We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel

Show Prices
#14 of 75 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

578 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 575: English reviews
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and daughter stayed here prior to her attending an interview at Cardiff medical school. They had a room on the lower floor just by reception. They were constantly disturbed in the night by the fire door banging outside and could hear people in reception. They were exhausted by the morning having had the worst night sleep. Just the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Colin Thanks for reviewing your visit with us while your daughter attended an interview. I'm really sorry to hear you and your family were kept aware by other guests. Our team do carry out regular checks of the hotel and follow up any noise complaints to make sure our guests are following our quiet time policy so this is...

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel on the whole is a decent fare, however the location is bit of a problem for those planning to commute to the city. Again I was aware of the location when I made the booking so won’t make a huge fuss. There are niggles that I had to face during my stay which I need to highlight and hence...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MonikaNici1988
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Monika Thanks for taking the time to share your review. It's a shame to read of your disappointment on this occasion due to the noise disturbance you experienced and issues with wifi. Rest assured I've passed your comments on to our Wifi Team and the Hotel Management Team so that they can implement any necessary actions and staff retraining...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is on retail/ industrial estate only 15 minutes bus ride into Cardiff. Handy location and very quiet with no roads close by. Statt extremely helpful and had a good quality Premier Inn breakfast provided by the Davideo Lloyd sports centre next door Purchased the ' 'Day to Go' bus pass for £3.60 and you can use unlimited bus rides...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hall;Mr.steve H
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel offers quality accommodation, great service, peace and quiet with easy access catering to the David Lloyd Centre adjoining it, where you can relax and eat great quality health food from their own menu. Lot's of choice for adults and children on the menu. On the whole, a great place to stay offering easy access to Cardiff Town Centre.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa F
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Once again I chose Premier Inn for a one night stay over whilst in Cardiff. The rooms were (as always) clean, tidy, spacious. The room was a little cold when we got there, but the in room thermostat control sorted that issue out after about 5 minutes. There was a gentleman who snored all night and through until the morning,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaunConsulting
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is situated next to a David Lloyd leisure complex within a barriered car park adding extra security. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Room was clean and well serviced. Location about 15 mins drive from central Cardiff, ideal for shopping etc. There is a few shops and restaurants close by too. Would recommend and return.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoanneR24
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good, clean and staff very friendly, good location. Beds were amazing, and kids loved the fact were staying in one room. Bathroom clean and shower good with hot water. No outside noise so that was a bonus with young kids. Would recommend.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chapman87
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we arrived the appearance of the building looked very dated and drab. We were pleasantly surprised however on the quality and comfort of our rooms. We were also given an added touch of a chocolate selection box for all our children, wine and juice. The housekeeper Tina even gave the children a hot chocolate and was so friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulamagee1
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Would definitely stay at this hotel again. Pity there wasn't an internal phone to be able to contact the service desk just in case there was a problem with the room. Instead of having to go down or ring from your mobile.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3CAB
Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very noisy on our floor neither of us could sleep, it did sound as if someone was destroying the room Wi-fi very poor - couldn't use it at all. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was very good.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janicebirdb

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (113)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Second Double Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Third Double Room (26)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 75 in Cardiff
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
2.0 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
2.5 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you're on the road for business or pleasure, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff (Roath) is a quiet, convenient place to pull in for a pit stop - just off the A48 for easy access into or out of the city. If you're here for the high life you'll have all the shops, sports and show action right on hand. Or if you're focused on work, we're in a great spot for getting to Newport Road, the Welsh Assembly and the city centre. And when it's time for a rest, our spacious rooms and cosy beds will make sure you get a great night's shut eye. Next door to a David Lloyd Leisure Club. Directions: Westbound: M4 (J29) A 48M. Take 3rd slip road For Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. Eastbound: M4 (J30) A48M Take 2nd slip road for Cardiff (E) docks and Cardiff Bay. FTurn right at Morrisn's onto Ipswich road, at the road and enter David Llyod Leisure Club car park and follow purple signs for the hotel. Transport and local information: Cardiff International Arena Events Millennium Stadium Events Cardiff Castle & Tredegar House Cardiff Central Train Station 2.5 miles Cardiff Airport 15 miles ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel

Address: Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: £45 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Wales
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#20 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get a room on the lower floor by reception”
 of 5 bubbles 433colinb, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the same. None better than others”
 of 5 bubbles MaunConsulting, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we were at the front of the hotel and never had any problems with noise from the car park”
 of 5 bubbles keithroberts2016, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“no need they are all in a good location”
 of 5 bubbles gerry1946, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the A48 which are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 488carolynb, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay