We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backpackers Plus

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (3)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good23%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“common room”(18 reviews)
“old church”(9 reviews)
“free breakfast”(7 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Laundry Service
Free Parking
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Backpackers Plus
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
115
39
11
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
115
39
11
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomold churchfree breakfastconverted churchseparate buildingprivate rooms arewarm place to staymain buildingone nighttop floorkitchen areawell equipped kitchenbudget accommodationclean roomsan ideal basecatching the ferryminute walk
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

A really good and clean hostel for a fair price. Free milk, juice, coffee and thee and free use of the kitchen. Beds are ok and the showers are really good. The people working over there are really nice and helpfull

Thank suzanne M
Response from BackpackersPlus, Owner at Backpackers PlusResponded 16 August 2016

Thanks for the nice review. As I mentioned to you at the time we are always particularly pleased to have guests from Groningen! See you again soon I hope!

Reviewed 13 August 2016

This hostel is the best one I stayed in so far. The common room is a place where you just want to sit for hours, ridiculously soft chairs and sofas everywhere, beautiful mural and good music playing. Pool table is great and there is giant...More

Thank Kasia A
Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers PlusResponded 25 August 2016

Thanks for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again one day.

Reviewed 8 August 2016

Two of my friends and I stayed at this hostel on a weekend trip to Oban, Mull, and Iona. We originally booked through a different website which told us the rooms were mostly booked so we thought we'd have to be in separate rooms. When...More

Thank Sarah S
Response from BackpackersPlus, Owner at Backpackers PlusResponded 10 August 2016

We hope it won't be your last time staying in a hostel as we'd like to see you back here. It's the guests that really make the place. We're glad you stayed with us and thanks for the advice to other travellers about booking. It's...More

Reviewed 8 August 2016

I stayed here for a night with a couple friends. The mattresses were hard, the pillows were thin and the linen was awful. And there were only 2 shared toilets between half a dozen dorm rooms. Which meant that we had to wait every time...More

Thank Vishal L
Response from BackpackersPlus, Owner at Backpackers PlusResponded 20 August 2016

Thanks for the review and I'm really sorry you had a bad time. I have a bit of difficulty recognising the place from your description! Are you sure it was here that you were staying? For example we replaced all our bed linen with brand...More

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Just w hat we needed when the rain was coming down. Slept well and felt most welcome. Good kitchen. Good music in the morning and almost too hot showers 😃 centrally located and no problem bringing in take-away food to the common room in the...More

Thank Silje V
Response from BackpackersPlus, Manager at Backpackers PlusResponded 9 August 2016

Hi Silje, We're glad you enjoyed your stay here with us! Thanks for the feedback on the showers - we know there's still a bit of work to do and we'll try and tackle them over the winter when we have fewer guests. Hopefully we've...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Details
Price range
US$38 - US$69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$38 - US$69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (3)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lovetravelling107
26 April 2017|
Answer
Response from BackpackersPlus | Property representative |
Hello ! At the moment, our en-suites are £25 per person per night. The price will change from the 1st of June for the summer period, going up to £29 per person per night. hope this was useful.
0
Votes
Karen F
17 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from BackpackersPlus | Property representative |
Hi Karen, Thanks for your question! It would be great if all our guests provided photograpic ID (passport, ID, drivers licence, etc.) but of course if you don't have any of those you are still welcome to stay with us. Hope... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"much quieter if book a twin or family room which is NOT in the main building"
Read review
"Room 6 in annexe has own sink, double and single bed."
Read review
"Don't have room 5"
Read review
"the bright yellow extension to the hostel has cozy private rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing