and smelt. Me and my partner went downstairs and
Read more
We had one night here for our wedding anniversary as a treat on a Groupon deal. This was to include dinner breakfast and an hour in the spa. We arrived the room was awful in need of a bloody good clean and decorate. Mould in the corner chair ripped carpet stained. Our shower
Read more
We were gifted a spa and cream tea experience, on arrival we were told there had been a mix up with the booking, so the hot tub hadn't been heated up. The manager asked us to have our cream tea first which we did. Nearly an hour later we were told the hot tub was ready, we went
Read more
Response from Deanna D, Owner at Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Rachel, Thanks for reviewing us and so sorry for your experience. I can assure you that it is not the normal experience - people have been loving our sauna & spa. As you mention there had unfortunately been a mix up with the booking and we were not expecting you, so the spa had not been adequately cleaned or had enough time to heat up. We do sincerely apologize for that. For your information there is a shower room just outside the sauna. We would love you to come back and we will ensure you have a good experience, maybe you could ring reception and ask for Sam or Lee and we will get you booked back in for free. Thanks Lee
Read more
Thank you for welcoming us on our trip to North Wales.. We had a really enjoyable stay and especially enjoyed the Spa.. what a treat. The management and staff are great, and went out of their way to provide an excellent service. Food was amazing good veggie options including
Read more
The Glen Aber is ideally situated in the centre of Betws y Coed on the main road. We had a double room at the front and was not disturbed by any road noise. The room was adequate and the bed comfortable, although the en - suite bathroom was too cold as there was no heating in
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
room
Photo provided by managementGlan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Comfortable Rooms
Photo provided by managementGlan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Quiet Beer garden
"Ask for a front facing room as the back has no view."
"Make sure room is not above kitchen area."
"Bunkhouse is clean warm and a shower"
"The front rooms are in the oldest part of the hotel with more period character. The rooms further back were more modern and contemporary."
"avoid the bunkhouse"
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
US$49 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesSnowdonia National ParkBetws-y-Coed
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing