We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Grimstad, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The positives: + big functional appartment, +, good location, + clean, + service minded house keeping staff, + welcome pack with breakfast the first night. However, the service provided from SACO is terrible. We asked for a baby bed for our stay. SACO was happy to provide that for a whooping 90£ extra. When we arrived at the apparparment at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bjos
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to write a review. Your lovely comments on the apartments are appreciated. However, I was concerned about your comments regarding the baby bed that was supplied to you. We supply travel cots for babies and infants not beds. The travel cots come with a thin quilted base mattress. As you mentioned they can also...

London
Reviewed 4 October 2016

It is essentially a self service apartment with good location and parking facilities. Stayed during the cricket which was a plus as Swalec is 5 minutes walk.not many shops around. Although i liked the apartment I would not really call it Artisan(which is what it seems to imply that its luxury apartments) i was staying in the kipling apartment and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hussainfarhad
JennieGM, Public Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff. We thank you for your comments regarding your stay and take them on board. We offer guests a fully furnished and equipped apartment with everything that you would need for a stay from one night to one year....

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Great apartment and very tidy and clean. Could be a bit more clear on security deposits for staying. Handy for the town centre. Breakfast freebie a little tight. 2 small boxes of cereal for 2 people for 2 days.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kris t
JennieGM, Public Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff. We will pass your comments on to the Cardiff team. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit. Kind regards Georgina

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

After recently booking a SACO Apartment in Cardiff for July 2017 online we experienced some really funny business. At the time of booking we were asked to pay the whole balance which we did (circa £300 for 2 nights), and no request for a deposit was requested. just over a week later we receive an email stating the booking had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy W
JennieGM, Public Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry that you were not able to experience a stay at our SACO apartments. Unfortunately I am not aware of the circumstances which led to your booking being cancelled. Please can I ask that you contact me on ghennessy@sacoapartments.com to discuss further. Kind regards Georgina

Chengdu, China
Reviewed 17 July 2016

These apartments are small but very well resourced. We had the little one at the back first of all which is nice and quiet. It's compact but perfectly fine for two people and has everything you could need. However, there was a small problem in that the blackout blind in the bedroom had broken and so it was too light...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MerionT
JennieGM, Public Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything a SACO serviced apartment has to offer. Thank you for your comments regarding the furnishings, it is only with honest feedback that we can continue to...

Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

SACO Cathedral Road Apartments are outstanding! I stayed there for business from November 2014 to May 2015, and also from October 2015 to March 2016. The apartments themselves are very modern and complete, with excellent amenities. It was a great blessing to work with Lezley the manager, and also with Richard and other SACO office personnel. Great folks who really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobDempsey
JennieGM, Guest Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your long stays with us and we will definitely pass on your comments to the staff who we are glad impacted greatly on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

It great, incredible appartment excelent location, got everything near, the bed are confortable, the space is great have a good starter pack, milk, water, tea, the cleanning team is amazing leave everything shiny, definitly i will stay here when come to cardiff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manu C
JennieGM, Guest Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit. Kind regards Georgina

Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Apartment was clean and basically appointed so was a little soulless however would definitely stay there again tons of hot water for showering. Everything very clean but Having to pay extra for parking is outrageous and there are not even enough spaces available for the number of apartments!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ann8490
JennieGM, Guest Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you were not happy with the parking arrangements we have on site however due to our location parking is at a premium and to ensure that...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of lads in our late thirty's. The apartments are lovely and clean and are a good size. Location is great too, about 15 min stroll to the centre of town. We had 3 apartments of various sizes and all were of equal standard. So as far as the apartments were concerned, we were very happy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane T
JennieGM, Guest Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted that you enjoyed our apartment and all the amenities offered. This is a self service location which does not have a reception however there is a 24/7 number to call if you need any assistance...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Overall a rather soulless and unwelcoming establishment. But, clean, modern, well fitted-out kitchenette with washing machine and fridge freezer. Nice bedroom. Warm, airy and spacious. Furniture okay but a somewhat utilitarian. First day apartment key access was a nightmare - had to get help from other residents. Free wifi availability? Forget it! Come on SACO, get on the programme!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl K
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff. I am pleased that you found the apartment to be clean and modern and enjoyed the amenities that come with a serviced apartment. I would like to apologise for the issues you experienced trying to gain access to...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 75 in Cardiff
2,011 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
2.2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 75 in Cardiff
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This stunning restoration of magnificent Victorian town houses provides one and two bedroom apartments overlooking Sophia Gardens and Glamorgan County Cricket Ground. The apartments have been interior designed in a contemporary style featuring a large living/dining area (some with sofa beds), fully equipped kitchen, master bedroom with king size beds and separate bathroom. Two bedroom apartments also have king size beds and additional en-suite shower rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road

Address: Saco House 76 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: £82 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saco Hotel Cardiff
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rear apartments, gate access - no good for take away deliveries”
 of 5 bubbles 202carlk, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the ground floor if you want a quiet stay.”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelI746, 19 Apr 2014 | Read review
“make sure you check out the appartment and the itinary, also if you dont see a washer/dryer ASK where it is, we found ours on the day we left in a cupboard outside the appartment”
 of 5 bubbles MaXteK, 28 Aug 2013 | Read review
“I havent had a bad apartment yet - even those with the living spaces facing the road have located their bedrooms to the quiet, leafy rear.”
 of 5 bubbles 662MaggieM, 16 Aug 2013 | Read review
“If you don't have earplugs or you have a child or second person sleeping perhaps avoid the rooms facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles OliverL244, 5 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay