We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Hotel

Save
Traveller (243)
Room & Suite (122)
Dining (21)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good31%
  • Average24%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“lounge bar”(22 reviews)
“buffet style”(26 reviews)
“single room”(38 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,092)
Filter reviews
1,014 results
Traveller rating
230
303
256
129
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
230
303
256
129
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslounge barbuffet stylesingle roomferry terminalbar mealsnight portercentre of townbit datedpublic areastop floorlimited parkingstayed for one nightbed and breakfastenjoyable stayfamily roomshort breaklovely view
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,014 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Oban is the launch pad for both the highlands and the isles so tourists will transit the town rather than linger to investigate it’s possibilities The Royal Hotel is a busy such transit facility with tour buses lined up each afternoon. Having said that, the...More

Thank Equanimitas
Response from John H, Manager at Royal HotelResponded yesterday

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for your recent review of the Royal Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the hotel, we pride ourselves on our food and...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Yes, the hotel is “dated” but that is what I love about it! The furnishing fit the feel of the hotel. It is clean and the staff are very kind. I’m looking forward to breakfast in the morning. I definitely recommend you stay here and...More

Thank BFMeadows
Reviewed 5 days ago

The location is great - in walking distance to the ferries, the distillery and the rest of Oban. My single room was a bit on the small side, which is fine - I'm there to see the town and surrounding ares, not sit in my...More

Thank Erin A
Response from John H, Manager at Royal HotelResponded yesterday

Dear Erin. Thank you very much for leaving us feedback on your recent stay with us at The Royal Hotel. . I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will certainly pass the comments onto our House keeping staff regarding the...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Our two night stay in this supposedly 3 star hotel at £140.30 incl VAT a night B&B was awful. The hotel is scruffy on the outside and on the inside. The entrance looks awful, the reception area is depressing and worn out, the lift was...More

Thank christophereprice
Response from John H, Manager at Royal HotelResponded 3 days ago

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Royal Hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback, can I ask that you email me your booking details when convenient, so I can...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So my ferry was cancelled and calmac recommended the Royal Hotel. Made my way over to the convenient hotel. Reception staff where helpful, reducing the rate for a single room to £85 for the night. Now I know I shouldn’t have accepted the shabby, dirty...More

Thank Lambretta101
Response from John H, Manager at Royal HotelResponded 6 days ago

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Royal Hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback, can I ask that you email me your booking details when convenient, so I can...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Gold level
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$143 - US$264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$143 - US$264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (243)
Room & Suite (122)
Dining (21)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
blackvalerie387
8 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Paul G | Reviewed this property |
I would agree with Geoff - check with the hotel direct. the staff are very helpful.
0
Votes
lornamacdougall
14 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Alastair21 | Reviewed this property |
No I don't think there are.
0
Votes
eileen b
13 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Alastair21 | Reviewed this property |
Our double room was pretty small. Cannot comment on single rooms.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Our room (506) had 3 steps to climb to get to the door. Most of the other rooms did not have these..."
Read review
"Don't choose 502"
Read review
"There are no good rooms. Stay away."
Read review
"Go to a Travelodge..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing