Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns

Traveller (138)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#9 of 9 hotels in Wrexham
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Housekeeping
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Yorke Street, Wrexham LL13 8LP Wales
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 93 out of 100
93
Manchester Intl Airport
36.4 mi
See all flights
Chester Airport
385Reviews2Q+A64Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 119
  • 83
  • 77
  • 54
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Wanony wrote a review Mar 2020
Barnet, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night in a double room for a business trip.

Room :
No 12 needs a lick of paint as plaster was chipped all over the place . Cleaning standard was 6 / 10 with finger nails and dust around. There was black mold on the bathroom ceiling. Loo roll holder was broken. The shower hose was disgusting and filthy. Bed and linen was good. Hand soap was of decent quality. There were lots of sockets including bedside. Little shelves by the bed was useful.

Reception and check in :
Friendly and efficient, got me more teabags immediately - there was only ONE in a double room! Free and convenient parking.

Breakfast :
Stale bread to toast ourselves, the individual little portion of Marmite was open and already used (yuck!), no service for cooked breakfast - I had to go and get a waitress. I had to ask for teaspoons at the bar as there was none by the Made Your Own Tea in a Mug area - expected to use my fingers in the boiling liquid? No teaspoons to eat the yoghurt either! The actual cooked breakfast was passable.

It gets a three star rating for the reception service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Foden-Green, General Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns
Responded 14 Aug 2023
Thank you for your review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Olga P wrote a review Nov 2023
Belfast, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this hotel via Marston's Inns. It was a painless booking process.
We requested a double room with a single bed for our special needs son.
We contacted the hotel directly prior to arrival and received prompt answers to our questions. The hotel is situated in Yorke Street, Wrexham with off road and ample free parking at the rear of the hotel.
The reception is situated at the rear of the hotel and friendly staff greeted us Rohann and Ian.
We opted for bread and breakfast for a three night stay.
The rooms were warm and comfortable. The decor was a little tired looking but this in no way reflected on the overall state of things.
Beds were clean warm and the pillows soft and comfortable. Towels were replaced fresh every morning.
Hot water (plumping) was plentiful at all times of the day.
We ate an evening meal on two of the three nights and found the menu varied and very reasonably priced. Beers and spirits were varied and reasonably priced.
Food was prepared well and plentiful.
The breakfast was similarly prepared and a short wait was in order indicating that the food was prepared when ordered. The 'full works' cooked breakfast is a must for the hungry man or woman.
Staff were knowledgeable about the town and surrounding areas.
The building is an old established construction and considering its age it was in our opinion very comfortable and I would recommend a stay here.
Nothing was a problem to the staff and our son was treated very kindly by them.
I will certainly return again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Foden-Green, General Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns
Responded 27 Nov 2023
Thank you for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again in the futre
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel wrote a review Jul 2023
Newtown
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked The Wynnstay which cost a little over £50 for a Sunday night in July including Breakfast for two.
Check In was quick and easy. Put the car registration in the device for free parking for the duration of our stay.
Our room was small but fine for what we needed. I agree with other reviewers that maybe a bit of modernising is needed but our room was generally clean. It didn't appear to have been hoovered though (There was a sweet and paper under the desk and some little bits of tissue and fluff on the carpet). This didn't bother us as we literally checked in, unpacked our stuff and went out. We had a Sunday roast in the pub side of the hotel which was lovely. We had 20% off as we booked directly with Marstons for the room. Cost us less than £25, for two adults roasts and 2 drinks. Menu had plenty of choice on and food arrived quickly and was hot.
When we arrived back into the hotel in the evening and got into Bed, it was clean and comfortable for our stay. We were surprised at how quiet it was in our room and all we heard was other guests when their doors closed as they tend to slam a bit.
We had a shower in the morning which wasn't the most powerful but did the job and water was hot.
Breakfast was lovely. Arrived to our table quickly and was hot and we could help ourselves to continental bits and drinks. The lovely lady at Breakfast was friendly and helpful and we had a chat with her. Saying that, all staff members we had any dealings with were lovely. There was a lovely Gent on reception when we arrived (Sunday 2nd July) and two Gents on the bar on the Sunday afternoon. They wrote all polite and friendly and helpful if needed anything.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again :-)
Thanks all
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Foden-Green, General Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns
Responded 14 Aug 2023
Thank you for your review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Getaway786435 wrote a review Aug 2021
Cardigan, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel needs a good makeover and quality toilet roll and the toilet required bleaching as it was brown.. Rooms very tired and located on a very noisy street, especially at night with all the drunk homeless people shouting at 2am. Evening meals were good. Breakfast was awful and require more staff, no spoons, no side plates, no cups, no milk, no juice, had to ask for these. Waitress apologised and said they had been busy. The price of breakfast was refunded which sweetened the pill. Will definitely not stay here again as not worth the money we paid for our 2 night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't stay here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Foden-Green, General Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns
Responded 14 Aug 2023
we are sorry about this
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pgoldsmith wrote a review Aug 2021
Harlow, United Kingdom
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff are friendly.

The pub from the outside looks nice, go to the hotel part and it’s very tired, for £105 per night without breakfast I expected more. The first room we had allocated stank as we got into it, and in the toilet was a number 2 which had been festering for sometime. The guest bed was also not made, so I went to reception and was given the room next door which’s as pretty much the same minus the smell and made up bed.

The rooms are very tired, the bathrooms are below par and they give you the very near minimum, shower gel in the wall, would say that this is like a slightly shabby travelodge.

The restaurant in the pub messed our order up over cooked the steak and the bar was running only one draught bitter and for a pub this size is pretty poor. The room looked out over the back of some shops/ industrial area and all night all I could hear were girls shouting in the street or from the pub area, which is annoying, so am having poor night here to say the least.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid the town centre at weekends its very loud best to stay a few streets away
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ian Foden-Green, General Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns
Responded 14 Aug 2023
Thank you for your review
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lynnmcintosh50 wrote a review Jan 2020
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel could do with a complete refit including replacement carpets as they are dirty and stained in places . Walls also stained , chipped and dirty. Lift is so old and creaks and could do with a good clean . Bedding and furniture needs replacing . Food has to be eaten in the bar which has a very limited menu with mostly chain food ! Bedrooms drab with spare furnishings piled on top of what is described as a wardrobe . Power points limited and not conveniently placed . Tea and coffee not refilled and kettle dirty. Iron and ironing board has to be collected from downstairs reception , no offer of help to take it back up several floors. Ironing board falling to pieces also . One of the worse places I’ve ever stayed in . Good point is free car parking and good location . Bar Is nicely fitted bright and clean . Not value for money at all so can’t compete with basic Band B
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheWynnstayArms, Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us, we're sorry that you didn't have an enjoyable visit. We recognise that some of our rooms are in need of some TLC. This is why we are undergoing a significant cosmetic revamp this year to bring those rooms back up to a great standard and improve guest comfort. We also apologise if there was miscommunication on your visit as we do not prevent guests from taking food to their room, it is just that we do not offer room service. Please be assured, your comments regarding the level of housekeeping have been discussed with our team to work on improvement in these areas. We're sorry you were not offered assistance in carrying the ironing board, it may been this was an oversight as most people tend to use the lift, we will definitely make sure our reception team are making this consideration for all our guests. We apologise for your experience and hope that you would consider staying with us again, especially after the significant cosmetic work we are carrying out later this year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frank wrote a review Sept 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was adequate and clean, staff were mostly friendly and helpful with one notable exception, the evening meal was quite simply the worst food I have had in 20 years in a hotel though the breakfast was passable. We were 32 men in the age group 25-75 on a golfing trip and the person in charge of the hotel when we were there refused to have a late bar for residents (even though their licence allows them to have a late bar 11pm-5am). Not only that but the person "in charge" told us we would have to take any drink we still had to our rooms or they would throw them down the sink! Aggressive and unfriendly. They must have lost £2K+ in business by not letting us stay late and have a drink. Marston's obviously don't need the money
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Eat elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns
Responded 4 Oct 2022
Hi Ftcg, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. Please be assured, our team work tirelessly to try and provide our guests with a positive experience and we're sorry we let you down on this occasion. We will be discussing your comments with our team and look at how we can improve moving forward, including effective communication of our bar opening times. Again, our sincerest apologies.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barry H wrote a review Sept 2022
Tarbes, France
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Not the first time I have stayed here but most probably the last time, the place has gone downhill over the years, the rooms are very basic but the worst thing about our visit was the poor level of leadership, the staff did not have a clue and just left to crack on unsupervised, this came apparent on the Saturday morning when arriving at breakfast what a mess, a total shambles, tables cluttered with dirty plates with nowhere to sit unless you cleared a space yourselves this was only an hour into breakfast, there were no cups, no cutlery, no teabags, no hot water, no glasses, drinks dispensers almost on empty, no milk for the cereal, there appeared to be no plan to manged this situation, we had to sit amongst the mess hoping some effort would be forthcoming to address it. It was apparent this was not going to happen although we were handed a breakfast of sorts, not one we requested it was a take it or leave it choice so we decided to leave it and went elsewhere. I did ask a member of staff if I could speak to a Manager or a supervisor but I was told that none were available at the moment, I found the standard far below any facility I have ever stayed at prior, the staff here have been let down by shoddy leadership and a lack of training or direction of good practice very unprofessional setup. It did improve by the Sunday morning following many complaints but really for the price charged you deserve a decent service and not have to kick up a fuss to gain this as we have been coming here for many years, such a disappointment
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Upper floors receive less city noise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marston's Inns, Revenue Management at Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns
Responded 4 Oct 2022
Thank you Barry for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with us over the RWF reunion weekend. We would like to apologise once again for the poor organisation on just one morning of your stay. Sorry you were unable to discuss your issues whilst still with us, even after the better service Sunday morning.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly R wrote a review Aug 2022
Holyhead, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My son and his friend where left with no hotel room on the 16/08/2022
2 weeks prior to the booking we contacted the relevant department to make sure my son and his friend could stay in this hotel overnight after watching Wrexham football play, we explained they are 16yo and needed accommodation for the night after returning from chesterfield, we where told that’s no problem at all.
Then today 16/08/2022 my son and his friend wheeler turned away, i his mum contacted this hotel and was told under no circumstances till could they stay in this hotel because they where not 18yo or above,
Both boys where expected to Rome the streets in Wrexham at midnight when they return,
No compassion or care was shown when I contacted the hotel practically begging for them to have a room, I even offered to act as a guarantor.
We live 2hrs away so the room over night was booked for them both to get there heads down and kept safe,
The regional manager of this company also showed no compassion and said NO to changing his mind in allowing these 2 boys a roof over there head.
Luckily a lovely hotel in Wrexham agreed to help us out and luckily they are booked in for the night,
The lady I spoke to at the bar in the hotel said there was nothing she could do and had nothing else to say. Shame on you and your Manager.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rikki Hampton, General Manager at Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns
Responded 6 Sept 2022
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. We appreciate your frustrations with guests not being able to stay at our property but hope that you understand the importance of health and safety for us. We are actively working with our marketing teams to ensure that our policies are communicated effectively and correctly to all guests to avoid incorrect bookings being made on all booking channels. We apologise that this was not the case in this instance.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Helen P wrote a review Sept 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
On first impressions hotel is lovely, communal areas are great the bar is also lovely. The staff are all lovely especially one lady who did breakfast she was on her own and incredible. Was not fair on her to do it all herself tho.
First morning we had breakfast there was a function on upstairs so there was no teabags, no cups, no bread and no cutlery but the lady working on her own was more than helpful getting us what we needed.
The cooked breakfast wasnt amazing, it was quite greasy and the sausages tastes awful. Bacon and eggs were great though.
Now the room.
We stayed in the family room which was a lovely, a little bit dated room but was very clean and a lovely view down the high street.
BUT the bathroom was something from the 70’s and really needed a but of money spending on it. Especially around the bath as someone has removed the old grout and re done it but left all the residue around the bath and the taps, it makes it look very dirty and the shower head was grubby too. Spending a little on the bathrooms would make the world of difference to our experience.
This is by no means a luxury hotel but it is perfect for a couple of nights and at £112 for 2 people for 2 nights we thought it was great and we would stay again.l just without breakfast as there is a spoons across the road where is much nicer and cheaper.
All the staff are lovely which definitely helps and free parking is even better 😊
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mrspeck2014 wrote a tip May 2024
Rogerstone, United Kingdom17 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Double check your card charges"
Read full review
Molly H wrote a tip May 2024
9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid town centre- rough and people screaming in streets everywhere you go"
Read full review
Piccler wrote a tip Mar 2024
103 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Consider all possible hotel options before committing."
Read full review
paul wrote a tip Mar 2024
Accrington, United Kingdom11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free Parking"
Read full review
KJames29 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Preston, United Kingdom136 contributions100 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great parking and free"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wrexham area.
PRICE RANGE
£48 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesWrexham CountyWrexham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WYNNSTAY ARMS HOTEL BY MARSTON'S INNS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns
Which popular attractions are close to Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns?
Nearby attractions include St Giles Parish Church (0.07 miles), Xplore! Science Discovery Centre (0.07 miles), and Voodoo Moon (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a sofa, and a sofa bed.
What food & drink options are available at Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bank Wine Bar and Bistro, Lisbon Tapas Restaurant, and Nags Head.
Is Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Wrexham.
Does Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Erddig (1.4 miles), Minera Lead Mines (3.8 miles), and Brymbo Heritage Area (3.3 miles).
Is Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Wrexham HotelsWrexham Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WrexhamHotels near Wynnstay Arms Hotel by Marston's Inns
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire