We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Charlemont Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Charlemont Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 143: English reviews
Hillsborough
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had the good fortune to stay in this hotel last weekend, when it was the hub of a literary festival. The owners and staff could not do enough to help and all the guests, including well-known literary figures and musicians, commented on the great welcome they had been given and the charm of the hotel itself. Well-situated, within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AdelaideHillsborough
n.ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Charlemont Arms hotel was the venue for a large literary festival 3-6 November, and the hotel was full of festival guests, plus numerous others who called in on spec each day to eat. I cannot say enough in praise of this gem of a hotel. It is warm, friendly and family run. The rooms are comfortable, clean, very reasonably...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mollyN_ireland
Charlemont, Owner at Charlemont Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful review, we do hope the festival will return to us next year plus yourself.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Worse hotel I've ever stayed in room was above a bar with a band playing very loud music had to be up and out of hotel at 5.30 i was told music would end at 10pm went and spoke to management at 12pm to complain again about the music i was told if I didn't like it check out now...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine D
Charlemont, Manager at Charlemont Arms Hotel, responded to this review

This is not a true reflection of events on the night in question. You booked a hotel room on 4th August for £59.00 through our website for single occupancy on the night of Friday November 4th. You did not request a quiet room and at no time on arrival did you mention that you had to be up and out...

Belfast
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Called in to this place on a Sunday after taking the mother in law to the cathedral. We tried to take our daughter to the planetarium but it was CLOSED on a Sunday!! The owner spent quite a bit of time chatting with us and brought out a special dessert for our little girl. She was delighted. There were plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank totaltravel1936
warrenpoint
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Called in for our tea last week. There was a good selection. Trying to be healthy we orfered salmon. It was very nice but overall.portion of fish was smaill. Priced at £10.95 which was quite good. Asked what vegetables were, waitress said green beans and carrots. It was served with peas and turnip which was grand. Oveeall nice food. Service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shelly-ann
Bansko, Bulgaria
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Loved the place! There were people playing traditional music, on top of that we had a pile of drinks so definitely loved the place! Would recommend anytime to anyone.If you need a place-that's it! xxx

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KaloyanAngelov
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Hotel very clean and tidy.Had a lovely meal here tonight. Staff very friendly and attentive. Good value for money. Great menu choices. Good central hotel close to shops and other amenities. Good parking close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn T
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night for a wedding. TV didn't work - asked staff to help and they tried but couldn't manage. Didn't offer to move me to another room just apologised. I fixed it in the end! Good central location and free parking. Breakfast ok but have had better. Big room and clean bathroom, bed comfy. Pretty average - get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aileen D
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed for 3 nights and the wedding was also held there. The staff were all vert friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy. The function room where the wedding reception was held was spacious and the bar was well manned for amount of people there. Overall a nice place for our special occasion.This was our first visit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lindylou853
Elburg, The Netherlands
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is in a very good location close to the bus station. Our room was big and spacious, very clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was big with bath and shower. We had a room at the back of the hotel which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nog66

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
0.4 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
510 reviews
6.8 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#1 of 6 in Dungannon
28 reviews
8.6 mi away
Grange Lodge
Grange Lodge
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,329 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dundrum House
Dundrum House
#1 of 14 in Armagh
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
7 Houses
7 Houses
#4 of 14 in Armagh
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Charlemont Arms Hotel is a third generation family run hotel situated in the centre of the historical City of Armagh.The hotel provides guests with the best of both worlds, traditional and modern and it still upholds its old fashioned values of impeccable service, comfort and superb dining.The hotel is perfectly located, situated between the city’s two famous Cathedrals and near the Market Place Theatre. Located in the centre of the town, it is beside the local shopping area which is host to individual boutiques and high street stores. Other visitor attractions within walking distance of the hotel are Armagh Planetarium and Observatory, the Armagh County Museum, the old Armagh Women’s Gaol and the beautiful Mall.Armagh’s two premier golf courses, The Loughgall Country Park and Golf Club and The County Armagh Golf Club are also close to the hotel.The Charlemont Arms Hotel offers a choice of traditional and modern cuisine with The Charlemont Bistro located downstairs, Turner's Bar and The Dining Room. Facilities include 30 spacious ensuite bedrooms, conference facilities and a large function room which caters for all occasions such as Christenings, Weddings and Anniversaries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charlemont Arms Hotel

Address: 57 - 65 Lower English Street, Armagh BT61 7LB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Price Range: £56 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlemont Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Charlemont Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlemont Arms Hotel Armagh, Northern Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Charlemont Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Probably the quietest rooms are at the back as there is a little traffic going by the front door.”
 of 5 bubbles totaltravel1936, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best rooms at the back of the hotel - from room 200 onwards”
 of 5 bubbles nog66, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask about stairs if that's an issue”
 of 5 bubbles 486christineh, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the rear will be quieter when the bars close and traffic passes by the front.”
 of 5 bubbles alhlstnam, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get a room to the rear if you must”
 of 5 bubbles robertbA9064HS, 11 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay