We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The George Hotel

1 Main Street East, Inveraray PA32 8TT Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (803)
Room & Suite (292)
Dining (115)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 4 hotels in Inveraray
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
1971Reviews15Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,098
  • 472
  • 168
  • 140
  • 93
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
shabnam s wrote a review 2 Mar
Glasgow, United Kingdom42 contributions2 helpful votes
It was a lovely beautiful day. We walked into George hotel Resturant, the staff were so lovely and accommodating. Although we did not have a booking they made sure we get a table. Food was really nice. The whole experience was lovely. This is a lovely place for lunch in Inveraray. Enrique looked after us properly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Fraser B wrote a review 1 Mar
2 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Have stayed at The George multiple times over the last 20 years with my family and more recently with my partner. Have stayed in a few of the rooms - Standards 23 and 25: Master 21 and 27; and Deluxe Master 34. All are unique and very comfortable. They have changed through the years but maintained the character and uniqueness that I associate with The George. Meals are very good with attentive service. A few years ago, the quality declined somewhat, but this has since recovered with good local produce and an expanded cocktail and drinks menu. The cocktail bar has a great atmosphere, especially in winter. Would highly recommend The George as a winter retreat!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chirrey-family wrote a review Feb 2024
Glasgow14 contributions3 helpful votes
An absolute dream of a hotel- gorgeous cosy bar with amazing atmosphere and great food. The staff are so friendly and welcoming and they seem to really enjoy working together which makes for a very happy experience for guests. The bedroom are something else - ours had a lovely log fire which was just so cosy, especially looking out over Loch Fyne on a beautiful afternoon with snow capped mountains in the distance. Will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Worth upgrading room to have a log fire. Recommend booking dinner well in advance
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
susan C wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions
Booked for dinner at this fabulous old (1770) hotel. Went for drinks in the whiskey bar which was an array of Amber bottles, reputedly 500 whiskeys,fabulous open fire and old fashioned snug feel. Went through to the dining room to be met by the lovely Lucy, effusive, engaging and welcoming. The oysters, scallops were sublime followed by whole seabass and confit duck leg joyous! Excellent food,ambiance and hosting. Wholly recommend the George Hotel, a diamond in the exquisite Crown of breathtaking Invarary.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SJB wrote a review Feb 2024
Port of Menteith, United Kingdom57 contributions81 helpful votes
The positives: The room was lovely. Nice roll top bath and views of the loch. Could not fault it, spotlessly clean. Nice Highland Soap toiletries. The negatives: The food! Had mussels for dinner and they were cold, not just lukewarm warm. Sent them back, and got the same mussels microwaved. Not good enough. Breakfast food was tepid too. So obviously not cooked to order. Sitting in a heater. This place is lovely but could do better on the food front, especially when you consider the larder that’s on the doorstep.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kris Clark, Owner at The George Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi SJB, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review – we appreciate your kind comments regarding the room. We are blessed with this beautiful scenery which we love to share with our guests. I’m sorry to hear the food did not meet your expectations on this visit. Please be assured we do not have microwaves in the kitchen, and our mussels are cooked in the pan on an open flame. Sorry to hear breakfast was disappointing – we have passed this on to the kitchen to ensure our high standards are carried through into breakfast service. We certainly do take full advantage of the abundance of fresh locally sourced produce, as you can see by our extensive menus. I do apologise again if we did not meet our usual high standards on this occasion. Hopefully we will see you again in the future and you will have a great all-round experience. Kind Regards The George Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SkinnerGlasgow wrote a review Feb 2024
Glasgow9 contributions7 helpful votes
Went to this place for lunch with family members. Each of us had coronation chicken sandwiches and soup. Sandwiches consisted of two slices of tasteless cheap white pan bread between which there was a smear of oddly tasting mayonnaise and a tiny portion of chicken, probably around one ounce. Absolutely terrible and for £11 per portion not exactly cheap. Great pity since we found a super cafe on the opposite side of the street which served really good and freshly made food. Maybe OK for a drink but food dreadful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't eat there.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kris Clark, Owner at The George Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
I am sorry to hear of your experience with lunch at The George. I am also sorry you never raised the issue with your friendly server. We are in the Hospitality industry, 'the friendly and generous reception and entertainment of guests, visitors, or strangers'. We are here to do our best to have you leaving the business content that The George continues to provide affordable food with satisfying portions. I won't forget my father's legacies. We sell on average 50 portions per week. This is the first complaint I have ever heard about Coronation Chicken. We use a traditional curry powder, sultana and mango chutney recipe to mix with mayonnaise, perhaps that was the odd flavouring? With soup £11? Not a bad price these days. I cannot comment on 2* service as it was not commented on by you. That is a fairly low score not to mention it. I would suggest to readers to look at the majority from other genuine reviewers.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
highlandexplorer wrote a review Feb 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom22 contributions8 helpful votes
Another Georgous stay! Fabulous room (superior master), choice of busy or quieter eating & drinking spaces. Great food (glad to see so much local produce), generous portions & good choices. Staff welcoming & knowledgeable. We’ll definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kris Clark, Owner at The George Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi highlandexplorer, Thank you very much for your great review and kind words! We appreciate you taking the time to detail what made your visit special. It's great to hear you will be back and sounds like all of our staff are a credit to the George! (as always!) See you next time! Kind Regards The George Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lindsayg1986 wrote a review Feb 2024
Paisley, United Kingdom13 contributions3 helpful votes
Due to suffering from anxiety and autism, I find it incredibly difficult to discuss problems or complaints face to face, so emailed the complaint to the hotel, no response or acknowledgement. I stayed 2nd Feb. I had stayed at the George a few years ago so was looking forward to coming back for the comfortable bed, peacefulness and great food. I was so disappointed. I had looked at the menu online prior to arriving so knew I wanted Scallops followed by Venison. We couldn’t believe that a plate with 2 scallops drenched in garlic butter arrived, I was expecting purée, dry ham crumbs. The garlic completely swamped the taste of any scallops. (Price 2 Scallops in garlic £18 per plate) Next was Venison, we were told it was medium rare. It was blue, and cold. The red wine sauce was bisto, and we had asked for roasted root veg, a plate of broccoli with 2 soggy carrots arrived caked in garlic. Everything was salty. I was so angry and upset I just paid and left. £110 is not cheap for disappointing food. My partner told the waitress the food was poor and disappointing, but as I have stated at the beginning of the email, I do not cope well with social situations especially any kind of conflict, so did not push it. When I booked the room there was no mention of any music events, if I’d known this I wouldn’t have booked. I could hear every single song from downstairs, including the shouting from punters until 1am. I could also hear the kitchen staff coming out the back talking, swearing, all night until midnight. The beds are described as ‘luxurious super kings’, and encourage those to book the library for ‘special occasions’. The beds used to be luxurious years ago, but now the mattress is a rock solid spring bed with a topper on it. Both me and my partner woke up with a sore back and lack of sleep. We thought at least we have breakfast... We were seated, cutlery was dirty at a newly set table. I got some toast, we waited over 20 minutes for someone to take our order, but only because my partner had to get someone’s attention. Breakfast came, I like porridge made with water, but this tasted like the oats were off. We waited, and waited and waited for our tea, it never came so we decided to check out and leave. Check out - we weren’t even asked how our stay was, simply were told ‘you are paid up bye’. I have always recommended The George to people, but I’ve no idea what has happened since we were there last. We got the deal for £135, I would be furious if I had paid the normal £280 for a room, then a further £110 for food. Yes we got a deal for £135, but the further £110+ for terrible food, and no offer of a discount, sorry, or anything when my partner said the food was bad (and we weren’t the only ones). It has pretty much ruined our special weekend away, and £300 for a hard bed where you won’t get any sleep because of noise and discomfort, poor food and disappointing service simply is not acceptable. I couldn’t fault the floor staff, they were kind, but you could see they were fed up. No one seemed to have sections, or know what was going on, lacking any type of leadership. Speaking of management, some of the replies on here are shocking. However, not surprising considering when we were waiting for our booked table the manager turned her back on the queue of 4 tables and snapped ‘you’ll have to wait’. Should have took that as a sign….
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go for a drink, would not stay or have food.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kris Clark, Owner at The George Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Lindsay, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m sorry to hear you felt our food was ‘awful’ Having checked back through our emails, I can find no record of your complaint, hence the lack of response. I can only apologise for this, though I’ve no idea why this wouldn’t have come through. Whilst we do try to keep our online menus as up to date as we can, it’s always possible there are some last minute adjustments due to supply issues etc. The scallops you ordered on the night were advertised on our special board as “Scallops starter, (x2) served with garlic butter, £18” so we do feel it is made clear the portion size, price and accompaniments. Our red wine sauce is made from scratch by our chefs – I can assure you there is no Bisto involved! Again, I do understand your issues with confrontation, however I would hope either you or your partner would have made it a bit clearer how unhappy you were rather than just paying and leaving. Regarding the noise you experienced – we do advertise we have live music every Friday and Saturday. This is on our website, Facebook page and also stated clearly in our confirmation email which you receive on booking. We do try our best to keep noise from other guests to a minimum. The talking/swearing you heard certainly wasn’t from our kitchen staff – I can assure you the kitchen is closed down and all of the kitchen team leave well before midnight. I’m sorry to hear your felt the mattress was uncomfortable. Undeniably, comfortable beds are a big part of staying at a hotel, so we do have a rolling programme of rotating and replacing mattresses. We will certainly look into this one. Regarding breakfast – again, I wish you had brought to our attention that you hadn’t received your tea rather than just leaving. Had you felt the oats were ‘off’, I would hope you would inform a member of staff to allow us to pass this on to the chef. We did serve several portions of porridge that morning, and had no other complaints. I do apologise if you felt we didn’t ask how your stay was – we do try our best to ask every guest. You did spend just a little over £110 on food – this included a tip (which you chose to add to the bill) While we very much appreciate this, it seems a bit odd considering you said the food was poor and service was disappointing. Our floor staff do indeed work in sections, and our team work hard to provide an efficient and friendly service. I’m sad to hear you feel this was not the case on your visit. I do thank you for your previous recommendations of the George – hopefully you will come back some time and see that we are as good as you have previously experienced. Kind Regards The George Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alexandra wrote a review Feb 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom47 contributions28 helpful votes
Had lunch here on a cold and wet January day before hiking up to the tower above Inveraray castle. The staff were pleasant and service was quick. There was a big fire on the go which was much appreciated on a cold day. The food was tasty and a good portion at a reasonable price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kris Clark, Owner at The George Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Alexandra, Thank you very much for your top review! There certainly is a bit of magic around the place when the fires are roaring on a miserable day! Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal - hopefully we will see you again soon in the near future! Kind Regards The George Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
davron41 wrote a review Feb 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom64 contributions56 helpful votes
We stayed here last year in room 5 and it was amazing .This year we got room 27 which although priced similar it wasn't up to standard. The chez lounge had an 8 inch rip on it .A window was cracked ,several downlights didn't work, the shower was spraying out the side ,I could go on but that is plenty that shouldn't be when paying alot for a so called luxury room.On leaving after our two day stay we brought all of this to the staffs attention and to be honest she wasn't interested. The staff in the restaurant and the food was amazing .Maybe someone needs to look at these rooms as leaving authentic looking doesn't mean burst floorboards and rips in chez lounge.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kris Clark, Owner at The George Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi David, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with your most recent stay. I appreciate what you are saying regarding the rooms, and do thank you for bringing to our attention the issues with the furnishings – we will certainly be getting this replaced. Please be assured we take all feedback on board and your issues were passed onto management after they were reported on check out. We are currently undergoing refurbishment to allow us to keep this wonderful building at its best. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your food and found the staff to be amazing. We do hope to see you again in future. Kind Regards The George Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Inveraray area.
PRICE RANGE
£115 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
george hotel inveraray
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandArgyll and ButeInveraray
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GEORGE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Inveraray)

Frequently Asked Questions about The George Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The George Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Inveraray Jail (0.08 miles), Fyne Malts of Inveraray (0.01 miles), and Loch Fyne Whiskies (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The George Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The George Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The George Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The George Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Samphire Seafood Restaurant, Brambles Cafe, and Cottage Restaurant.
Is The George Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the centre of Inveraray.
Are pets allowed at The George Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The George Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Inveraray Jail (0.08 miles), Inveraray Bell Tower (0.1 miles), and Inveraray Cross (0.03 miles).