We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Briers Country House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Briers Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 136: English reviews
Start your review of Briers Country House
 Click to rate
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights for a weekend away taking advantage of their Valentines Offer. Really pleased with every aspect of the property, the room was fantastic and very comfortable and Maureen always made sure everything was fine. Breakfasts were also delicious and set us up for the day. Would definitely return :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dav590
cam2634, Guest Relations Manager at Briers Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you had a great time and hope you will visit again soon. Regards Maureen.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed with Maureen as we were at a wedding nearby and the place couldn't have been nicer and staff couldn't have been friendlier. Our friends booked this place and we are very grateful they did. Breakfast was fantastic . Just a shame we didn't book and stay one more night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
Maureen C, Owner at Briers Country House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you soon! : )

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

My partner and I had stayed here in June 2016 having a wedding to attend in Newcastle. My boyfriend had booked a couple of nights in the Briers for my birthday- something which should have been a treat, when in fact I probably should have got a taxi back to Belfast after the wedding. We were so disappointed. My boyfriend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank India B
Maureen C, Owner at Briers Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We did have nearly a whole week of being swamped by flies at that time of year. There was nothing we could do about it apart from keep the windows closed and to use fly spray but unfortunately with the warm weather at that time also, windows would be opened. We believe that this had...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Wow! We stayed here the night before Kathys wedding, and Maureen couldn't have done enough for us at this special time. Her personal touches made this a very enjoyable experience during a very busy mornings preparation. From us all I would like to say thank you for the part you played in Kathys big day. Thank you Mandy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zep75
cam2634, Guest Relations Manager at Briers Country House, responded to this review

I'm so glad you had a great time. It was an hour to look after you all.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Maureen and her staff were so welcoming and extremely helpful throughout the stay. Beautiful setting with fantastic views and still close to town. We were a mixed group of singles and families attending a local wedding and Maureen was great helping us to arrange transport and so on. The staff were friendly and chatty and made a real fuss of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alannaLondon
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My family and i stayed here for 1 night on our trip around northern Ireland. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the breakfast was lovely. We would have been happy to stay more nights but they were fully booked. Also the contact post booking and before checkin was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
cam2634, Guest Relations Manager at Briers Country House, responded to this review

Thank you Mark for your lovely review. I'm glad you had a good time on your stay. Please come again soon.

northern ireland
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We stayed here recently for a weekend in newcastle, after a morning of climbing slieve donard we were warmly welcomed, our room was first class (room 2) , lovely breakfast, would stay here again when visiting!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shields112
cam2634, Guest Relations Manager at Briers Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at The Briers. Please come again soon.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Stayed here with my husband and 2 year old daughter. From start to finish the owner Maureen couldn't do enough for us. She was so helpful and went out of her way to make us feel at home. The bedrooms were excellent with such comfortable beds. Everything was extremely clean and well maintained. The BnB had a lovely seating area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
cam2634, Guest Relations Manager at Briers Country House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so glad you had a wonderful time at The Brier's. Please come again soon. Maureen

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016

This was our second stay at The Briers. The new owner is making amazing improvements. The rooms are being upgraded and new ones added. The breakfast was excellent. We will be booking our third visit very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bandd5960
cam2634, Guest Relations Manager at Briers Country House, responded to this review

Thank You for the great review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at The Brier's. We hope to see you again soon.

Margaret River
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Yes it was probably one of the best breakfasts we found in Ireland. Unfortunately my husband does not eat large breakfasts so this was wasted on him. Room was fine but the shower not very hot and not really all that good in terms of flow. Australians do expect good showers! We probably should have asked for a ground floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MreMargaretRiver
cam2634, Guest Relations Manager at Briers Country House, responded to this review

Thank You for your review, I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast. We will ensure you have a downstairs room during your next stay.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
110 reviews
17.3 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
17.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
20.2 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#3 of 8 in Dundalk
615 reviews
1.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of South Down, our 18th Century Country House provides an excellent base at the foot of the Mourne Mountains whilst still being within easy reach of Newcastle and the many activities it has to offer. Just a 15 minute walk from the town, and less than an hour from the cities of Belfast, Newry and Lisburn, the Briers is in an ideal location for walkers, wedding guests and sight-seers alike. For the more adventurous, we offer a fantastic location to begin to explore the varied terrain around the area, with plenty of outdoor centres to help you on your way, whilst the luxurious seaweed baths and nearby seaside spas offer a less strenuous way to recharge your batteries. Combined with breath-taking views, spacious and comfortable rooms and ever-friendly service, it'll feel like a home from home in no time! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Briers Country House

Address: 39 Middle Tollymore Road, Newcastle BT33 0JJ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Price Range: £84 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Briers Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Briers Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briers Country Hotel
Briers Country House Newcastle, Northern Ireland
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Briers Country House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Briers Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in a deluxe room which have been refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles dav590, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great value for money”
 of 5 bubbles 637MarkB637, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you have luggage ask for ground floor room”
 of 5 bubbles MreMargaretRiver, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in ground floor room - no2 - double & single bed and direct access via patio doors to outside”
 of 5 bubbles 932debbie, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There are some older rooms which have not been refurbished so ask for a deluxe refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles larraine2015, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5