The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

A4086, Llanberis, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park LL55 4TY Wales
Traveller (292)
Panorama of the Classic Double Room at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (257)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
Breakfast included
£129
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£144
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
£108
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#4 of 5 hotels in Llanberis
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitWales.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

A4086, Llanberis, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park LL55 4TY Wales
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 68 out of 100
68
Anglesey Airport
19.6 mi
See all flights
Chester Airport
457Reviews31Q+A80Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 162
  • 142
  • 91
  • 38
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nigelb wrote a review Sept 2020
Halifax, United Kingdom62 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in September 2020, we stayed on a bed and breakfast basis but with afternoon tea on our arrival which I have to say was really nice.
The breakfast each morning was freshly cooked and again it was really nice.
We ate at the bar one evening and yet again we had no complaints at all about the food we were served.
The room we were given was on the second floor, it was quite small and dark. There was just 1 window at the far end of the room with no view worth mentioning. There was a small wardrobe with a huge ironing board in it and a snug bathroom with a reasonable shower and small wash basin.
The room should have been about £130 per night but we got it on a deal at £50 per night. For the price we paid we cannot complain, if we had paid the full price we would have been very disappointed.
As regards location, for us it was great. We had gone to Wales for a few days walking and it was a great location to base ourselves at. The car park is very big and we had no problem parking each day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ann Owen, General Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Responded 2 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a pleasant experience dining with us throughout. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
casper021 wrote a review Aug 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom28 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful hotel , we were a little worried with pandemic, however this hotel is great the staff are amazing friendly efficient and so hard working nothing was too much trouble . We are in the beer garden on our first night no problem social distancing food was lovely brought to the table no issues . Our room was on the third floor and as we didn't want to use the lift was a good form of exercise , the room was immaculately clean and ready on our arrival it was comfortable and perfect for our needs coffee tea and milk were provided we were given the option of having breakfast in our room but decided to go for the dining room option we were very glad we did it is so well organised we never felt unsafe at all and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious . We have been to this hotel before and will definitely be returning thank you so much for wonderful break in these very difficult times.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stacey Wiggins wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I have just returned from 2 nights at the hotel, staff were really friendly and attentive all through out our stay so cannot fault them one bit. I had to complain as given the current circumstances I would have expected our room to be very clean, however one of the coffee cups was dirty, the extractor fan in the bathroom was filthy and there was cobwebs and dust in most places. They sorted our problems once we left the room for the day but when we came back the extractor fan was clean but was no longer working. The room and bathroom were small for what we paid and when having breakfast in the conservatory I notice that the white drapes hanging above us were full of dead bugs and dust, maybe this could have cleaned during lockdown before opening up to guests again, the breakfast was pretty average and not really worth £230 for a 2 night stay..it’s located in stunning grounds which are kept beautiful but inside really could do with a good overhaul. So for us unfortunately we won’t be returning
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ann Owen, General Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Responded 28 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Whilst we wish you had a better experience with us it is feedback like this we learn from and use to improve. We are pleased that you had a positive experience when dealing with our staff throughout and we do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shorttriptraveller wrote a review Jan 2020
Knighton, United Kingdom187 contributions113 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Ideally located for 2 days walking in Snowdonia and booked through a Travelzoo deal.
Large mazelike hotel - simply furnished slightly tired double room but fit for purpose with tea and coffee and biscuits and a good bathroom with lashings of hot water - wi fi a bit hit and miss
Excellent included breakfast and surprisingly good evening meal in the bar
Nice grounds with the bonus of an atmospheric ruined castle.
Friendly staff
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay on our special Travelzoo offer and we hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard Ford wrote a review Sept 2020
Exeter, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a 4 night stay and were very impressed with all the staff would all went out of their way o make us fell welcome. For sure The Covid situation does not make it easy, but all staff had face masks on, gloves too and all areas of the hotel was spotless.

Our room (321) was on the top floor, we had contacted Andrew on reception before we arrived and asked for a high floor room and he managed to get us one.The plus for us was it was a front facing room with excellent views of Snowdon and we were very grateful as we had some stunning views from our window on most days.

Our room was both clean and tidy, at the moment the room is sealed prior to our arrival and no one comes in to clean, make the beds or tidy up while we were there and we thought that was a good idea. I did request some extra coffee and milk from housekeeping and Sonja gave us what we needed. Towels and bedding would be changed but we decided the staff had enough to do so we managed with the towels etc we had and it was fine.

Breakfast had a wide choice, evening meals, we had 4 in the hotel, all were excellent, good choice and wines too. Staff friendly and we appreciated the service in theses difficult times.

We would definitely return, as the hotel is in an excellent location to explore North Wales. Thank you Royal Victoria, we had a lovely break and we wish you all well in these uncertain times.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We always check with the hotel before we arrive and ask for a room with a view of the mountains...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ann Owen, General Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Responded 17 Sept 2020
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were able to accommodate your requests. We are pleased you had a pleasant experience dinging with us and that our staff were friendly throughout. Thank you for your well wishes, we hope you stay safe & well and we hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kim c wrote a review Sept 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom133 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned home after a two night stay at The Royal Victoria....we loved it here.
We had a double room with an amazing view of the mountain range. The room and bathroom were clean and spacious, tea and coffee making facilities were available and the beds were really comfy, room was nice and clean (it was also sealed so that we knew no one had been in it since it had been cleaned). New covid routines were applied and followed by guests and staff, face masks were mandatory in the hotel and there were plenty of hand sanitising stations.
All the staff were friendly and welcoming.... Nothing was too much for them.
We stayed bed and breakfast. Breakfast was lovely lots of hot and cold options to choose from. Due to covid the staff put the food items on your plate for you but there was plenty! Tables were sanitised between each use and staff wore masks.
We also ate evening meal on each night of our stay and these were delicious, menu is a reduced one but still plenty of choices.
The hotel is situated near the Snowdon mountain train station and there are lots of other places to explore nearby on foot.
Thank you for an amazing couple of days we were sad to leave and are already planning on returning!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ann Owen, General Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Responded 17 Sept 2020
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the measures the hotel has put in place to cope with Covid-19. We are pleased you had a pleasant experience dinging with us and were met with friendly staff throughout. We hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lizfelix wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom53 contributions57 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in The Royal Victoria Hotel last week, the staff are very accommodating and really go out of their way to help you. We moved rooms as we had a problem with the automatic light that wouldn't stay on after 30 seconds in the bathroom.
Due to Covid all staff wear masks and are ready to help, the only suggestion I have is that the cooked breakfast in the morning is a little overcooked and would be great to have a few healthier items on the menu in the evening.
The location is great for walks and parking your car to tackle the Llanberis path up to Snowdon.
Thanks again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ann Owen, General Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Responded 14 Aug 2020
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and that we were able to find a more suitable room for you. We hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue Oldham wrote a review Sept 2021
11 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a large hotel. We stayed in an Executive Room in the main building - there is also and annexe called the Coachhouse. Our room was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. It looked like it had been newly decorated and furnished. The bathroom was also spotless, with a walk in shower and motion sensor lighting. More than happy with the room. Breakfast was buffet style, was plentiful and delicious, and the pizza option in the evening was also delicious. One small complaint about the food would be the steak pie and mash I had on our last night. The pie was very salty which made it hard to eat. I eventually gave up on it. The mash was a pallid yellow colour with pieces of some green vegetable or herb in it. If it was supposed to be Colcannon mash then it should be specified on the menu as I cannot eat cabbage. (I don't imagine I am the only person who can't) That aside, our stay here was great. Couldn't be better placed for Snowdon Mountain Railway, for the walk to the waterfall or for the walk to the Lake and the steam train, the town being a little further away. Beautiful gardens where we sat with a drink of an evening, making the most of the views down into Llanberis. We were so happy with our stay that we have booked again for next year, this time with our sons, daughter in law and granddaughter.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ROYAL VICTORIA HOTEL, General Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Responded 29 Oct 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall despite an issue with one of your meals. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to us again next year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David B wrote a review Feb 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom75 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel and spotlessly clean. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. Nice bar area and very comfortable lounge. We ate in the bar each evening and the food was good. The steak and bottle of wine deal is well worth it at £35 for two people. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice. The rooms were very comfortable and so were the beds. Nice and warm and plenty of hot water.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, had a pleasant meal in our bar area and enjoyed friendly & helpful service off our staff throughout. We hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jordand01983 wrote a review Jul 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom70 contributions76 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Big old building, you can see it has a lot of history. With the COVID19 situation going on and services being different, judging on the hotel can be tricky. The hotel is very noisy, the walls are thin and the building makes noise. Every morning the staff would be making so much noise in the hallways, you couldn't sleep. Breakfast in the rooms was set meals, with no ability to customize. The quality of the breakfast products was not good. The staff were friendly. Overpriced in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: For the price, not worth going during COVID19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ann Owen, General Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Responded 6 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet the standards that it should have. We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
an22sg asked a question 12 May
Singapore, Singapore8 contributions5 helpful votes
Are there connecting rooms for the coach house twin rooms?
Answer from Sheila H
Spixworht, England, United Kingdom88 contributions28 helpful votes
I honestly don’t know as we were part of a coach trip so didn’t encounter any pets May I politely suggest you ring them I’m sure they will be able to help you … have a lovely trip it’s a beautiful area
Answer from Tracey
16 contributions3 helpful votes
We had a classic double and it was good. It had a lake view which was great. Room wasn't massive but great for couple of nights stay. We booked direct with hotel and fell lucky with our room. If you book direct you could ask for lake view.
Answer from Hampo1964
Eastbourne, United Kingdom1,434 contribution258 helpful votes
Probably best to the hotel and ask them.
84deeh asked a question May 2021
Eastbourne, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
Do rooms have a mini fridge
Heather S wrote a tip 7 May
London, United Kingdom159 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If walking is an issue request a room near the lift as the corridors can be a bit of a route march"
Read full review
Angela B wrote a tip Apr 2024
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Forget the restaurant stick to the bar."
Read full review
Ron W wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking at the hotel is good and there are supermarkets 20 mins away if supplies are needed"
Read full review
Jackie wrote a tip Nov 2023
Walsall, United Kingdom50 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look on hotel web site for special offers, great value deals available "
Read full review
Julian P wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Amazing stay"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Llanberis area.
PRICE RANGE
£62 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
legacy royal victoria hotel, legacy royal victoria llanberis
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesSnowdonia-Eryri National ParkLlanberis
NUMBER OF ROOMS
104
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ROYAL VICTORIA HOTEL SNOWDONIA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia?
Nearby attractions include National Slate Museum (0.4 miles), Dolbadarn Castle (0.2 miles), and Quarry Hospital Museum (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia?
Conveniently located restaurants include 1085 Bistro, Pen-y-Ceunant Isaf Tea House, and The Peak Restaurant.
Is The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Llanberis.
Does The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cae'r Gors (5.0 miles).
Does The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Llanberis HotelsLlanberis Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LlanberisHotels near The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire