Ty Rosa Rooms
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ty Rosa Rooms

Traveller (135)
Panorama of the Compact Room (Other Building) at the Ty Rosa B&B
360
Panoramas (5)
The bed in attic ensuite room
Room & Suite (113)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#3 of 24 B&Bs in Cardiff
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
A gay owned place that welcomes everyone to stay. Stylish rooms with all the facilities you would need inc tea/coffee facilites, fresh towels With free parking and free wi-fi. TyRosa is only a short walking distance between the city centre and Cardiff Bay (bus stop just outside to city). We have a cafe and shop very close. . We look forward to you coming to stay as guest and leave as a friend.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Business

Location

118 Clive Street, Cardiff CF11 7JE Wales
646Reviews3Q+A75Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 485
  • 112
  • 23
  • 14
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Robyn C wrote a review Mar 2020
Warrington, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a great stay and the welcome was extremely friendly and professional. It had great amenities and was extremely close to town. The breakfast was also to die for, would deffo recommend any item on their breakfast menu n
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris R wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A wonderful B&B located between the city centre and the bay. We spent our visit walking to and back to the centre but there is ample parking and busses available.

The room was modern, clean and had everything you would need/expect of a hotel room. We could not fault it.

To top if off The host was friendly and helpful but not overbearing.

We will definitely return when we are next in Cardiff.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Shone, Owner at Ty Rosa Rooms
Responded 6 Nov 2022
Thank you for having a great stay with us . Paul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave23T23 wrote a review Mar 2020
Northampton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 days and no complaints whatsoever. Host friendly, room fine and breakfast fresh tasty and plentiful. Used the shared bathroom which was clean and airy. In terms of value for money I was more than happy. Paul was helpful and relaxed and I would be more than happy to return to Ty Rosa.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Noa C wrote a review Aug 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights as two young female friends.
To say that we felt unsafe would be an understatement, as the area was far outside the city centre and did not feel safe at all. Further, the place itself exclusively accommodated single old men, who frequently stared at us and did not talk to us. This may or may not have been the fault of the management itself, but it seemed bizarre that this was the only clientele of the place.
On top of this, our door was very difficult to lock, which was challenging because we wanted to lock it at night as we felt unsafe from the men, and the management did nothing to help us with this.
Unfortunately, since we shared the location with so many single men, and because management was seldom around, the common spaces were in terrible condition and our bedroom itself was not clean at all. There was a lot of dust under the bed, for instance.
Lastly, we did not see the management at all, and there was nobody around to ask for help when we had questions or concerns.
I will not be recommending this B&B.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If you are a woman, do not stay at this B&B.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Shone, Owner at Ty Rosa Rooms
Responded 6 Nov 2022
We are sorry you had an unpleasant stay with us, w e had sone family illness so had to pop out of property and cDNA apologies for that . We have been at this location for 16 years and never had an issue with safely in the area nor here at the property. It was chance that you had a few men stay here which were lovely and friendly . We fo have families. Ladies etc stay with us . We have addressed our cleaner and rooms are now kept clean etc. paul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
northwalesnaturist wrote a review Oct 2021
Anglesey, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Normally rate per night under £50 which is not unreasonable for this part of the city. We paid £109 per night for international rugby weekend of 2 nights.

B&B means bed & breakfast but breakfast extra……although not available due to covid “rules” said the parents of one of the owners. (who were very helpful). Not sure of that logic tho. So we had a superb mega breakfast down the road at the start of North Clive Street for £6 a head (Black & White place).

“Free parking” means on the roadside on Clive Street” and nothing exclusive and pot luck.

Despite the photos showing spacious rooms we could not pass each other round the bed in the Harlech room. Image taken with my back right against the window.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Shone, Owner at Ty Rosa Rooms
Responded 6 Nov 2022
We have changed our business name to Tyrosa rooms as in view of Covid and it finishing not many people at all wanted breakfast so we were wasting it. Free parking even though on the road we think is good, as we are one street away from where permits are needed and would cost you dearly We are a Victorian house and by the sounds of it you might be better in a standard built hotel , but I do know they charge a lot more on rugby weekends . Thanks for the review though. Pail
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nathan higham wrote a review Aug 2023
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Well, firstly, the people that are given this more than one star I clearly either friends and family or being paid!! There is no parking whatsoever. This is a manky old terraced house on a long Street with no parking whatsoever, and the place is absolutely disgustingly filthy, see pictures. There is a layer of grime dirt and dust all over everything accompanying that is the smell of dirty animals and house. Cats didn’t venture into any of the communal areas as the smell put me off all outside‘s place has been completely neglected. and there are weeds growing out of all the gutters the room itself in addition to being disgusting dirty. Also had a Hidden Boiler in the corner, which I didn’t find safe at all in a bedroom. The area itself didn’t feel safe at all I work away from home during the week and stopping hotels and B&Bs 46 weeks of the year and can say this is. Possibly the one of the worst I’ve ever stayed in. I will never return. I suggest you avoid this place at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid coming by car as there is nowhere to park
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sofia P wrote a review Mar 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We paid a pretty cheap price for this accommodation so didn’t expect much. I wouldn’t call the place very clean, it was very out dated and needs abit of work. Although, the room was reasonably clean. The bed was very comfortable which was definitely the best thing about this place.
The light in the shared bathroom didn’t work, so we had to shower in the dark… I messaged the owner but no reply.
If you are on a budget this place is a good option, if not I would go somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I wouldn’t come here if I was a solo female traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RClayton2012 wrote a review Sept 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A wonderful B&B. Ty tosa is a great place to stay in Cardiff. Fantastic Hosts and comfy rooms and beds. The breakfasts are superb too and a great way to start your day. Plenty of on street parking available plus a bus stop right outside the door.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PoofsOnTour wrote a review Jul 2007
Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As first-time B&B'ers, we went to Ty Rosa with an open mind to discover a great little property handy to most central Cardiff landmarks and shopping...and of course Cardiffs gay district.
Very well appointed rooms and newly decorated in a most stylish manner.
The boys are very sociable and also put on a terrific breakfast with many options available.
As a whole, Cardiff was a great surprise, very upbeat and bouyant....definitely worth a visit!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2007
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fearghas wrote a review Aug 2008
Dublin, Ireland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I cannot begin to describe how upsetting my experience at Ty Rosa was. After a night out, my boyfriend and I returned to encounter a dinner party for 15 taking place. One of the guests drunkenly blocked our access to the stairs in the hallway preventing us from getting to our room. He and one other reveller proceeded to hurl racial slurs at me and were surprised that I did not take their 'jokes' in good faith. All of this coming from transvestites whom I believe use Ty Rosa as a safe haven away from the judgement of the general public. The irony appeared to have been lost on them.

The party continued for another hour and a half and this being a B&B there was one toilet to service 15 dinner guests and three bedrooms. Waiting for the bathroom meant enduring drunken enquiries into the bedroom activities of my boyfriend and I. This was supposed to have been a romantic break.

The proprieters informed me that in addition to the transvestite events, they regularly host evenings for different groups within the gay community (he mentioned a 'gay Chrisitan' group) and I wonder if perhaps the B&B might double as a sort of community centre. I admire the proprieters for their interest in developing the community but I question the compatibility of a B&B with a centre for community groups. If you must book here, check with them first that they are not hosting such an evening on the night(s) you wish to stay.

The following morning the shower didn't work.

Also the next door neighbours felt it appropriate to air their dirty laundry in public which meant a lie in was not possible as the decibel at which they were shouting felt like they were actually in the bedroom with us.

The B&B is a little far out of town and in an area in which you must have your wits about you.

It's too expensive for what you get although I must say the breakfast was outstanding with a choice to match any five star hotel and the hosts were pleasant.

Cardiff is a lovely place to visit. Don't let Ty Rosa ruin that for you. You deserve better.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2008
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from tyrosa, owner at Ty Rosa Rooms
Responded 28 Aug 2008
This is the first time anyone has ever had a bad experience staying at Ty Rosa and we are sadened that you did not make any complaint or comments to us directly and had to put together this attack on the TV/TS community. When the room was booked with us, you are aware that we are a Gay ran B&B that welcomes all and by your comments you are descriminative. We have had every walk of life stay here and many have told us that they the experience of staying here is as if they were staying with friends.. Being a Gay boutique B&B you would expect to find LGBT people here. If you find other sexualities offensive, (clearly you do) then in future you may want to booked a regular hotel. In defense to these descriminatory remarks against TV people, (which in todays society is bad). We do host a 3 course evening meal for 12 mature TV ladies every 2 months, they don't drink as they all drive and the dinner evening is in the lounge and away from guests and always finished by 11,00 ish as we don't want guests staying to be disturbed. If you stay at any hotel they often have parties and functions going on to the early hours, so it is not something unusal even for us to just have a dinner evening every so often. so far every other guest staying here on a dinner evening has been aware and some have chatted with them and enjoyed their company. The ladies had use of a separate bathroom downstairs so the guest bathroom should not have been used, we appologies if this was the case. We pride ourselves on our service (which you complimented, thank you) and we are nearly full to capacity every single day and even have an annexe building now because we are so busy. With these remarks being made we have taken the decision to notify customers when booking a room on a dinner evening (only every 2 months) , so that the choice few that are likely to be offended by tv/ts people can choose not to stay here if they so wish.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue E asked a question Feb 2016
York, Pennsylvania, United States12 contributions5 helpful votes
check in and check out times
Answer from Franziska S
7 contributions
Check-in from 2pm Check-out til noon.
Answer from Franziska S
7 contributions
The Bay Area where the Doctor Who Experience is located is approx. 25min away on foot. Taxis there cost about £6. The bus stop for no. 8 bus that takes you to the bay is about 5min away on foot. Hope this is helpful. Fran
Nathan higham wrote a tip Aug 2023
24 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid coming by car as there is nowhere to park"
Read full review
Dee C wrote a tip May 2023
Austin, Texas11 contributions18 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just don't"
Read full review
Sofia P wrote a tip Mar 2023
10 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"I wouldn’t come here if I was a solo female traveller"
Read full review
Noa C wrote a tip Aug 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom36 contributions34 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are a woman, do not stay at this B&B."
Read full review
david s wrote a tip Mar 2020
Telford, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go elsewhere"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cardiff area.
PRICE RANGE
£39 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ty rosa boutique gay hotel cardiff, ty rosa boutique gay bed and breakfast
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TY ROSA ROOMS - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Ty Rosa Rooms
Which popular attractions are close to Ty Rosa Rooms?
Nearby attractions include Parc All Weather Play (0.6 miles), City Mazes (0.6 miles), and DEPOT (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ty Rosa Rooms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Ty Rosa Rooms?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Ty Rosa Rooms?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ty Rosa Rooms?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cedar Tree Farm - Farmhouse Inns, The Classroom - Y Dosbarth, and Merola's.
Is Ty Rosa Rooms located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Cardiff.
Are there any historical sites close to Ty Rosa Rooms?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (2.5 miles), St Lythans Burial Chamber (3.7 miles), and Mansion House (1.6 miles).
All Cardiff HotelsCardiff Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CardiffHotels near Ty Rosa Rooms
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire