We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ban-Car Hotel

Main Road Lonmay, Fraserburgh AB43 8RL Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (16)
Dining (10)
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 5 B&Bs in Fraserburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Lovely character hotel with an up to date touch. Family run and owned since 2000. Bar / Restaurant / Function Suite / Accommodation. Specialise in Weddings and large party meals and dances. Lunches served Thur to Sun - 12 til 2pm / Evening meals served Mon - Sun 5 til 8.30pm, 7.30pm on a Sunday. Our Sunday Carvery is very popular therefore booking is essential. Afternoon Teas are served from 12 til 4pm Thur to Sun, again booking is essential. Good friendly atmosphere throughout.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Bowling
Golf course
Hiking
Windsurfing
Aerobics offsite
Bowling offsite
Darts
Fishing
Patio
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
203Reviews0Q+A25Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 135
  • 39
  • 16
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Attila wrote a review Mar 2024
Stamford, United Kingdom274 contributions66 helpful votes
I have been in this hotel from Monday -Friday , To be honest perfect for me , just what I need , quite room , big patio door , big room , big bathroom with big shower , I met with the staff when I checked in , but this is what I need , I am in my own world Monday -Friday lol , really clean , thank you very much guys I really appreciate it , Love the place ,
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Gibbins, Owner at Ban-Car Hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2024
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Glad you had a relaxing stay. Hopefully see you again soon. Tina x
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laura M wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Family of 4 travelling - 2 young kids aged 9 and 4. Clean, tidy, warm welcome, great size family room with everything we needed. Good check in / out time and lovely quiet location but still so close to centre. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Gibbins, Owner at Ban-Car Hotel
Responded 5 Jan 2024
Many thanks for your lovely review, it very much appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ken M wrote a review Dec 2023
Inverness, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Very friendly countryside hotel. Very clean. Room is well provided for, room decor fine. Excellent bathroom. Breakfast was beautifully cooked. Doesn't have a lift but otherwise really great place to stay. Wed only the one night scheduled but it would make a fine base for a longer trip to explore the NE.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Gibbins, Owner at Ban-Car Hotel
Responded 5 Jan 2024
Many thanks for your review, I will pass this onto all staff at our next meeting. We do have rooms on our ground floor if you are ever in the area again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Audrey wrote a review Nov 2023
Aberdeen, United Kingdom2 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed her on the 4th November attended a function - rooms were fantastic, clean 7 roomy, food was excellent, lovely dinner and a superb breakfast ( tastiest bacon ever) very reasonably priced - Staff went above and beyond for us
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Wee Gem in the counrtyside
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Gibbins, Owner at Ban-Car Hotel
Responded 14 Nov 2023
Many thanks Audrey for your lovely comments. I'll pass this on to all staff at our next meeting. Hopefully see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sue A wrote a review Aug 2023
Northumberland33 contributions30 helpful votes
I only needed a single room so wasn't concerned that it would be small, but there was still a small double there. Ensuite was small but totally functional, with a walk in shower. Everything was IMMACULATE! Not a spec of dust anywhere, bedding really good quality, comfy pillows. Breakfast was extensive - fruit juices, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, tea, coffee, toast and a full Scottish fry up. Very good quality produce and cooked to suit. I also had an evening meal there, which was delicious too. All the staff and owners were very friendly and welcoming. Couldn't do enough for everyone. There was a wedding held while I was staying but even at the end of the night the music wasn't loud at all and the only sound I heard was a family chatting quietly as they were heading back to their room. I can't recommend this hotel more highly. Will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Huge car park - only 6 miles from Fraserburgh so also handy for visits locally. Budget prices but...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Gibbins, Owner at Ban-Car Hotel
Responded 29 Aug 2023
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on to all staff about your amazing review. Hopefully see you again soon. Regards Tina x
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
252heatherj wrote a review Aug 2023
Falkirk, United Kingdom28 contributions46 helpful votes
we were up for a wedding and was allowed to get into the room early to get changed , all staff were so helpful and friendly , room was clean and the bed was comfy breakfast was good , will defo be back again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Gibbins, Owner at Ban-Car Hotel
Responded 3 Aug 2023
Thank you Heather, very much appreciated. I will pass on to all staff. Thanks again. Tina x
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Barry W wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
Friendly staff very welcoming room was fantastic as it what we were needing for our time there lovely facilities on site bed was comfy bathroom was what we wanted for our time there we had the cooked breakfast the following day was really good wont be the last time we will stay there overnight
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ClaireBear wrote a review Apr 2023
Peterhead, United Kingdom20 contributions25 helpful votes
Attended a wedding here, March 2023, excellent venue, great staff, wonderful meal. Best meal I have ever had at a wedding, all three courses were very good, especially the Leon posset dessert . Highly recommend. A lovely clean hotel. Staff vat do enough for you,
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Gibbins, Owner at Ban-Car Hotel
Responded 6 Apr 2023
Thank you very much for your kind words. A great deal of work is involved in organising a wedding and it's very much a team effort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John B wrote a review Feb 2023
Maud, United Kingdom100 contributions43 helpful votes
We had passed on several occasions and it always looked busy so decided to try for lunch, seated easily as it wasn't busy although a wedding party was just arriving. Ordered the chicken pakora for stater and four apologetic small pieces with a few salads bits thrown in , thimble of dip was hardly worth the effort and way over priced at £5:95. For main I ordered the steak sandwich and my wife had a chicken filled toastie , steak sandwich had a very scant filling of meat that looked like leftovers , few crisps, dollop of coleslaw and salad, again overpriced at £10, my wife's toast was as uninspiring and accompanied by the same garnish. To be fair the side of chips were well cooked and a decent portion. Service was decent by young staff , although on paying the bill at the bar there was no questions asked if you enjoyed your meal, more give me your money and go scenario, I think the wedding was taking priority on that particular day. Its another one visit on establishment and will be long forgotten along with so many other disappointing restaurants in Scotland...all it takes is a little more effort and imagination.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Gibbins, Owner at Ban-Car Hotel
Responded 6 Feb 2023
Sorry you were disappointed in your meal. I can't answer in regards to the starter amount, but I know the main course we use a fillet steak and slice it for these and it definitely wasn't scant filling for the price as I was there when it went out. £10 is actually too cheap we've been told going by other places for the same thing. Sorry your wife's toasted sandwich wasn't inspiring, but it was just as it's called! We are a very busy and popular hotel and hopefully you'll give us another chance. I will pass this onto our staff at the next meeting in a few weeks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
aileen d wrote a review Jan 2023
aberdeen33 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed overnight for a birthday party. Right from arriving we got a warm friendly welcome. We hadn’t booked dinner but asked if we could get a table and it was easily accommodated. Food was delicious, waitresses were so pleasant and informative it was a real treat to be served with such happy enthusiastic people they are a credit to the hotel.Rooms were very spacious and clean, good shower. Breakfast was served efficiently and lovely and hot including the plates which is a rarity these days. Never been before but will certainly be back if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Can’t fault anything
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fraserburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£69 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandAberdeenshireFraserburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAN-CAR HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Fraserburgh)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ban-Car Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ban-Car Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Fraserburgh Beach (4.7 miles), RSPB Scotland Loch of Strathbeg Nature Reserve (2.3 miles), and Westburn Park (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ban-Car Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ban-Car Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Ban-Car Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ban-Car Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ban-Car Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Inn at Heath Hill, Dunes Golf Centre, and Gumboots Concept Eatery.
Are pets allowed at Ban-Car Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ban-Car Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Ban-Car Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pitsligo Castle (7.5 miles).
Is Ban-Car Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.