Ibis Budget Newport
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ibis Budget Newport

Traveller (103)
room
Room & Suite (40)
If your not up early all the food will be gone.
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#9 of 19 hotels in Newport
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
In line with local government recommendations, we have closed the restaurant in our hotel. Where possible, we are providing room service or grab and go options for guests. Finding an ideal budget friendly hotel in Newport does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Hotel ibis budget Newport, a nice option for travelers like you. Close to some of Newport's most popular landmarks, such as Llanmelin Wood Hillfort (0.9 mi) and The Riverfront Newport (1.0 mi), Hotel ibis budget Newport is a great destination for tourists. Hotel ibis budget Newport is a budget friendly hotel offering a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a desk in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests. The hotel features a 24 hour front desk. Plus, guests can enjoy breakfast, which has made this a popular choice among travelers visiting Newport. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available. During your visit, be sure to check out one of Newport's popular burritos restaurants such as Los Amigos, Parc Pantry Malpas, and Chiquito, all a short distance from Hotel ibis budget Newport. Best of all, Hotel ibis budget Newport makes it easy to experience many great Newport attractions like Chartist Commemorative Sculpture - Union, Prudence, Energy, Stand and Stare, and The Vision of St. Gwynllyw, which are some popular monuments and statues. Hotel ibis budget Newport looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Newport.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Russian

Location

164 Malpas Road, Newport NP20 5PP Wales
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 47 out of 100
47
Bristol Airport
19.8 mi
See all flights
Cardiff-Wales Airport
20.4 mi
See all flights
792Reviews17Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 197
  • 255
  • 193
  • 74
  • 73
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lifebeyond70 wrote a review Feb 2022
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom68 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This Hotel is situated next to the Newport Bye-Pass and convenient for Newport City Centre and Railway Station (Taxi £5).. It is clean and tidy with staff who are only too pleased to help.
The bedroom was very small with a wash basin within the room, although there was a reasonable sized shower. The toilet was small and the actual toilet fitting very low down, making it difficult to use !
Continental breakfast (£6) was available which was quite adequate for our needs
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Ibis Budget Newport
Responded 16 Feb 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for this review of your stay. It's so awesome to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're always working to improve and will definitely be considering your feedback about our bathrooms when we're carrying out our next set of renovations. Thanks for highlighting our staff efforts to make every guest as welcome as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Noemi Alvarez, Ibis Budget Newport
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lambownumber5 wrote a review May 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom1,044 contribution265 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Ok stay for the price (£50), rooms are always clean but personally I find them a bit cold and clinical for my taste. Location is ok if you're just wanting to get straight back onto the M4 in a morning but if you're drawn like a moth to a flame and intent on exploring Newports delights; then the town centre is a 1 mile/ half hours dodgy walk away. The internet provision was decent as was the shower and the breakfast was decent value for the package.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hugh S wrote a review May 2022
Fareham, United Kingdom34 contributions22 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Standard budget hotel, room had the necessary basics and staff were exceptionally friendly. Breakfast was continental and everything ran smoothly. Possibly a bit pricey for a budget hotel considering what you get, the ensuite consisted of a toilet only, the shower and basin were both in the room, so if you're in a twin trying to cut costs you would literally have no privacy to change. But on the whole it was acceptable and as I stated, the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Ibis Budget Newport
Responded 16 May 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback. It's really great to know our team made you feel welcome at our hotel and you found them helpful. We always try to keep our prices competitive, however, they may vary throughout the year depending on special events nearby, occupancy and demand. We hope to see you next time. All the best, Noemi Alvarez, Ibis Budget Newport
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
petejday wrote a review Sept 2020
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom13 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped off in Newport on the way home from North Wales. I searched for somewhere cheap that would allow us to bring our 18 month Labrador. The hotel is next to exit 26 of the M4, but was very quiet. The staff were most welcoming and I can only describe the appearance of the hotel interior as spotless. We asked for an accessible room and were given a fantastic room on the ground floor which would put many more expensive hotels to shame! CoVid restrictions meant that the expected tea and coffee facilities were not in the room but I felt I could live without that. Turns out there is a free "proper coffee" machine in the foyer offering not only a choice of fresh coffee but also about 8 or 10 types of tea and hot chocolate, they even have instant coffee for those who prefer it! The room was well appointed with a TV, desk and spacious double bed, plus a small fold out sofa bed.
As far as cost goes, £37 a night for a room with a very comfortable bed and a fantastic wet room seems too little, oh plus a mere £5for the dog. On the subject of the dog, there is a huge park just over the main road for exercise. About 5 min walk away, towards Cwmbran is a parade of shops with a Tesco mini market as well as fast food offerings.
Would I go again? Hell YES we're planning a visit to Brecon and and other places in that part of Wales, Newport is as good a base as any for that.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wendy F wrote a review Sept 2021
Pontypool, United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed as attending a family wedding in the area. The family expressed concern at my booking and asked me to cancel it. But as was only 1 night did not bother and pleased I didn't. For the very lost cost price for our 'cocoon' twin room we were more than pleasantly surprised.
On arrival the young lady on the desk was welcoming, cheerful and chatty. The room was plenty big enough with a more than adequate shower room and separate toilet. We did not expect tea making facilities but we're happy to find them there. The room was spotlessly clean as was the bedding and towels. The decor was simple but very clean. On arrival back in the early hours of the morning the night staff were equally cheerful and pleasant, and the hotel had a lovely fresh smell of cleaning. There was a flat screen and WiFi. On leaving, the same front of house young lady enquired about our wedding how nice she remembered us. Well done Newport team .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Ibis Budget Newport
Responded 22 Sept 2021
Dear Wendy, Wow! What a great review! We appreciate that you put your trust in our hotel and are delighted everything met your expectations. Our dedicated team members work hard to ensure that every guest has a comfortable and memorable stay, and your kind comments will encourage us to continue with our efforts. We can't wait to see you again. Take care, Noemi Alvarez, Ibis Budget Newport
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Apollya wrote a review Nov 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Ibis budget hotel Newport, or should this actually be renamed HMP Ibis Newport.

If you are thinking about staying here and reading this review, I would advise to find another hotel.

Now for the room details, the shower and wash basin are in the room itself, think like a studio flat, making this room oppressive and feel akin to being incarcerated. The toilet was at least in a separate cupboard and I use the term cupboard as the size would likely not meet HSE regulations for safety in the event of a fire (it is smaller than most toilets under the stairs in homes)

The room itself was incredibly small, you could only just squeeze past the end of the bed to get to the equally small area on the other side, where there was a fixed tiny table (I use the term table loosely it’s more like a shelf) which would not be suitable to work at on a laptop from H&S aspect. The tv was above the shelf and a few coat hangers were next to the bed. There was Artex (the 70’s started 50 years ago) on the walls and ceilings with some kind mint green paint accents, the floor was laminate all walls and floor looked grimy and dirty. The laminate clearly had expired in places, a big visible diving crack where two pieces joined together and others raised at joints.

Then when it comes to a breakfast, after being charged £7+ a day you expect a proper breakfast and more than just a croissant, pastry, piece of toast or cereal. It states breakfast buffet when booking but in fact is a continental buffet. It needs to be made clear at time of booking (show photos of the actual buffet). There was nothing I really wanted on this breakfast buffet and as I felt it was bad value for money, I chose to not eat/drink anything and spoke to reception to arrange a refund for this additional charge (still waiting for action from the hotel manager as the receptionist cannot process any refunds)

I’ll also bring up the cost of the room, charging £90 for this room, plus the additional on top for breakfast is disgusting, I frankly don’t care about supply and demand, there needs to be an upper price cap limit per room per night put on these rooms to set visitor expectations. I am an experienced business traveller and actually have stayed in other many other Accor properties numerous times over the years but never seen anything this bad. I also am an All Accor member but think other chains will be getting my custom in future. At this price point I would usually get a 3-4* hotel in most locations I stay, with exception of city centres of major cities like London. This room in my opinion is a circa £40 room max even when every other hotel is fully booked.

The only positive at all with my stay was that I do have to agree with others that the staff I encountered were all friendly, cheery and as helpful as they can be.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Ibis Budget Newport
Responded 11 Nov 2022
Dear Apollya, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. Although we are pleased that you appreciated our team, we are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We are also sorry that you did not like our rooms as they are standard size/layout for Ibis Budget. Kind regards, Noemi Alvarez, Ibis Budget Newport
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johnnyfastgun wrote a review Jul 2021
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom449 contributions200 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean, quiet with everything you could need and at a very reasonable price too. We would have thought we were the only guests, yet the hotel was full. A slightly higher quality toilet paper would have made it perfect
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Athena S wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I only booked this hotel as I needed a decent (or at least I thought it was) hotel close to HM Passport Office. I've always liked the Accor hotels as it has really nice and clean facilities but now that I've been to Ibis Budget in Newport probably not the best hotels of Accor. I can understand though as you get what you pay. If you just need to stay for a night's sleep it will probably be sufficient.

The location itself is close to the shopping center of Newport and only 3 mins away from HM Office. However, bear in mind that it is next to the fire station. I'm not sure how loud it can get when there's an emergency as we didn't hear anything during our 1-night stay but just wanted to let you know.

It was late when we check-in, but the receptionist is nice and very professional.
Although it was weird because when we ask for 2 extra pillows on our notes, she gave the pillows to us in reception and we had to carry them to the room as apparently, they cant take them in the room? I took it anyway but did not use it. I would think because of the pandemic, you'd be more careful with hygiene and all.

When we got to the room, I was really surprised! Felt like it was a motel.
There are no sleepers which I don't mind but when you walk barefoot in the room, it felt sticky and dirty. The remote control is filthy. Full of dust and so dirty so we didn't use the coffee facilities as well. The toilet bowl is so low even I who is 5ft 1 felt like it was a child's toilet bowl. So I cannot imagine a tall person using the toilet.

So, as I said if you are only going to sleep and then check out the next day, the hotel is okay. However, if you're planning to stay for a few days, best to look for other hotels and invest in a little bit better hotels.

The breakfast is also just a continental breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Ibis Budget Newport
Responded 14 May 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy that you received such a friendly and professional service from our team members. This will encourage us all to continue upholding our standards of customer service. Unfortunately, as a budget hotel, we do not offer sleepers, and we are sorry that you felt your room was not clean. We always want our guests to have the best possible time with us and our front desk is open 24 hours to help with any issues you may have. Please feel free to reach out to us and we would be happy to offer you an alternative room, if available. Nevertheless, we can assure you that we have passed your concerns to our housekeeping team. We are also sorry that you felt that it could get noisy due to the fire station. Best regards, Noemi Alvarez, Ibis Budget Newport
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mincyjc wrote a review Aug 2021
Barnsley, United Kingdom1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms did not get cleaned during stay, when enquired was told by the reception staff that the rooms only get cleaned once in 5 days. Shocked by it. We were staying there with kids and not having the room cleaned for five days was unbelievable. So cancelled the plan to re book the hotel for our next visit
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ellabellae wrote a review Apr 2022
69 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I've only given this a 1 star because you have to rate it something. The 1 star is actually for the really nice receptionist who checked us in and credit to him he was really efficient and went over the top to be helpful and explained everything. Eventually I felt sorry for him when I learnt how awful the hotel actually was!
The hotel outside is by no means appealing, the car park to the rear is dark and very poorly lit, if you were a lone person, arriving in the dark one might feel rather nervous about what was lurking in the shadows shall we say, the area isn't at all delightful either.
I was instantly concerned for the car.
On entering we were greater by the really friendly lone receptionist who as stated was really helpful but instantly there was an awful smell which was likened to the smell of a toilet/gym changing room on a really hot day.
Our room was on the first floor so we took the lift. On exiting the lift on level 1 the smell of urine hit you instantly, the corridor flooring was rubber matting type, old tattered and stained and the doors, paint etc were tired.
Our room left me speechless. I work in the prison system and I can honestly say I've seen accommodation provided to prisoners that is better than our room. It was old, tired, dated, it felt dirty and the toilet in the cupboard just topped it off with no ventilation.

This hotel looks like the type used by the local authorities to house the homeless to help with housing shortages.
As a single woman I wouldn't book it, I would feel unsafe and I certainly wouldn't of stayed if I had been alone.

We didn't have breakfast as despite having it included in our package we were told we would be charged £7.00 each..

I couldn't wait to leave...
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms are really really small, toilet in room was in a small cupboard, not for a bigger person....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Ibis Budget Newport
Responded 27 Apr 2022
Hi Ella, Thanks for letting us know about your stay. Thanks for your kind words about our receptionist, we'll be sure to let him know. We're sorry to read about an unpleasant odour; please let us know there and then if there are any concerns as we want to make things right for you as soon as possible. It seems there was a bit of a mix-up about breakfast and we hope the refund for it has now sorted this out; sorry for any misunderstanding. We're indeed sad to hear that you felt a bit uncertain in the car park, we can assure you it's safe and our team is always on hand if you need a chat or help with anything. Thanks for telling us your thoughts; this is how we continue to improve. Kind Regards, Take care, Noemi Alvarez, Ibis Budget Newport
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly B asked a question Sept 2021
Ruthin, United Kingdom12 contributions27 helpful votes
Is there a train station within walking distance? Looking to go into Cardiff.
Answer from Stephen L
Gosport12 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel is approx. 20 - 25 minute walk from Newport South Wales Railway station. About 1 mile, but allow extra time to walk this route as pedestrian subway under tracks at the station is currently closed for major improvement works, Pedestrians leaving station intending to go North must walk left from station entrance and cross tracks by road bridge then right to walk parallel to tracks to reach far side of closed subway.
Answer from 34nella
Machynlleth, United Kingdom54 contributions54 helpful votes
I don’t think they had either
alisoncalder60 asked a question Jun 2019
Darvel, United Kingdom4 contributions
Is the nearest train station Newport?
Answer from Wilberforce14
Wigmore, United Kingdom43 contributions12 helpful votes
Yes Newport Station is about a mile away, taxi charged us £3 beginning of September
Aya Palima asked a question Jun 2018
Crediton, United Kingdom14 contributions
Are 16/17 year olds aloud to stay without someone who’s 18+?
Edward678 wrote a tip 18 May
Brentwood, United Kingdom121 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware car park ISN'T secured anymore with gate not barrier controlled sadly. "
Read full review
Brian B wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing just amazing.. "
Read full review
Charlotte wrote a tip Jul 2023
8 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring a hair dryer "
Read full review
Olivia L wrote a tip Jun 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take a pillow. "
Read full review
Apollya wrote a tip Nov 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newport area.
PRICE RANGE
£35 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Etap Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IBIS BUDGET NEWPORT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Ibis Budget Newport
Which popular attractions are close to Ibis Budget Newport?
Nearby attractions include No.1 Bar (0.09 miles) and Potters Paints (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ibis Budget Newport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Ibis Budget Newport?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Ibis Budget Newport?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ibis Budget Newport?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ibis Budget Newport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shoboraj, Vanilla Spice, and The Usk Vale Restaurant.
Is Ibis Budget Newport located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Newport.
Are pets allowed at Ibis Budget Newport?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ibis Budget Newport?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Ibis Budget Newport?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Caerleon Roman Fortress and Baths (2.2 miles), Caerleon Amphitheatre (2.0 miles), and Tredegar House (3.0 miles).
Is Ibis Budget Newport accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Newport HotelsNewport Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NewportHotels near Ibis Budget Newport
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire