The Flint
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Flint

Living area
Traveller (250)
Room & Suite (150)
The Flint
Videos (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
£128
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#12 of 48 hotels in Belfast
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Say goodbye to the traditional hotel model! We believe that travellers deserve better than £25 buffet breakfasts, extortionate laundry prices, slow patchy wifi and ‘purple carpeted’ restaurants and bars. At the Flint, we provide beautifully designed rooms and the best beds. Plain and simple.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Northern Ireland Tourism.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:SIGN UP AND SAVE 10% OFF ALL FUTURE STAYS

Location

48 Howard Street, Belfast BT1 6PG Northern Ireland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Belfast Intl Airport
12.3 mi
See all flights
Belfast City Airport
Botanic
11 minAnkara Metro
451Reviews25Q+A65Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 336
  • 64
  • 25
  • 9
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Fearless680845 wrote a review Apr 2023
10 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great experience, lovely room, helpful staff and amazing location. It was the perfect size room for a couple of days in the city centre. We made good use of the kitchen. There was a good selection of utensils in the kitchen to use and we appreciated the dishwasher tablets!

We will definitely be returning, we had a great time! Missing it already!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If your planning on using the kitchen, remember the essentials such as salt, pepper, oil as they...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alex Mullan, Marketing at The Flint
Responded 14 Aug 2023
I love your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry for the late response. The next time you visit Belfast, book directly on our website for the best available rates! Thanks again, Alex
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cmcg wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in this hotel for two nights. Room was lovely, very spacious and had everything we needed. Also the breakfast bags were a nice touch.

Only negative I had was regarding the deposit. On arrival we asked if we could pay in full. The receptionist was lovely however asked us to pay a deposit of €100.00 on top of the total of our room rate incase of any damages. We booked through booking.com and it had not mentioned this. We paid the deposit. I work as a duty a manger in a hotel and always strip the beds, empty bins etc for the accommodation staff on check out as I know they can be under pressure.

When we got to the desk to check out, there were two staff members at the desk. Both were very friendly however we did feel embarrassed standing at the reception desk as one of them went up to check the room before our deposit was returned. We had to stand at the desk waiting on the receptionist to come back down from the 4th floor and say that the room was ok. I received the full amount of the deposit back into my account the following day.

I do understand the need to take the deposit, however this should be communicated to the guest when booking the room, not on arrival as we had come on a budget and we could have done with the €100 during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben R, Owner at The Flint
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Hi Cmcg, Thank you for taking the time out to leave a review. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Further to reading your feedback I went onto check booking.com were appropriately showing our terms and conditions and it states a £200 deposit or valid credit card details would be required. An additional courtesy email should have been sent by ourselves following your booking reiterating the deposit or valid credit card details (if valid CC details are supplied a deposit is not taken) - unfortunately as I can not confirm with 100% certainty which room or when you stayed I am unable to confirm for sure that this email was sent to you. We pride ourselves on being the, what I believe to be the most hassle free hotel in Belfast, so I am genuinely sorry that in this situation we fell short of that. Your feedback is invaluable especially as you have experience working as a hotel duty manger, so I would be genuinely keen to hear any further feedback you have - my direct email is ben@theflinthotel.com Kindest Regards, Ben
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Palmtree939 wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
John the receptionist welcomed me kindly into the hotel, provided me with a variety of information regarding my stay making myself and my girlfriend feel very comfortable upon arrival. We had a great night out in Belfast until late in the morning and despite the lateness of our return John was helpful and kind in guiding us to our rooms and conversing with us in a respectful manner regardless of our unruly condition.

Big thanks to him and would highly recommend for all travelers to stop by.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben R, Owner at The Flint
Responded 28 Jan 2020
PalmTree, Thank you for your feedback!! I will be sure to pass on your compliments to John!! From the sounds of it you had a great night in Belfast!! ha Really glad that we were able to help you enjoy your visit!! Many Thanks, Ben
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kjonwinmasterpro wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland242 contributions100 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights at the start of August. We loved this hotel! I’m really fussy about where I stay and the Flint was wonderful. The staff at the front desk were so friendly and helpful - Megan especially went out of her way to reserve us a table in an amazing restaurant (Pizza Punks - go!!) when we couldn’t get a reservation anywhere due to ‘Eat out to Help Out’. She also helped us arrange our parking at the Great Northern Car Park (we paid £24 for 48 hours) and was just generally very friendly and helpful.

Our room was super clean, kitchenette was v handy, we stocked up in asda and had a fridge to keep some milk & other bits fresh. There was a hairdryer in the room and an ironing board, air con, tea and coffee and a few little bathroom toiletries.

The location of the hotel is amazing, we could walk to all the main shops and there are loads of great restaurants within walking distance too.

The final thing is the fact that the price to stay at this hotel is extremely reasonable. I would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben Ringland, Owner at The Flint
Responded 14 Sept 2020
Kjon, Thank you for your great review!! So glad hat you enjoyed your stay with us!! Unfortunately Megan is no longer with the team but I Will be sure to try and get your compliments passed on! Hopefully we will see you again in the near future!! Many Thanks, Ben
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caira O wrote a review Sept 2020
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom45 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at The Flint for two nights in September. Great location and really lovely staff. Room was spacious and clean. The kitchenette is a great touch, especially the pint of milk in the fridge! Beds were really comfy too. Only little thing I would say was there are no plug points near the mirrors so it made it a little difficult to do my hair! Would definitely recommend The Flint to anyone staying in Belfast and really good price for all that you get! I would 100% stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms on the front have much better view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben Ringland, Owner at The Flint
Responded 29 Sept 2020
Hi Caira, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and your feedback!! I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to seeing you again on your net visit!! We having been installing additional mirrors closer to plug sockets so hopefully on your next visit this will be sorted!! :) Many Thanks, Ben
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SamSheppard wrote a review Jan 2020
29 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in was quick, hotels rules were explained. Bedroom was clean and inviting, bathroom was clean and hotel supplied soap, shower cap, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. There was 2 options of shower head, shower itself was very lovely after a busy day. 2 shower towels and 2 hand towels plus floor mat were provided. They also provided a Babyliss hairdryer. Kitchenette was clean, there was instructions on the wall telling you how to operate to microwave oven combi and hob plate. They provided all cutlery, bowls, plates, mugs, drinking glasses, pans etc They also provided dish washing soap, sponge and cloth plus a drying towel. Was provided with a pint of milk in my fridge, was a very nice touch. Bed was very comfy, had a great sleep on both nights. They offer breakfast bags free of charge, I got an apple, orange juice and granola yogurt. Very tasty.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben R, Owner at The Flint
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Sam, Really appreciate the detailed review you have provided!! It fully incapsulates what we do!! Although I wouldn't say we have rules as such, just strongly discourage smoking, damages or loud noises - all perfectly allowed on condition of huge fines and removal from the hotel!!! :) Really glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!! Many Thanks, Ben
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jop wrote a review May 2021
8 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Belfast! They are located within walking distance of most places and the customer service is outstanding. All the staff we encountered were extremely polite and helpful.
The rooms are stunning, they have everything you need and there was very little noise within the hotel - I don’t think we heard a single noise from another room in the 2 nights we stayed which was brilliant as I’m an extremely light sleeper.
I only have good things to say about this place and they even leave a bottle of milk in the fridge.
I wouldn’t hesitate booking again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben Ringland, Owner at The Flint
Responded 3 Aug 2021
Hi Jocmatta, Thank you for taking the time to leave review. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to ensure the noise was kept to a minimum!! Hopefully see you next time you are over! Kind Regards, Ben Ben Ringland Operations Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ceiberman wrote a review Feb 2020
Mountain Ash, United Kingdom23 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in town for a weekend of events at the SSE arena.

We initially picked the Flint based on its central location. Not having visited the city before, this seemed to be a good place to use as a base.

The welcome was warm and friendly. Check-in was hassle free. The room was clean and comfortable; with an unfussy manner that made you feel at home straightaway. Think comfort and convenience more than luxury.

The room comes with its own kitchen facilities (fridge, microwave and dishwasher). This came in handy during the stay as we didn't have to rely on pubs or restaurants the entire time. The complementary real milk in the fridge was a nice touch.

We were right about the location. Even with plenty of free time to explore the city it never felt far from our base.

Would definitely stay again if/when we return to the city.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben Ringland, Owner at The Flint
Responded 16 Apr 2021
Ceiberman, Thank you for taking the time to leave a Review!! I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the location!! Hopefully see you again soon and I promise to be much quicker at responding to your feedback!! :) Many Thanks, Ben
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MelGM wrote a review Feb 2020
Waterford74 contributions81 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Flint is in a period building right in the heart of the city. Rates are superb, the bed is super-comfortable, the room is very sensibly designed as an urban space, underpinned by original flooring and lots of roomspace, kitchenette and a very effective shower. There is a little breakfast bag that you find in the morning with juice, yoghurt, granola and fruit, and there is coffee to brew in room. Smart TV works well and I used my own Netflix account. Couldn't really fault this super property
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben R, Owner at The Flint
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Mel, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and feedback!! I am excited to read that you have enjoyed many of the features we have intensionally focused on - the bed - handmade, the parquet flooring - an incredibly laborious process getting it restored, kitchenette - removing the hassles of staying in a hotel and relying on restaurants and fast food!!! and finally the shower - the best way to get started in the morning!!! Really glad you also enjoyed the little extra - the breakfast bag - we have designed our layout and service for both the traveller and the corporate trying to make work enjoyable and travelling focused on the city!! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!! Many Thanks, Ben
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
workaholicWales wrote a review Jan 2020
Wales36 contributions71 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 3 nights at The Flint in January. The location is great for exploring Belfast. The staff are really helpful with lots of excellent information. The rooms have all the facilities you would want, extremely clean with comfortable beds. The kitchen with cooker, dishwasher and microwave is a great asset. this compensates for not having a bar and restaurant within the hotel. I have no hesitation in recommending The Flint
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ben R, Owner at The Flint
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Workaholic, Thank you for your time in getting a review posted!! Really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to be part of your enjoyment within Belfast!! I am glad that you were able to make use of the kitchen facilities!! We have intentionally not put in a bar or restaurant to that we can encourage people to see all of Belfast!! We look forward to seeing you again the near future! Many Thanks, Ben
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NorthStar67033258412 asked a question Jan 2024
Dublin, Ireland
How much is the parking
Answer from Aileen M
14 contributions2 helpful votes
It's right in the city centre, no car park but public transport good.
Answer from Claire H
Exeter, United Kingdom29 contributions28 helpful votes
Sorry a bit late - Howe we yes it does.
Chris F asked a question Dec 2022
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom24 contributions5 helpful votes
Is there baggage drop?
Answer from hatman521
Los Angeles, California98 contributions55 helpful votes
Yes
Denisenneil asked a question Feb 2022
7 contributions15 helpful votes
Is there an iron and ironing board in the room
Answer from Ben R
Belfast, United Kingdom2 contributions
Hi Denise, Yes, there is an iron and ironing board in each room!
Answer from Gretchen H
Oxnard, California3 contributions
Oh, darn. I didn’t have a car, so I can’t help you with that. Public transportation is really handy
BG T wrote a tip 17 May
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid I heard horror stories from other guests. "
Read full review
Sile S wrote a tip 10 May
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking."
Read full review
Travellingdoc wrote a tip 3 May
London, United Kingdom11,183 contributions716 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel whilst work is going on at ground level"
Read full review
Snowdon123 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Dolgellau, United Kingdom44 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Harlem cafe fabulous breakfast but book. Number 609 bus from city airport. Number 8 to botanical gardens. Bus tour worth the money."
Read full review
Doobles6 wrote a tip Mar 2024
65 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room high up, the views are stunning"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Belfast area.
PRICE RANGE
£104 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandBelfastGolden Mile
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE FLINT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Flint
Which popular attractions are close to The Flint?
Nearby attractions include Timescape - Live Escape Games (0.2 miles), Belfastology Walking Tours (0.2 miles), and Belfast City Hall (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Flint?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, self serve laundry, and breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Flint?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Flint?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Flint?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nu Delhi, Hope Street Restaurant, and The Lantern.
Is The Flint located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Belfast.
Are there any historical sites close to The Flint?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parliament Buildings (4.1 miles), Crumlin Road Gaol (1.0 miles), and Bobby Sands Mural (0.8 miles).
All Belfast HotelsBelfast Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BelfastHotels near The Flint
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire