We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Skene House Whitehall

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Skene House Whitehall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

713 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 646: English reviews
Start your review of Skene House Whitehall
 Click to rate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Seriously, check out the photo 😂 I guess it's perfect if you want to build a pillow fort and watch a movie from it?.. Or pass out drunk on the floor?.. ;) Otherwise the place was OK. Smelled a bit sweaty when we came in, but we aired it out. There's a sofa on wheels right up against a glass...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodieMEdinburgh
SkeneHouse, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Skene House Whitehall. Your comments are very much appreciated, as they are one of the best tools we have for maintaining our high standards of guest comfort and satisfaction. I was disappointed to read that we were unable to completely fulfil our “service promise” to you, but with your...

Arbroath, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed on an overnight. Clean comfortable and all you need. Welcoming staff and pleasant extras such as coffee, tea and bar. Breakfast was fine with food brought out when stocks are low. Fruit was a bit tarnished as out too long.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. We were very pleased to read that we were able to provide everything to make your stay a comfortable one. Please accept my apologies the the fruit wasn't at its best. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon. Kind regards Piotr Wyrzykowski...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Again, I hate using such extreme exaggeration but this hotel is well-deserved. I was astounded by how comprehensive the facilities provided by the hotel. It is very helpful that there is a laundry I could use and nice kitchen that I could cook my own meal, and comfortable bed, lounge room, and bathtub. Needless to say I got the biggest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GilbertQi
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review of your time at Skene House Whitehall. We were delighted that you enjoyed everything so much. We aim to provide a home from home so it's great that we seem to have provided this for you. Thank you again and hopefully we will be able to welcome you...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was perfect for what we needed. Good location for the city with smoke parking. Ada was very welcoming when we arrived and explained everything to us. Our room was much bigger than I expected with everything you could need in the kitchen, a good sized lounge and bedroom. The toiletries were nice and the bathroom had a good powerful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaggim
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Skene House Whitehall. I was delighted to read that you were happy with your stay. You mentioned that the apartment décor did not meet your requirements however if you had let us know when you checked in, we would have been delighted to find you one that did. Also...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been here many times over the last few years, have always found it very good. However on this visit was let down on two occasions by lack of hot water. Would have mentioned it at Reception (who are very helpful) but we were in a hurry to leave. Also used to enjoy Continental Breakfast, but this now has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at Skene House Whitehall. Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the inconvenience with lack of hot water. It was upsetting to read. Again, it was disappointing to read your feedback regarding our breakfast pricing. I was pleased to read your positive comments about the staff....

Nairn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been going to Skene House for a few years now since our daughter started Aberdeen University. It provides flat type accommodation with a small lounge, kitchen and bathroom with varying numbers of bedrooms. The complex is small enough to be really friendly and yet big enough to provide privacy. The staff are great as is the breakfast. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry G
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It's always good to hear from regular guests and I love your comment about being small enough to be friendly and large enough for privacy. Our team were also delighted to read your comments. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards Piotr Wyrzykowski Assistant Manager

Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room is spacious with a lounge and kitchenette area. Everything was clean and we had a comfortable stay. There is free parking at the back. The staff were very friendly and helpful when we checked in and the hotel is a short walking distance to restaurants and shops.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sofia R
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time here and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Piotr Wyrzykowski Assistant Manager

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying here in April 2017. An excellent value break with very well maintained accommodation. The rooms are well presented and very clean. Lovely breakfast and a complimentary drink with our stay. So much better than a hotel with room to move beyond your room. Excellent location. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lenster57
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Skene House Whitehall. We were delighted that you enjoyed your time here so much. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Piotr Wyrzykowski Assistant Manager

Kinross
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We must've got Whitehall on a bad day! Based on my stay I'd say it's just ok. We checked in without any problems and showing to our apartment. The bedrooms are a good size. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need for a short stay. The lounge area lacks any character and just feels like it needs a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Strond10a
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Skene House Whitehall. Please accept my apologies that you did not experience our usual high standards of customer service. It certainly does seem as if we let you down on this occasion. I would like to discuss this with you further, could you please contact me on piotr.wyrzykowski@skene-house.co.uk? Again,...

Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We have stayed at Skene House Rosemount twice. Both stays were entirely satisfactory. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. They made check in a breeze. We had a two bedroom apartment once and a one bedroom once . In both cases the apartments was roomy, clean and all appliances worked. The kitchens were well equipped all appliances worked as expected....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JTally
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your time at Skene House. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed both of your stays with us and found the suites clean and spacious. I believe there may be some confusion over which site you stayed at. While we do have three sites in Aberdeen and one of them...

464 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (318)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (135)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (126)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
1,876 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: £61 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Skene House Whitehall staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Canton OH
Uddingston, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Atlanta, Georgia
3 months ago
Shelley, Idaho

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Skene House Whitehall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in suite 10 and it is well-established with a bedroom, a lounge, a bathroom, a kitchen and a guest room.”
GilbertQi, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor the best, reflected in price.”
johnrA4566QC, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Apartment 10 first floor.”
johnrA4566QC, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No elevators, so try to get on floor 0 or 1.”
breichert, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was so thankful I had a spare bed I could steal the duvet from. I didn't sleep at all the first night.”
CheryllDrew, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
CheapTickets
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates