We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Celtic Springs Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Celtic Springs Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love this place and spent a number of months almost living here. It is the first time I have come across a concept like this. It is a cross between a hotel and a B&B. The rooms are all fitted out to a very high standard like a Marriot for example, but slightly smaller than a standard Marriot room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Awislon
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

Amazing rooms ...lovely receptionist she was very helpful and friendly and helped us with everything we needed the room was spotless looks exactly like the pictures the only thing was that out room was facing a grave yard literally right near the room when standing on the balcony ...apart from from that lovely relaxing break !

Helpful?
Thank CharChancex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2015

My partner and I stayed for a couple of nights a couple of years ago twice, the owners made us feel very welcome. The room was very nice very spacious and a nice big bed, also very quiet. In the morning we had a fantastic breakfast and the chef was very nice and down to earth and chatty which made... More 

Helpful?
Thank julie t
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2015 via mobile

This is a makeshift renovation job with basic services. The accommodation is basic and the facilities are also basic. Close to the dual carriageway so loads of traffic and with views definitely not desirable. Overall an average experience.

Helpful?
Thank Bnaicker
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2015

I stayed at the Celtic Springs for 4 days,First in the downstairs single room for £30.00 per night then 3 days in the double room number 4 for £40.00 per night less discount because I was alone.I found the downstairs room fairly noisy as it is in the front and near the main room.The room was clean and warm the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FSSTrevor
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2014

I stayed at the Celtic Springs Guest House for three nights and it perfectly suited my needs. Accommodating hosts, clean room/en-suite and wi-fi faster than what I have at home. It is undergoing some works, which did not disturb me and it will merit a 5-star rating soon. Excellent value for money.

Helpful?
Thank N C
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2014

Had only planned originally to stay for a few days but actually stayed much longer and found everything really cosy, warm and comfortable. Lovely welcome and very helpful first class service provided in the room ensured that the place was kept spotlessly clean. Please note that the construction work being done outside on the roof didn't affect the comfort of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dee G
Windsor
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2014

The room was clean and warm. I was greeted by a very helpful polite young lady who explained everything I needed to know perfectly. I really just wanted a room for the night between meetings and this was perfectly adequate. Overall it represented excellent value for money and the wifi was greatly appreciated.

Helpful?
Thank Gareth L
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2014

On arrival the premises looked like a building site, grounds overgrown with weeds. Room was very basic, curtain rail hanging off, bedside table lamp shade melted ! Hire in bathroom cabinet, noisy road and could hear other guests snoring and moving. Booking website did not inform there was no breakfast. When we complained the owner rang to say the room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Exchef44
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review please allow me to respond. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations but we did all we could to address your concerns during your stay, but you had formed an opinion upon arrival and I could not alleviated your stance. Firstly on the 19th August after an enquiry... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Dreadful bedding not sure it wasn't used, we found a long hair in the bed (not from us) For attention to detail why put a cloakroom hand basin in a fair sized en suite? Due to inattention when booking did not realise it was room only, only very small confusing print on booking form, did not make it clear that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Xxyzbw
Celtic S, Manager at Celtic Springs Guest House, responded to this review

I am so sorry we did not meet your expectations please allow me to respond to your concerns. When a guest departs a room it is thoroughly cleaned INCLUDING a full change of the bedding, vacuuming and turning of the mattress. I would point out that our other reviews on trip advisor back up our claims of cleanliness and refute... More 

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory
0.1 mi away
The Old Barn Inn
The Old Barn Inn
#1 of 2 in Llanmartin
288 reviews
9.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Milton Hotel
The Milton Hotel
#2 of 2 in Llanwern
66 reviews
2.4 mi away
Celtic Manor Resort
Celtic Manor Resort
#4 of 19 in Newport
4,561 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guest house situated on the main A48 between Newport - Cardiff all rooms en-suite free parking, free internet. Super king size Beds in double rooms great transport links Newport Center 10 mins by Car Cardiff 20 mins. Walking distance to Celtic Springs, Imperial Park, Cleppa Park, Tredegar House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Celtic Springs Guest House

Address: 4 New Buildings Cardiff Road, Newport NP10 8TN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Price Range: £29 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Celtic Springs Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Springs Guest House Newport, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Celtic Springs Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back rooms better than front as fairly noisy road”
 of 5 bubbles FSSTrevor, 20 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Go to another hotel !”
 of 5 bubbles Exchef44, 6 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Stayed in room 4.”
 of 5 bubbles Bonnie1999, 25 Nov 2012 | Read review
“All are good”
 of 5 bubbles levip828, 8 Nov 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay