New Inn Motel Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

New Inn Motel Hotel

Chepstow Road Langstone, Newport NP18 2JN Wales
Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (16)
best sharing platter i`ve tasted in a long time.
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 motel in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
422Reviews6Q+A65Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 176
  • 127
  • 52
  • 29
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SouthCoastBrit wrote a review Feb 2020
South Coast39 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is definitely not a five star hotel, it is down to a budget ... but ... the room, although small and slightly dated, was of adequate size for me, my daughter and her full grown retriever. The beds were very comfy, linen spotless and the bathroom had obviously been refurbished quite recently. It was spotless, there was a bath, a conventional over bath shower head and a large rainwater shower head. The hot water was plentiful, there was shower soap, towels were full bath size and, joy of joys, something I have only ever seen in 5 star hotels before, a heated bathroom mirror, which made it possible to actually use the bathroom mirror,

I think it is safe to say that the manager and staff, and whoever plans these rooms, have gone out of their way to think of every little thing that their guests could possibly want, from decent bedside lamps to a kettle and sufficient sockets with usb charging slots to make even the most gadget driven visitor happy.

The breakfast was plentiful, with cereal, fruits, yoghurt and toast and plenty of tea and coffee and we were offered a cooked breakfast as well, although we didn’t have it as we were short of time. The only small (tiny) niggles were that we had to ask for spoons for the cereal, we couldn’t find any teaspoons and there appears to have been a marmalade drought but we were allowed to take the dog into the bar area and all the staff were wonderfully helpful.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel, especially if you are travelling with a dog and on a budget.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jo Kusak, General Manager at New Inn Motel Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2020
We are delighted to read your review thank you so much and we are pleased to know hoe much you enjoyed your stay we will.ensure we order in more marmalade!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ataffy wrote a review Feb 2020
Swansea, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited the restaurant today as part of an pre-planned organised group of 94 people! Yes 94! My personal experience was faultless!

On arrival they ensured that the car park was free for us to park 58 bright orange VW vans 🧡 within minutes of arriving we were seated and ready to confirm our pre-booked orders!

They wizzed through the queue at the bar and we waited no longer than 15-20 minutes for our food and I’m pretty sure all 94 of the group were eating within 30 minutes. An amazing feat in itself.

The food was lovely, I had a lasagna that had obviously been cooked properly in an oven, it was so tasty and even a little crispy around the edges. 😋 good reviews from other diners around us too.

All the staff were lovely and couldn’t do enough to help. We live approximately 30 minutes away and until today we didn’t realise that this place existed, but I can definitely say that we will return.

Thank you everyone at the New Inn for making #TeamOrange feel so welcome, you did an amazing job today!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Owner at New Inn Motel Hotel
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. Have a great day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha T wrote a review Nov 2020
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom12 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here with my husband and 2 year old daughter for a family celebration. Our check in was outstanding and we were checked in and settled in to our room very quickly, the lady at reception was fantastic and very welcoming. The room was lovely and very clean.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and we had a lovely meal, from the young lad who seated us to the waitresses etc everything was outstanding.

My husband and I had steaks and the little one had fish fingers, with mash potato, our steaks were cooked lovely and spot on,the staff were absolutely fantastic and nothing was too difficult for them, they made a big fuss of our daughter which she really enjoyed.

Breakfast in the morning was outstanding and again the staff were very pleasant, our daughter doesn't eat much in the mornings so she just had toast but she was happy with that, again the staff made a big fuss of her.

All staff were following the rules and regulations of covid, and there was always someone cleaning which was great to see and there was a one way system in place.

Well done to all the staff, your manageress should be really proud of you all.

Will definitely be returning again, in the future

Mr and Mrs C
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Marketing at New Inn Motel Hotel
Responded 5 Nov 2020
Thanks for your positive review. We are always more than happy to assist you if anything else comes up. Take care!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Welsh Boyo wrote a review Aug 2020
Newport, United Kingdom7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here on the 6th of August and was appalled that could not get any sleep due to a dog being allowed to stay in one the rooms opposite and barking through the night.
I personally don’t have anything against dogs but anyone who allergic or has a condition that they need to avoid they should not be allowed to stay in hotel rooms plus can be unsanitary as they do have accidents.
Although my room was clean I could not sleep due to the dog barking through the night.
What makes it worst even after leaving a note how bad it was on the front desk as had to leave early for work tired and grumpy they still charged full price for the room.
I stay I newport often and have to recommend places to my clients and this hotel I shall not be recommending or staying at again as they clearly did not care or consider others when allowing dogs and receiving a hand written note when I left and charging full when I did not get a good nights sleep and have to drive and work tired making my day more difficult.
I do not recommend to stay and will not recommend to anyone else. Avoid as clearly they don’t care about the guests staying at there hotel !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Owner at New Inn Motel Hotel
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Aboyo1321, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our pub.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel wrote a review Apr 2022
York, United Kingdom1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We weren’t expecting much for the price we paid. Initially pleased on arrival. Staff on reception were very friendly and the room, albeit small, was clean and had good amenities. However the room was very hot, with no air conditioning or fan and the window would only open a few inches so it was very uncomfortable. The walls are also very thin so the combination of hearing outside (with the window needing to be open), being able to hear the neighbours and the ridiculous heat meant we got very little sleep. Also avoid breakfast, it appears to be good value however, despite only being 7 people in the restaurant, it took 45 minutes for a bowl of porridge to be served as ‘no one knew how to make it’. And it tasted awful when it did arrive. The next day we had a full English which was not as described (less food) and really did not taste good. On the second morning we waited 15 minutes for staff to take our order however the two staff available stood at the bar, they had seen us, but were more interested in their phones and in the end we had to go up to order. From looking at other reviews this has been mentioned on numerous occasions and replies say it has been rectified but this is not the case. Appalling customer service which is a shame as the staff in reception were so professional and friendly.
It was a shame that our initial positive reaction was tainted so quickly. It may seem like good value but you are better off spending a bit more money to ensure comfort and curtesy.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t go. Book elsewhere.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at New Inn Motel Hotel
Responded 21 Apr 2022
We are disappointed to learn of your experience here at New Inn Motel Langstone - Hotel, but will take this opportunity to improve. I'd really like the opportunity to turnaround your experience. Please could you get in touch and ask for the manager when you've got a moment. location-email.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah D wrote a review Jan 2020
St Keverne, United Kingdom19 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at the New Inn when we were collecting a new car and we had a very mixed experience. The rooms were warm, clean and comfortable and apart from noisy people coming in early in the morning, which is not the hotel’s fault, that side of things was fine. Our problem was with the breakfast on the Saturday morning. We arrived in the breakfast area at 8.45 am to find no tables laid up, only a few cereal boxes and bread, tired looking croissants and muffins and orange juice laid out for the buffet. No fruit salad, crumpets, jams or marmalade or apple juice as described on the menu, and not even any milk or spoons! When we complained to the waitress she said it was the manager’s decision not to put out these things.She eventually took our hot food order and after a very long wait our lukewarm food arrived. There were only five people in the dining room who all had a very long wait, without apology. After later complaining to a manager we had some money knocked off our bill and a much better experience on the following morning when we had specially prepared fresh fruit as there was no fruit salad, and very large cooked breakfasts presented by the chef! We realise there were not many guests at the weekend, but this experience was not what we have come to expect from a Greene King establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jo Kusak, General Manager at New Inn Motel Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2020
We thank you for your comments and will certainly review the breakfast service we are happy for the comments and hope you come back soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rick P wrote a review Nov 2021
Maidstone, United Kingdom12 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We usually stay at the coldra when we visit my daughter and her family but due to wales playing it was full so settled on the new inn..... at best it's of average standard but it is priced as such so our expectations weren't too high! The room was clean and fresh smelling, bathroom spotless. Bed was a little hard but not uncomfortable. Plus points= good value for money, good location, clean overall
Negative points= breakfast was an absolute disaster, waited nearly an hour for a breakfast sandwich! Which was just about warm... we did get an apology but on the back of "its a bit chaotic" there were at best half a dozen tables taken.... staff, all were lack lustre and not really interested, even had to squeeze past two members of staff sitting on the bottom of the stairs rolling cigarettes for goodness sake!!
I grew up in llanmartin so know the place from being much younger and it hasn't really changed in all those years so looking dated throughout really.
That said, it doesn't deserve a scathing review and I'd be happy to stay again however I'd go elsewhere for breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid breakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Marketing at New Inn Motel Hotel
Responded 24 Nov 2021
thank you for all your comments that we will fully investigate and put actions in place to improve where suggested I would like to think you will return to a better experience kind regards to you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenn O wrote a review Sept 2021
Staffordshire, United Kingdom676 contributions75 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had two rooms on the ground floor. Ours was very spacious, it was intended as a disabled room with a low bed, switches, and plenty of sockets, set low for wheelchair users. The emergency switch and pull cord is on the wrong side of the bed. It should be on the open side, the other side of the bed is very narrow, too narrow for a wheelchair. We were warned of the building works but told that they wouldn't start until around 8am. They were spot on with the time. The meal in the pub was okay, but the staff were very short handed, most off with Covid. So took ages for the drinks to arrive. One member of staff, who also worked in Reception, apologised.
The pub was dirty when we arrived at 7.30pm. Plates and glasses covered almost every table. I had to clean my own table with the barman standing there watching me do it. but this was due to the lack of staff. If we could of gone elsewhere to eat we would of. It was disgusting. I understand about their staff shortages, but for customers to clean their own tables, we weren't the only ones, was not good at all. Overall it was a one night stay as part of the two day trip.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ground floor if cannot manage stairs as no lift. All rooms are quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, Marketing at New Inn Motel Hotel
Responded 28 Oct 2021
very sorry to hear about the poor service we will certainly improve in light of your suggestions thank you for taking the time to tell us
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rch777 wrote a review Aug 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom9 contributions30 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We didnt feel welcome on arrival , we had to call the receptionist ( manageress) twice ! She was on her computer , we’d called ahead and checked we could get room service from the pub on site And was told we could but when we got there the staff confused the hell out of us 😒i ended up leaving my room twice which i didnt want to do due to covid and getting our remote and to collect our food. The manageress was rude and didnt look happy at all , when i complained she ended up walking off !!! Rooms are lovely but the hotel is not ready for covid safety . The staff need to make sure the customers and themselves know how to use the app for greene king and leave instructions in the room , not rocket science really 🤷‍♀️
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jo Kusak, General Manager at New Inn Motel Hotel
Responded 28 Aug 2020
I did explain why I was on the computer and why unable to immediately leave my office. I am sorry you were disappointed and did not agree with the systems we use for every guest at check in to the hotel As promised a full English breakfast was delivered to your room at 07.02 this was guaranteed to be with you as a goodwill gesture the same you refused to answer your door to accept the complimentary meals I can only further apologise that I could not make you happy with your stay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Malcolm L wrote a review Jul 2023
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom20 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here recently whilst attending the George Ezra concert at Chepstow racecourse.

The location is about 20 minutes from Chepstow and about 10 minutes from the motorway to Cardiff. Expected it to be located on a busy road but was pleasantly surprised that this was not the case.

Welcome upon arrival was warm and the lady on the desk was very helpful, especially later on when we needed help to find somewhere to eat as the attached restaurant quoted us an hour and a half wait for food even though I could only count 12 people in the restaurant at the time.

Room was nice, large enough for the two of us. Shower warmed quickly and had plenty of pressure. Only downsides were the lack of sugar for the tea/coffee and the fact the mattress was HARD, to the point that cavemen probably slept on softer furnishings.

Breakfast was another letdown, with limited choice, cheap OJ, overcooked bacon and undercooked tomatoes. Filled a hole I guess.

Overall, nice enough place for a 1 night stay if in the vicinity just eat elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Eat elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Greene King, General Manager at New Inn Motel Hotel
Responded 7 Jul 2023
Hello Malcolmlee1991, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Derek E asked a question Mar 2022
How far from Chepstow
HowardClarke asked a question Feb 2022
Abertillery, United Kingdom33 contributions61 helpful votes
What time does the bar close please?
Answer from David R
1 contribution
Hi it closes at 11pm.
Answer from Jo K
Bristol, United Kingdom2 contributions
Hi Karen, We do have availability for double rooms which are £82.50 per room. Our family room is unavailable but we do have one adjoining room but that would be charged as two rooms. Please do not hesitate to contact us on 01633412426 for any further help. Dot
sioned172 asked a question Oct 2015
Caernarfon, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
How far are you from Newport train station please ?
Joe B wrote a tip Jan 2024
Camberley, United Kingdom2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t bother"
Read full review
Alan G wrote a tip Dec 2023
Bagneres-de-Bigorre, France227 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"worth a stay "
Read full review
EllieNew wrote a tip Dec 2023
Brixham, United Kingdom20 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do ask reception for rubber anti slip mat for shower."
Read full review
Companion786397 wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be nice to the staff and they will go above and beyond for you."
Read full review
mark c wrote a tip Oct 2023
5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newport area.
PRICE RANGE
£57 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
new hotel newport
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NEW INN MOTEL HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about New Inn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to New Inn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Exit60 - Newport Escape Rooms (4.5 miles), Newport Transporter Bridge (4.8 miles), and Caerleon Roman Fortress and Baths (2.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at New Inn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at New Inn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at New Inn Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to New Inn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gem42, Taste of Asia, and Hatti.
Are there any historical sites close to New Inn Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Caerleon Roman Fortress and Baths (2.5 miles), Caerleon Amphitheatre (2.9 miles), and Caerleon Lodge Hill Fort (3.3 miles).
Is New Inn Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Newport HotelsNewport Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NewportHotels near New Inn Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire