We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (133)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (6)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free parking
Hot Tub
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
140Reviews
150Photos
7Q+A
29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 122
  • 10
  • 3
  • 5
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
It isn’t like we needed an excuse to go to Scotland, but the idea of spending a weekend in a gypsy caravan is a temptation I was always going to yield to. Even though we were ready for awful weather (this being Scotland in February) we were pleasantly surprised by the sun. The
Read more
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte Retreat
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and sorry that we didn’t get a chance to meet you on this occasion. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in Devanna. We are a well kept secret with deliberately no signs at the end of the drive which is why we advise guests to follow our directions carefully as many sat navs take people off in the wrong direction. We made a conscious decision not to light up everything in the meadow, though the electricity is there if we change our minds, but for us, for our guests, wildlife, and our neighbours it is more natural and eco friendly to enjoy the dark skies above rather than light pollution so we are glad you appreciated this. Each guest seems to be drawn to a specific roulotte according to their taste in colour, carvings, situation and we find some guests return, always to the same roulotte, whereas we have other guests who like to experience a different roulotte each visit to appreciate the unique ambience of each and with a variety of views from the windows and balconies. Glad Devanna and yourselves were a good match for your stay. I would like to address the cons you mention below. hot water - each roulotte has 60-80 litres of hot water at all times, depending on which roulotte you choose. If one guest in the roulotte has a very long shower, using all the water, when they have possibly been using the water in the kitchen area and the washroom then the next person may have to wait until the water heats up which is around 45 minutes. This is explained to guests at the meet and greet when shown around the roulotte. However we find that guests usually have adequate hot water for their stay as they know that the tanks are more limited than in a hotel room or at home. wood burning stove - we are not sure why there was smoke? The fuel is eco fuel made from logs of condensed dried wood shavings and kept in a waterproof container so shouldn’t have been wet. Many guests are not familiar with lighting fires which is why everyone is shown how to do this on arrival. We always show everyone, no matter if they are familiar with wood burning stoves or not as each stove is different and we like to ensure that guests know what they are doing. electricity supply - did the electricity trip? our roulottes are sensitively wired for safety and on arrival we do explain that if guests put on everything at the same time it may trip, e.g. if someone is in the shower, the oven, kettle and toaster are all on then the electrics may trip as this would overload the system. We also advise to only use our hairdryer as it is low voltage. We hope this explains things somewhat. Maggie and Susie as you say were on site and are very experienced sitters of Roulotte Retreat so they were there if you wished to ask about any of these cons you mentioned during your stay. Its always better to check out any uncertainties whilst staying rather than waiting until after departure so that if there are any issues they may be resolved. We have been in touch with Maggie and Susie and they have reassured us everything had been explained on arrival, especially the health and safety aspects with regard to electricity, wood burning stoves and the practicalities of water use etc. Its a shame you didn’t get in touch with them whilst on site as all could have been sorted for you, electricity reset, etc However, as you say none of the above really affected your stay and you found it to be a romantic getaway. We hope to see you again sometime, either in Devanna or perhaps a different roulotte experience! Glad Maggie and Susie were great hosts, they always are and sorry about Scarlet and Maverick our geese, yes they do hiss rather when you pass by their gate. We only let them out when guests aren’t around, they are excellent ‘watch geese’ however and alert us to the postie and anyone coming up the drive.
Read more
We’ve just got back from a magical few days at Roulotte Retreat. Such a beautiful and peaceful place. Avril and Alan were lovely people, who got the perfect balance between being there to help and giving you your space and privacy. Can not wait to go back. Thank you Roulotte
Read more
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte Retreat
Responded 5 Dec 2018
Thank you for taking the time to send us this lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Roulotte Retreat and appreciated the magic of the quiet, peaceful meadow. Yes we do like to ensure guests know we are around if they need us and we do enjoy meeting our guests but realise that its important to have time to yourselves when escaping from busy lives. We shall look forward to seeing you here again in the future.
Read more
Alan & Avril are nice people but the cottage was more shabby than shabby sheek. - it smelt musty on entering and despite attempts to air it, it was just not possible to stay; - the TV didn’t work and was tiny and was old as the hills. Why come here to watch TV? Sure but some
Read more
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte Retreat
Responded 7 Oct 2018
So sad that it would appear you spent more time on writing the review than actually being in the cottage; as in fact you didn’t stay or really experience a stay in our Bowtop or the Cottage. We would like to respond to your comments which sadly don’t reflect your kind conversational comments when you were here. It is upsetting and not entirely honest that you presented us with a picture of your personal allergies and breathing difficulties which you said arose when you were in the cottage for all of half an hour before going out for a walk in the woodlands nearby. Although we didn’t have to refund you we felt at the time it was fair and kind to give you 50% of your payment back which you omitted to say in your review. It seems that it wasn’t really your breathing difficulties that was the issue but more that you wished a large tv and ‘crisp linen sheets’. Our cottage is aired regularly and is exceptionally clean, the only possibility we could suggest for your breathing difficulties is the fact it is autumn and leaf mould from the trees in the surrounding woodlands and countryside could be a contributing factor to people with breathing/asthma challenges when out walking. Our bedlinen which is regularly renewed is of excellent quality and is in-keeping with our colourful theme. Our bedlinen is washed and hung out to dry before ironing and is not unnaturally starched. The throws are wonderfully colourful and from India offering extra warmth and in keeping with the bohemian vibe. At the end of the day 'crisp linen sheets' are a matter of taste and choice, certainly not grounds for refunds. We don’t do tv at Roulotte Retreat which is clearly stated in our information before arrival and we only offer a small combi tv/dvd in the cottage more for children for rainy days to watch their dvds. The tv does work and you only had to ask us if you were having problems with switching it on. With regard to pricing £300.00 is very reasonable for the weekend in a cottage with room for 4-6 in double bedroom, twin bedroom, sitting room, kitchen, bathroom with shower as well as an authentic 1930’s Bowtop with double bed, all eco fuel supplied for the wood burning stove, central heating, etc. Your dog’s stay was also included in the price. So you didn’t stay, that was your choice and you didn’t pay in full, but only 50%, which was our choice to refund you but we really wish you had been more honest. You did seem genuine people but it is upsetting when after being so complimentary you leave and immediately write a review like this omitting pertinent facts. We find this behaviour utterly sad and we feel upset that after us being so kind and considerate about your concerns you respond like this. Such sad, leaning towards dishonest behaviour is very disappointing.
Read more
We booked this break for 3 days as a totally selfish off grid recuperative holiday. You book this knowing there is no TV, WiFi, and phone coverage. Just enjoy the tranquil setting, good basic facilities in a quaint french style caravan. With the right food and red wine you can
Read more
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte Retreat
Responded 7 Oct 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your 'recuperative' retreat. You are absolutely right - some time away from tv, wifi and phone can do everyone the world of good. As we often say here, there's a choice of channels - nature 'listening to the birds or watching the meadow wildlife' channel, star gazing under the dark skies, or tune in to watching the flames within the woodturning stove - all are just so relaxing and almost guarantee you a good night's sleep. We hope you come again to Roulotte Retreat and do remember to ask for your returning guest discount. Thank you for recommending us so highly as a relaxing holiday.
Read more
This is a fantastic place to stay if you want to visit Scotland in the summer. Most tourists drive as fast as they can through the Borders to get to the Highlands or the West Coast. After 1st June these places are swarming with Midges so take a tip and stay here. Roulotte
Read more
Response from Avril333, Owner at Roulotte Retreat
Responded 18 Jun 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We do agree with you, there are many delightful places to visit in the Borders and we are glad you stopped a while to see them for yourselves. We are very lucky not to have midges in the area which many places are plagued with in the summer months. We have many guests who after their first visit come back a couple of times a year and stay for several days each time. Our roulottes, though traditional in design have all the modern conveniences of shower, kitchen, toilet, etc. All roulottes have wardrobe space too, apart from Rosa Bella which you stayed in. Rosa Bella is more spacious with two double beds and room for more people so clothing in this roulotte is placed either on the hangers on the coat stand, on the coat hangers on the hooks in both bedroom and in the salon area, or indeed in the four deep drawers. Thank you for highly recommending Roulotte Retreat, we appreciate this.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Comfy bed
Photo provided by managementRoulotte Retreat
Ruby Bowtop, enjoy sleeping under the stars or in Horseshoe Cottage, the best of both worlds!
View from Karlotta
Photo provided by managementRoulotte Retreat
The view from the chaise longue
Gitanan Hot Tub
PreviousNext
1234567
wow, did the owners just blame the guests for scaring a bat that was inside the cottage?
I don't think they did. Seemed like a measured response to me. Bats are protected and you can't handle them.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi Tia, Can you email me and I can send you more information about weddings at Roulotte Retreat as we do have 1,2,3, night options. kind regards Avril
0 votes
Do you allow dogs Thanks
Hi, thanks for our enquiry. We welcome up to two well behaved dogs in Horseshoe Cottage which also comes with Ruby Bowtop, but not in the roulottes. Let me know if I can be of any further assistance. kind regards, Avril
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you allow a very small dog ?
PreviousNext
12
"Leave your pesky mobiles, laptops, iPads at home. Learn to live without them here."
"Would choose a Roulotte to stay in rather than the cottage"
"Take wellies/walking boots and a torch."
"Choose a B&B instead"
"Enjoy the hot tub."
PreviousNext
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandMelrose
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing