The Carmelite Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Carmelite Hotel

Stirling Street Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU Scotland
Traveller (12)
Panorama at the Carmelite
360
Panoramas (10)
Bathroom (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#47 of 56 hotels in Aberdeen
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Carmelite is neatly positioned in the centre of Aberdeen's Merchant Quarter, which is adjacent to the transport hub of rail, bus, coach stations and harbour. The Merchant Quarter is the "grown up" area of the city, full of independent bars and restaurants, and surrounded by the city's 5 under-cover retail shopping centres. An historical Grade B listed building dating back to mid 1800's, Carmelite has undergone major refurbishment program over recent years, introducing a boutique environment on the ground floor of Carmelite Bar & Grill, whilst the 50 bedrooms offer a mix of "Designer" Suites and rooms on the 1st floor, "Dapper" rooms refurbished end of 2012, on the 2nd floor and comfortable standard rooms on the 3rd floor. These enable attractive rates to suit all budgets. Aberdeen is a commercial city, with limited accommodation mid-week, however weekends offer some fantastic deals making an alternative visitor experience very affordable. The 6 Suites are all different, and very quirky - from round beds in turrets, and gigantic sleigh beds, all designer rooms have cast iron baths, monsoon showers. The "Dapper" rooms have un-cluttered designs with a mix of large monsoon shower rooms, double ended steel baths (some designed with 'no taps'), and black-out window blinds. All the bespoke furniture in these rooms were made by A social Enterprise Company in Dundee, called Dovetail. The 3rd floor standard rooms, although not yet refurbished, offer clean, comfortable accommodation, still with all the usual amenities. All rooms have luxury beds made locally by Social Enterprise Aberdeen Company called Glencraft. Designer "Anatomicals" or "Keiji" bath products, 32/40" LED Samsung Freeview TVs, as well as clocks, iPhone docking stations, tea/coffee making facilities, and most rooms with iron and ironing boards. A room service menu is available during restaurant times.The ground floor also is a boutique environment, quirky with a large open plan lounge and dining area, with informal comfy sofas, a Baby Grand Piano playing at weekends, and a dining 4 Poster Bed. The comprehensive bar menu offers superb cocktails, 12 champagnes, and extensive wine and drinks as well as a bar nibbles food options. Menus cover breakfast and brunch from a "Wake Up till Noon" menu, then an A'la Carte "All Day Menu" available from 12noon through till dinner. There is a Shoppers Menu available till 5pm each day with £8 main courses, and a Market Menu options each evening. There are two event rooms, Library and Balmoral for delegates up to 120, private dining to 50 diners, and Mad Hatter Tea Parties from 20 people. Intoxicating Afternoon Teas are a specialty, as well as Rock & Roll Parties in the 4 Poster Bed. Free wi-fi is available throughout the building, with a PC available for guests' use in the library.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish

Location

Stirling Street Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU Scotland
34Reviews0Q+A2Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 4
  • 0
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ruby s wrote a review Sept 2020
Watford, United Kingdom10 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the hotel for a night on our way to to the Highlands. We stayed in The Best Suite which was huge! The bathroom was amazing especially the bath tub and the room was lovely. We had our daughter staying too and an extra bed had been made up with added extras as slippers and gown and a beautiful basket with lots of treats she loved it! The fridge was fully stocked and a lovely breakfast tray all set up on the table. The hotel itself has a great deal
of charm and feels very spacious a great location right in the centre and not too far from the beach. You can see that some parts of the hotel are going through refurbishment but this didn’t effect our stay. The staff were really friendly and welcoming and I would not hesitate in recommending a stay at this lovely hotel to anyone. We can’t wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elaine Beyaz, General Manager at The Carmelite Hotel
Responded 3 Nov 2020
Thank you for your wonderful review, glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. The Best suite is one of 6 suites - all of which areas good as each other in their own ways - next time try the Japanese - one of my personal favorites. Hope to see you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith T wrote a review Jul 2021
Chertsey, United Kingdom104 contributions145 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's always tricky to rate a 3 star hotel, as clearly there are differences when you compare it to a 5 star one, and so my rating is based on what I would reasonably expect from such a hotel. For a good rating, I would expect good friendly service, a clean comfortable room and a reasonable location. So this hotel gets an excellent rating from me - the staff were great and provided service levels above my expectations, the room was comfortable and clean and the location was absolutely perfect for a couple of days in Aberdeen. It is close to some fantastic bars and restaurants, and all the main architectural sights and the beach are within easy walking distance. Furthermore, it's minutes from the railway station, and probably just 1 minute from the bus station to get the 727 airport bus. Amazing value too - as Best Western rewards members we took up the offer of free breakfast - delicious bacon and sausage bap and coffee, a great start to the day!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elaine Beyaz, General Manager at The Carmelite Hotel
Responded 3 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for your kind words, after such a tough year for everyone its wonderful to read such positive reviews and certainly helps keep the staff moral going. We are slowly seeing a sense of "normality" and hopeful to get our live music back on in the restaurant before long which will give the down stairs a bit more atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back to Carmelite.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kaybay2018 wrote a review Feb 2020
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Long weekend away for a friends birthday. The friendly receptionist who gave us our rooms close together (as requested) catered to our every need. Clean comfortable rooms all very unique with a spacious bathroom. The breakfast was delicious with lots of choice even for the Vegan and Gluten Free amongst us. Hotel itself was very good value for money and is in a great location with lots to see and do. So handy for the restaurants and pubs so didn’t have to worry about getting taxis. We had such a lovely time away and the hotel was the icing on the cake. Will definitely be staying again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Just email the hotel before your visit and tell them what the occasion is and they will...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elaine Beyaz, General Manager at The Carmelite Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2020
We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shona D wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel from the outside, bar, restaurant and even the rooms looked good, and then as I was unpacking I first noticed a lump of hair on the drain, then dried pee stains on the toilet, hairs on the bath and a very questionable stain on the outside of the duvet cover! I went down to reception because the phone provided for contacting room service battery was flat. There was wedding guests at check in so eventually when a member of staff asked if everything was ok I discreetly mentioned that our room was filthy, she said she would get a cleaner right up.... After waiting 20 mins and finally sending a WhatsApp message to room service with no answer we also phoned and left a message! I had to start getting ready as we had reservations for dinner elsewhere, I didn't want to go into the shower incase someone came up so there I was hanging over the bath 46 yrs and back not in the best condition washing my hair with the shower, My husband pointed out the flaws and the questionable stain on sheets. He offered us a smaller room, I had already paid for the room at the time of booking, I said no if they could just get it cleaned asap, he asked what time we were going out I said in an hour or so, so he told us to tell him when we left and he would get the room cleaned! 20 mins later a cleaning supervisor came in, cleaned the bits of the room we had mentioned and changed the bed. We quickly got ready no shower no time and left for dinner. When we got back and into bed every spring in the bed was felt,.so an utterly sleepless night was had!. A room not getting cleaned is bad enough in normal times a room not getting cleaned during a covid19 pandemic Is utterly disgraceful! Like everyone else in the world we had not been out in over a year, was so looking forward to getting away for the night to celebrate our belated 10th wedding anniversary which was in Feb and couldn't because of lockdown but the night was ruined.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elaine Beyaz, General Manager at The Carmelite Hotel
Responded 31 Jan 2022
Thank you for your review, I can only apologise for the issues you encountered, in order for me to investigate further could you please provide me with a date of stay as we have not had a wedding for a good few months so difficult to ascertain when this occurred.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tasha M wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve stayed in this hotel several times over the years with husband and have always loved it! This time, I decided to book for a girly night with my 7yr old daughter. I chose the laundry suite. On arrival, our room was ready a little earlier which was great as my daughter was so excited to see the room. It met all her expectations and more! A lovely little surprise was waiting for her (hamper full of sweets and treats!) which she delighted about! As well as her favourite drinks in the fridge (fruit shoots!)

As always, the suite was spotless and the fire had been left on for us so was lovely and cosy. My wee one had the “best bath ever”, she could not wait to have a dip. I forgot to bring toiletries but luckily, the room was fully stocked with everything we needed

Staff were were extremely attentive and so very polite! Even my daughter noticed this and commented “the man is so nice!”

Breakfast was fantastic! Lots of variety. My daughter struggled to chose but nothing was too much trouble! The gentleman brought out all the cereal they had for her to chose from and allowed her to have a couple of the other things she liked too. To my surprise, she ate the lot!

What more can I say? From start to Finnish, our stay was just fantastic and I couldn’t have asked for anything more. Definitely made some lovely memories and my daughter can not wait to come back, and we most definitely will be.

Thank you to all the staff involved in making our stay such an enjoyable one!

Until next time….
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elaine Beyaz, General Manager at The Carmelite Hotel
Responded 16 Jul 2021
Fantastic to read we made your stay so pleasurable & our little extra touches in the suites were well received. its always great to hear such positive feedback about the staff & service. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tajsurfer wrote a review Feb 2020
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom190 contributions232 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
An old traditional hotel ruined and overpriced

This venue was once a great property know as the Imperial Hotel. it had a proper reception area, bar and restaurant. Today it is a mismatch of uncertainty in an effort to be trendy. Sadly it is a massive. The current management do not seem to understand the basics of customer service. I regret giving this establishment a second chance. The room I stayed in was not good value for the price paid. It hadn't been cleaned properly. The breakfast was only average and the service at dinner was terrible. The new management should take a leave out of The Rox as an example of how to transform and run a mature property
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elaine Beyaz, General Manager at The Carmelite Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Thank you for your comments, as noted in your review we have recently taken over the property and are in the process of making some changes, both in investment terms and procedural. I can only apologise for not meeting your expectations and hope that over the next few weeks we can tackle most of the issues you have identified above.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah M wrote a review Jun 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Carmelite Hotel exceeded every expectation - the room was clean and well-lit; the bed was comfortable, but what was a standout about the place was the unparalleled service provided by the staff. Check-in went smoothly, and when we needed something extra Daniel went out of his way to understand and anticipate our needs, providing helpful suggestions along the way. We enjoyed a fine meal in the hotel restaurant, and couldn't ask for anything more. Thanks, Carmelite, for a wonderful night in Aberdeen!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elaine Beyaz, General Manager at The Carmelite Hotel
Responded 30 Jun 2021
Many thanks for your lovely review, great to read & we hope we can welcome you back very soon,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AbClare wrote a review Mar 2020
Aberdeen, United Kingdom567 contributions184 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Located very centrally, Carmelite is a great venue. Most recently we had dinner and drinks. Food is usually very good and staff are friendly and welcoming, particularly those that have been there through the years. Somewhere I keep coming back to.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie M wrote a review Jul 2021
Aberdeen, United Kingdom13 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Carmelite on 2nd July in the Cabanel Suite. The room was gorgeous, a little tired maybe, but then we all are after a year of lockdown. There was a fab box of complimentary snacks and juices in the fridge. The circular bed was really comfy and I loved the roll-top bath in the room. My husband liked the double shower. The staff at check-in, the bar and at breakfast were very friendly, upbeat and attentive to our needs. My omelette for breakfast was very tasty. The staff are a real asset to the hotel! We will definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elaine Beyaz, General Manager at The Carmelite Hotel
Responded 16 Jul 2021
Than you for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do have a plan to smarten up the Cabanel over the next few months, just waiting for final quotes and such but will be sure to keep the overall original theme. Fantastic to read your comments about the staff & I will ensure these are passed on to the team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iankennaway wrote a review Jun 2021
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First time back in nearly 2 years and it’s great to be back at the carmelite again.

Great to see familiar faces again
Alan was first class remembering our first names and what we drank excellent 👍 service.
Rooms spotless and clean
Breakfast
The chef had just started back and we had a full freshly cooked breakfast again excellent food and service.
If anyone is coming to Aberdeen for a weekend for shopping and drinking, the hotel is perfectly located 2 min from union square and 2 min from union street 👍

Can’t wait to come back up again
Well done and great to see you all again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Elaine Beyaz, General Manager at The Carmelite Hotel
Responded 21 Jun 2021
Thank you so much for your kind comments, its great to see familiar faces from the past too, always a pleasure to welcome your wife back - see you again soon no doubt.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Anne Anderson wrote a tip Jun 2021
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No on street parking but multi storey 2mins away"
Read full review
kaybay2018 wrote a tip Feb 2020
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just email the hotel before your visit and tell them what the occasion is and they will accommodate you accordingly."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Aberdeen area.
PRICE RANGE
£89 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
carmelite hotel aberdeen
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandAberdeenshireAberdeen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CARMELITE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Carmelite Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Carmelite Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Aberdeen Maritime Museum (0.1 miles), The Tolbooth Museum (0.2 miles), and Aberdeen Art Gallery (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Carmelite Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Carmelite Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Carmelite Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Carmelite Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monsoona Healthy Indian Cuisine, Triplekirks, and Revolution Aberdeen.
Is The Carmelite Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Aberdeen.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Carmelite Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Carmelite Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Machar's Cathedral (1.6 miles), The Tolbooth Museum (0.2 miles), and Provost Skene's House (0.2 miles).
Is The Carmelite Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Aberdeen HotelsAberdeen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AberdeenHotels near The Carmelite Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire