We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG Wales
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Mercure
US$112
View deal
ZenHotels.com
US$106
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (108)
Room & Suite (52)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 16/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 23 in Swansea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mercure Swansea Hotel is located less than a mile from the M4, walking distance from the Liberty Stadium and only three miles from Swansea city centre, making it the perfect location for shopping trips. With lakes and extensive grounds surrounding the hotel, a short distance from the spectacular Gower Peninsula, Mercure Swansea Hotel is ideal for scenic walks and breathtaking views. Nestled in a quiet location between Cardiff and the stunning West Wales Coast, Swansea close to popular tourist destinations such as Tenby, Brecon Beacons National Park and Botanical Gardens. Mercure Swansea plays host to 119 bedrooms, a relaxing contemporary Bar & Brasserie, Health and Fitness Club and Swimming pool; complementary for all hotel guests, Meetings and Conference rooms, Weddings (Licensed) and fabulous live entertainment. Free on site secured parking and high speed WiFi is also available throughout.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Telephone
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock loyalty benefits
339Reviews33Q+A35Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 125
  • 100
  • 58
  • 25
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
James wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
My son is studying at Uni in Swansea and always stay here. The team are superb and always make you feel at home. Brilliant breakfast. Look forward to staying again next year. Keep doing what you are doing.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
longhaulfromlondon wrote a review 21 May
Teddington, United Kingdom368 contributions553 helpful votes
This wasn a one night stay passing through Swansea. The location is handy if you want to stay out of the city and there is easy access to the M4. The person who checked us in was disinterested and curt, she couldn't get rid of us quickly enough and didn't answer two questions we posed in any way that was satisfactory. One was the location of breakfast and we were told we would find it! The room was tired and run down, (no Accor gold upgrade offered) the beds not great, the bathroom was OK but that was the only saving grace on the room. I discovered all too late that a power point was not working and my phone had failed to charge overnight. Breakfast was just OK, the service a lot more friendly than at reception and the choice was OK but far from freshly cooked, my fried egg was solid, not runny. If passing by again, I think I would try somewhere else, there are other choices in the area for a similar amount of money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Harding-Jones, General Manager at Mercure Swansea
Responded 4 days ago
Dear longhaulfromlondon, Thank you for taking the time to post a review further to your recent stay, and please accept my sincere apologies for the poor service you received, particularly on check in, which is totally unacceptable. The person we employ to check our guests in in there to welcome our guests, and be as helpful as possible, so to hear this comment is very disappointing, and they are not onlt letting you down, but the rest of the team who are here to look after you. Rest assured we will investigate and resolve this matter., along with the poor attention to detail on the breakfast buffet, which should be replenished regularly so as to ensure the food is fresh and presentable. Thank you once again for your comments, it is only with such direct and honest feedback that we can endeavor to improve. Best regards Ian
Read more
Kaz2212 wrote a review 17 May
Great Malvern, United Kingdom33 contributions17 helpful votes
With amazing weather predicted we decided to extend an already planned break to west wales by stopping off in Swansea. We found the hotel a reasonable price compared to other hotels more in the city centre - spacious rooms and an amazingly comfortable bed!!! The children were well catered for as well! We ate in the bar area on the first night as the children wanted space to colour and play family card games and we were still able to eat from the restaurant menu - we all very much enjoyed starters, main, ice cream and a large and delightful cheeseboard! YUM!! Breakfast was amazing! We ate from the extensive hot and cold buffet every morning, but the staff were happy to make food to order too! The kids loved trying out new foods and we really enjoyed taking leisurely time in the restaurant to start our day! We used the pool every day we were there. It is small, but perfect for children as it is not deep. Our 6 year old son learnt to swim a width in the pool and our 9 year old daughter loved the freedom of swimming around on her own. The staff were lovely - made a fuss of our children and very knowledgeable about the menu, hotel and local area. From the hotel we were able to get to the Mumbles by car pretty quickly and also explored various beaches in the Gower, which is further but definitely doable - three cliffs bay was our favourite!! Stunning scenery!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Harding-Jones, General Manager at Mercure Swansea
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kaz2212, Many thanks for your kind and uplifting review, its great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and to get a life changing moment in as well (learning to swim a width definitely qualifies) is brill. I will pass on your kind words to the team, they have all been working under a lot of pressure over the last few weeks, and a positive review is great boost to them all when they are so pushed. Glad to hear you made 3 Cliffs Bay also, its worth the trek, and along with Langland bay (get an ice cream hut there too ) its one of my fav local beaches. Thanks once again for sharing the love, and maybe amazing weather is just what amazing people get when they go away... Best regards Ian
Read more
Sue F wrote a review 11 May
London128 contributions76 helpful votes
This was a 4star hotel once but not anymore. The main reason I think is a shortage of staff or badly trained staff in the restaurant area. I was in a party of 30 who stayed for 4 nights. Dinner on the first 2 nights was poor. After our driver requested an improvement dinner on day 3/4 was acceptable. The self service food stations are tiny. The starters are placed right alongside the desserts (which are often only partly defrosted) therefore it’s inevitable that some guests are accidentally dropping bits of tuna, lettuce etc onto pieces of cake whilst filling their starter plates. If your table is last to be called up for main course there is often nothing left or little left to choose from. Some waitresses are great, others just stare into space & need to be reminded to clear the plates or refill the water jugs. On the plus side the guys behind the bar work very hard as do the staff who clean the rooms. Breakfast was fine but timings are strict due to lack of space if all guests turned up at the same time. Our time for breakfast was 8.30 not great if you are off on a trip a 9.30 There is no lift & officially no porterage although one member of staff did kindly carry some of our suitcases up the stairs. Request a ground floor room if you have mobility issues. If you plan to be out most of the day then overall it’s ok. With a few tweaks it could be so much better. I know it’s easy to complain & most forget to praise, I am aware that it’s extremely hard to find good staff in the hospitality industry, however, this is an honest review which I hope will be helpful
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Harding-Jones, General Manager at Mercure Swansea
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sue, Thank you for your honest review, it is helpful in that it let's us know what we already know, which is that we are working in extremely challenging times post pandemic, doing our very best to give good service, but without enough bodies it is very difficult to do this consistently. Currently despite our best efforts we do not have enough chefs, waiting staff, or housekeepers and continue to interview people for those positions, many of whom sadly plainly don't want a job ! I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your stay, and we will take on board your comments to try and improve our offering. Right now we have 3 choices +:- 1 - Continue to operate as best we can whilst working hard to get more staff on board. 2 Close all evening food outlets and just do B&B as a we cant get enough staff to run dinner as well as we would like. 3 Shut up shop, fill the hotel with government paid for guests and make a lot more money. For now we will continue to work on option 1, and hopefully as time goes by we will find enough people to help us provide the service we always managed to provide pre pandemic, but it is tough, and its tougher still for my guys on the front line who are doing the work of more than 1 person at times Best regards Ian
Read more
nickrutter2016 wrote a review 4 May
Chelmsford, United Kingdom138 contributions64 helpful votes
This is an average hotel for the following reasons; I slept well and the room was large. The floors creak with every step you make. The carpet was grossly stained in the room Some minor black mould to the window frame and bath seals The extractor fan was very noisy and vibrated They allow dogs but don’t make enough effort in cleaning the carpets When I paid the money was taken I was not asked about my stay, no smile, no nothing I hadn’t complained. So - an uneventful stay, indifferent and non descript but needs new carpets and an astute cleaning manager who checks for stains and mould. Investment is required but you cannot fix the flexing and creaking of a poorly designed structural floor, so it will always be deafening for any guest on the ground floor. Location is well away from the seaside in a commercial zone. Its not the Ritz but your not paying for the Ritz, its OK for what you pay
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Stay on the top floor as the floors creak and the doors bang so away from the main staircase.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Harding-Jones, General Manager at Mercure Swansea
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Nick, Thank you for your review, it is a fair reflection on where we are, and we are working on solving these issues but with limited resources in terms of investment after 2 years of pandemic, and staffing levels since we lost a lot of European staff, some things are moving a little slower than we would like. Your feedback will be used constructively so as to move things forward, and please accept my apologies, particularly for the poor service you received on checkout., as we should be asking every guest if they enjoyed their stay, and a smile costs nothing. Thank you for letting us know about these issues. Best regards Ian
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure swansea hotel swansea, ramada swansea, swansea ramada
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesSwansea CountySwansea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Swansea
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Swansea?
Nearby attractions include The Escape Game (0.6 miles), Just Axing - Axe Throwing (0.6 miles), and Swansea Bus Museum & Transport Heritage Centre (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Swansea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Swansea?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Swansea?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Swansea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dylan Thomas, Joe's Ice Cream, and Food By Sean.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Swansea?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Swansea?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mercure Swansea?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mercure Swansea offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Swansea?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dylan Thomas Birthplace (3.3 miles), Neath Abbey (3.7 miles), and Hafod-Morfa Copperworks (0.5 miles).
Does Mercure Swansea have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.