We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Abbey Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Abbey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 115: English reviews
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

GOOD: amazingly comfortable beds. Location excellent - a 15 min walk from town centre. Room looked freshly painted and carpets new INBETWEEN: decor bizarre - not my style quirky nonetheless. 10/ 10 for originality and anyway taste is subjective. Breakfast bit limited but ok BAD: room very cold despite radiators on. Shower did not work at all on 2nd day.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jay M
AHcardiff, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, and shame you did not not say on the first day that the electric went off whilst you were showering, none the less now that you have said this it narrows down the problem as to why a fuse blew in the cellar. As per value for room this was an International weekend and the... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were accommodated at the last minutes as a hotel down the road has messed our booking up. The owner was extremely friendly and good fun. The hotel was stylishly decorated and the room was extremely comfortable and well accommodated. It was very good value for money and look forward to staying in this friendly and comfortable hotel again soon.

Helpful?
Thank TOJP12
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I dont normally do reviews, but this case is an exception. The hotel booking stated check in at 10, so arrived about 10.30, as i was going to the darts that started at 1. On arrival at the hotel i was greeted with "You're early". I explained the website detail and i got back from the owner some story that... More 

Helpful?
Thank jstokes5
AHcardiff, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Mr Stokes, if you check the website you will see check in is at 2pm not 10am when you booked 6 months previously it did say 10am and this was incorrect and was changed very quickly, sadly it was not correct at your time of booking some 6 months previous, i am sure terms and conditions are subject to change... More 

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as we were going to a Stereophonics concert in the City Stadium. It's basic but clean, a little quirky, we found parking close by. Walking distance into the city centre - breakfast was ok. Just what you expect from an informal hotel. Friendly service

Helpful?
Thank Jo L
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here the weekend with a friend for a night out !!. I absolutely love it there the guest house is so quirky and so full of character! Our room was clean nicely decorated and the beds very comfy. The owner is jason and he is so friendly and full of fun and was happy to have a laugh with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hayley b
AHcardiff, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ladies, a pleasure to meet you both More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Just returned from an overnight stay in Cardiff . We usually stay in the City centre, however we found this lovely hotel just a short distance away which was just lovely and exceeded our expectations in every way. From the warm friendly welcome from the proprietor, Jason who showed us to our room which was superb, very clean , cosy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma T
AHcardiff, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, hope to see you again very soon More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Good sized room was clean and comfortable. Decor throughout was tasteful, with a touch of quirkiness. Our host was friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was quite enjoyable, with good variety. We were able to park on the street, but unsure of availability of on-site parking.

Helpful?
Thank Travel_Revival
AHcardiff, Owner at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, glad you enjoyed More 

1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed at the abbey hotel for 2 day and 1 night, on arrival the staff were welcoming, kind and friendly. We made our way to our room which was easy to find, the room was fantastic, clean and welcoming. When we left the hotel for the day the owner was able to point us in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sian S
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

As far as a B&B goes, I really enjoyed my stay here. I stayed for a week whilst on a work trip. Traditional decor, with a quirky modern twist, combined with friendly hosts, made this a quiet and comfortable stay. Good wifi and tv channels. Really couldn't ask for much more here. Great value. Recommended for sure!

Helpful?
Thank Rob T
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016

we stayed at the hotel this weekend. the staff was really nice and kind. big and very clean room. the position is excellent and we truly recommend it!! if it happens to go back to cardiff again, we will certanly stay at the Abbey Hotel!!

Helpful?
Thank ambra r

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff
1.8 mi away
Tanes Hotel
Tanes Hotel
#30 of 75 in Cardiff
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#19 of 75 in Cardiff
859 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wynford Hotel
Wynford Hotel
#40 of 75 in Cardiff
147 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Abbey Hotel is a small and independently run hotel with masses of personality and charm. Following a recent change of management and comprehensive refurbishment programme the Abbey hotel is quickly building a reputation as trendy and modern customer service driven boutique and lifestyle hotel. The Abbey hotel's unique style of service derives its ethos and savvy approach to customer care from recognition and understanding of the greatly differing needs and dynamics of the individual traveller. We take the view the traditional custom and practice approach to accommodation services is outdated and rigid and is no longer convenient nor desirable for many travellers and visitors to the equally dynamic evolving and culturally rich City of Cardiff. We believe that personality and a unique, memorable experience are what really matter when you, your friends and family are travelling.We pride ourselves on striving to deliver the warm, friendly and more personalised service that often the larger chain hotels are unable to provide. The decor is elegant,glamorous, vibrant and unique in design. Guests are encouraged to make use of all reception areas and the bright and clean dining room is made available to guests for dinning at all times should they wish to order evening or late night takeaway. Every effort is made to ensure bedrooms are warm cosy and ready for your arrival, day or night. There is no traditional Front Desk check-in formality. Check-in is usually conducted in the lounge or dinning area where guests can relax, chat with staff and other guests whilst enjoying a welcoming cup of coffee. Our informal approach is, once again designed with you in mind,allowing opportunity to gather information on local dining,shopping and places of interest. Hosts are happy to offer assistance with directions, dinning reservations and booking of timely transport. All the little things that can often be difficult and daunting when you are unfamiliar with a City. No restricted check-in. We offer a unique, bespoke and hugely convenient 'on the go' system of check-in. This allows guest with reservations to check in by simply messaging,emailing or calling hotel with expected time of arrival. We will provide you with details of your room,a unique door code that will allow entry to the hotel at any time of day or night.Guests can use take this opportunity to discuss any specific requirements you might have during your stay. At the Abbey our working practices really are all about you and why the Abbey is becoming the preferred place to stay, whatever the nature of your visit to Cardiff we aim to fulfil every respective individual need. So if a bespoke accommodation experience, delivered in a warm, welcoming and informal manner is what you're seeking, look no further. Please note we are in process of updating our images and some images of hotel were taken prior to refurbishment and do not reflect the current significantly improved style and design standard of interior. Please feel free to call if you require any further information. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: 149-51 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: £49 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Abbey Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cardiff
The Abbey Hotel Cardiff, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Abbey Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Abbey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only bath is in room 8 but bed is quite firm and small double. Room 1 has 3 single beds, very comfy but no storage for clothes.”
 of 5 bubbles 309irenes, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the south side are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles sunnyjimbof, 27 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles 802ChrisC, 21 Nov 2015 | Read review
“I was in a single room, but I chatted with the owner and he seems extremely accommodating!! Ask him for anything you want!”
 of 5 bubbles 647brandie, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We were on second floor room 2, wifi worked well.”
 of 5 bubbles 512stuartp, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay