We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Da Vinci's Hotel Derry

15 Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JB Northern Ireland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (226)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (36)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 14 hotels in Derry
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry is the ideal base for sightseeing breaks in the North West of Ireland. Da Vinci’s is located just one mile from Derry City Centre and just a 15 minute walk to the historic Derry City Walls. Da Vinci’s Hotel in Derry can boast of having the largest bedrooms in the city; these 64 bedrooms are contemporary in style and include the fabulous Morrison Suite, Club and Superior bedrooms. In addition to our comfortable hotel accommodation Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry offers all guests complimentary car parking and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the building. On site the newly opened Caterina's is a modern bistro restaurant offering a carefully crafted menu, exceptional service and a good-time feel. Guests can also dine at the award-winning traditional Irish Main Bar at Da Vinci’s Hotel. The Main Bar serves gastro pub food and the opportunity to mingle with the locals and enjoy live music every weekend.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Polish
1,249Review13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 653
  • 346
  • 124
  • 51
  • 75
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
SRodgers wrote a review Mar 2024
Derry, United Kingdom26 contributions13 helpful votes
Booked for Mother’s Day. Website clearly says Sunday carvery at Caterina’s £20.50 for two courses. The large sign outside says Sunday menu £20.50 for two courses. We were charged £25 for two courses. We queried with the server and she said it was £25 for two courses. We didn’t make a fuss but this type of thing is infuriating. Nothing on the website to say extra charge for Mother’s Day. The menu on the website (for £20.50) was the same as we had - Caesar salad and roast dinner/soup and roast dinner. On the upside the staff were exceptionally good. Really excellent service.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Liam7683 wrote a review Jan 2024
Belfast, United Kingdom72 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
Not a bad little hotel situated a few minutes by taxi costs around £5 or a nice walk up the river foyle to the city. The food is second to non can't complain and the bar is stunning with entertainment. The only reason for not giving full stars on the review is the reception front of house a friendly smile goes along way and abit off guidance to guests, not assuming they know breakfast times or were to go for breakfast. Other than that, I would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Maria T wrote a review Jan 2024
Belfast, United Kingdom192 contributions70 helpful votes
Due to the weather, I was unable to travel and chose to stay in Derry for the evening. Great price for a large room which was impeccably clean, modern and fresh. Staff were professional and polite. Unfortunately arrived too late to have dinner but I'll definitely go back again to try it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Free parking also
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zara Clarke, Other at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Responded 24 Jan 2024
Dear Maria T, We're thrilled to hear that you had a great experience at Da Vinci's Hotel. Providing excellent service, creating a spotless environment and a welcoming atmosphere are our top priorities. We're glad to know that our team exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city and particularly our beautiful bistro, Caterina's. Kindest Regards, Zara Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Blakey D wrote a review Dec 2023
Belfast, United Kingdom80 contributions40 helpful votes
Just stayed here for 1 night (family of 5) room 206. This was our first time staying at this hotel and it will not be the last. Our room was really nice, think it was one of the upgraded rooms, spotless and had everything you needed for our 3 boys. Every staff member was really nice and had food on their bistro and was one of the nicest steak and chips iv ever had. Big up to chefs they did a great job. The breakfast was so good, just couple wee minor things at table such as tea spoon and side plates missing but wasn't an issue. This is a wee gem for families and couples alike and I cannot wait to come back and visit in the new year. Well done everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It's wee bit of a walk to main shopping area so car is better but apparently there's a bus...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zara Clarke, Other at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Responded 24 Jan 2024
Dear blakeyd2014, We're thrilled to hear that you had an amazing experience at Da Vinci's Hotel. Providing excellent service, creating a spotless environment and a welcoming atmosphere are our top priorities. We're glad to know that our team exceeded your expectations. We are pleased that you had such a great time in our beautiful Bistro, Caterina's, we pride ourselves on our wonderful, locally sourced menu. I will certainly pass on your kind words to our chefs. Thank you for your feedback on our breakfast service and will strive to improve this moving forward. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city. Kindest Regards, Zara Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kelly T wrote a review Dec 2023
N. Ireland2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed here during Halloween break; 2 adults and 2 kids aged 9 & 6. On booking via telephone at reception we were recommended the self contained self catering suite due to its large size. It Is advertised suitable for 2 adults and 2 kids or 3 adults. On entering the first ‘suite’ I was met by a beautiful bright room, clearly recently upgraded, however it was freezing. So much so, on inspection of the windows you could fit your hand in the gap along 50% of the frame. The light curtain was actually blowing in the wind. I called reception & requested a room change and there kindly agreed. They did t take me up on my offer though to come see it for themselves. I waited approx 1 hour to be notified of the new room, opposite the first. I was given the new keys & left to move myself whilst wrestling all the luggage. Hubby was entertaining the kids in the party room. Sadly the 2nd key for the room didn’t work, however after 2 further discussions, reception staff were kind enough to accept it was a problem with the door & not me/key. Eventually I got into the 2nd room & it was definitely warmer. BUT the window here didn’t have a handle any longer so it was secured shut permanently. This really shocked me. Surely this is not with fire and safety standards. I begrudgingly let it go and enjoyed the remainder of our evening down town. The bus is directly outside so it’s handy getting into town. Come bed time it was clearly not okay x 1 super king bed + 1 single sofa bed = 2 sweaty parents with a 9 year old in the middle. Not ideal, and not what I thought I was paying for. If you advertise a room for 4 persons, please be clear! Otherwise, the main corridors on the ground floor look like a stag/hen party has just left the building, very unclean & unkept. Yes you may be in process of an upgrade, but there is NO excuse for dirt and grim on all glass/doors/handles everywhere. On a positive note, your staff are fabulous- the best in fact and I actually told them I felt sorry for them working somewhere so badly resourced & unkept. Before you ask, I did share this feedback at reception during my stay, again at checking out and again when requested via emailed survey, however I didn’t receive any response/feedback. I would not recommend and I will not be back. Tip: spend your money elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Zara Clarke, Other at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Responded 24 Jan 2024
Dear KittyCat24, Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience at Da Vinci's Hotel, I am truly sorry that it was so disappointing. I'm so glad to hear that our staff were 'fabulous' on your stay, we pride ourselves on our customer service. The experience you've described falls way short of the high standards we set for ourselves and I apologise that we failed to deliver on this occasion. We take on board all of the issues you have highlighted and assure you that they will be a much considered part in helping us to do better in the future. Once again my sincere apologies for the poor experience. Kindest regards, Zara Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
marianne hegarty wrote a review Nov 2023
Lifford, Ireland70 contributions61 helpful votes
Stayed over for one night B&B& Dinner as we we’re going to a concert in Derry .The receptionist was very helpful and friendly our room on the second floor was fabulous really big and bright with a beautiful bathroom the bed was very comfortable and everything was spotless we had booked our dinner in the bistro and it was absolutely amazing the quality of the food was second to none lovely wine list and the service was great I would highly recommend eating there and great value for money I could not fault anything about this Hotel we will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Zara Clarke, Other at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Responded 24 Jan 2024
Dear rosebankl, We're thrilled to hear that you had an amazing experience at Da Vinci's Hotel! Providing excellent service, creating a spotless environment and a welcoming atmosphere are our top priorities. We're glad to know that our team exceeded your expectations, especially our reception team. We are pleased that you had such a great time in our beautiful Bistro, Caterina's, we pride ourselves on our excellent wine list and wonderful, locally sourced menu. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city. Kindest Regards, Zara Operations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mr_Toto44 wrote a review Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom49 contributions93 helpful votes
The site is in a poor location. Not near to any of the city attractions. It's basically a car park on the side of a main road. The building is old and looking tired. As are the rooms. Some low quality tv brand walker. Never heard of them. Bed hard and lumpy. Pillows hard and uncomfortable. Unbranded iron leaked water all over my clothes. Not enough plug sockets in room. None by the bed so unable to charge phone at night. I would never choose to stay here again. Can't wait to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Olga HeNRY, General Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Responded 22 Nov 2023
Dear Mr Toto, We are sad to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at the hotel and it's unfortunate to hear you wanted to leave. We are currently undergoing a refurb in our bedrooms with an estimated completion date of March 2024. In terms of our location, sadly we can't help where we are based in the city and our car park is a great feature for guests as it is free to use. We are located 1 mile from the Derry Walls, a short scenic 15 minute walk along the quay by the Foyle River will bring you to all the attractions. We take all feedback on board to improve for the future. Kind regards, Aaron
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ronan R wrote a review Oct 2023
Cork, Ireland3 contributions3 helpful votes
From the moment we arrived Da Vinci's hotel was exceptional. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and responsive. The room was beautifully spacious and comfortable and we had everything we could possibly want therein. The restaurant was outstanding, with superb food, a fantastic selection and perfect service. We enjoyed meals there on two of our three nights and would recommend it to anyone coming to (or already in) Derry. The bed was comfortable and our sleep was undisturbed. The housekeeping staff were cheerful, helpful, thorough and efficient and the breakfast was second to none. Our only complaint is that we couldn't extend our stay. We recommend this hotel to anyone looking for quality, comfort and value for money in Derry. We'll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olga HeNRY, General Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Responded 20 Oct 2023
Hi Ronan, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, we are over the moon that you think we are the no.1 hotel in Derry City, that's amazing! We are pleased you enjoyed the food in our bar and restaurant and had a comfortable nights sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back through our doors again in the future. Kind regards, Aaron
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
wirevixen wrote a review Oct 2023
Warrington, United Kingdom18 contributions4 helpful votes
We has a wonderful time at the hotel, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. The food in the bar and restaurant was cooked perfectly, we would recommend the hotel to our friends and family if we visit derry again we will book again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Olga HeNRY, General Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Responded 20 Oct 2023
Hi There, Thank you for you lovely feedback, we are happy that you were pleased with our services across the hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future and welcome you back through our doors. Kind regards, Aaron
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TwoHappyTravellers55 wrote a review Sept 2023
Newcastle, United Kingdom75 contributions31 helpful votes
Hotel itself is grand but it's hospitality services let's it down. Breakfast on first day was poor, no juice glasses, no cereal bowls, no milk, no fruit salad, no plate for toast! All arrived after multiple requests from service staff but we chased it! Booked for bistro - early as Ireland rugby match was on and wanted a seat in the bar. Placed order and after considerable delay discovered the waiter hadn't submitted it to kitchen! Another wait and promise of complimentary drink "when we needed it". Waiter never approached us again. We paid bill in full! No seats for rugby match - night plans ruined. Next morning at breakfast had to chase waitress for breakfast tea. The hotel is fine, bar was fine - it's just it's catering staff needs to catch up. We did submit review to hotel direct before posting this - but sadly no response.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Olga HeNRY, General Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Responded 20 Oct 2023
Hi There, Thank you for your feedback and review, we are sad to read that you weren't pleased with your experience. We can only apologise for this and make you aware that this isn't are usual standard of service. I will pass your feedback on to our restaurant and operations managers so we can improve for the future. We don't hold seating in the bar, we operate on a first come first serve basis and when the rugby is on, seats are taken hours before the match by locals. Again, we sincerely apologise for this negative experience and if you would like to discuss it further please call the hotel and ask for a manager. Kind regards, Aaron
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Derry area.
PRICE RANGE
£89 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada derry, derry ramada
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Quality Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomNorthern IrelandCounty LondonderryDerry
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DA VINCI'S HOTEL DERRY - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Which popular attractions are close to Da Vinci's Hotel Derry?
Nearby attractions include Walled city Londonderry (0.6 miles), Brunswick Moviebowl (0.4 miles), and Shantallow House (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Da Vinci's Hotel Derry?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pyke 'N' Pommes (POD), Timberquay, and Daly's Bar & Bistro.
Are any cleaning services offered at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Da Vinci's Hotel Derry offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Da Vinci's Hotel Derry?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Grianan Of Aileach (4.6 miles), Shipquay Gate (1.3 miles), and The Apprentice Boys Memorial Hall (1.4 miles).
Is Da Vinci's Hotel Derry accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.