We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

842 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
See the most recent reviews
Showing 832: English reviews
Llanfyllin
Reviewed 9 May 2015

The last time we went to the Tontine was well over 10 years ago. It had then been acquired by Kate Innes and her husband. When they took it over, I considered that they had a major uphill struggle to face (at the time my wife and I were local hoteliers). We left the area in 2005 and returned just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dafydd_G
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

We are truly delighted "Dafydd_G" to receive your wonderful review and it is particularly pleasing as you have compiled a TripAdvisor "Landmark" review, No. 500! It is very gratifying that you have noticed the positive changes that have taken place in the 14 years of our ownership. We are very thankful to our local and regular clientele together with many...

Scotland
Reviewed 8 May 2015

Stayed for a night with my wife for a night and we were pleasantly surprised how much we enjoyed our stay. The room we stayed in, number 7, was old but it had character and was warm and comfortable. A bigger bed would have been nice but it was relaxing. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Droggs
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Very many thanks for taking time to post your review "Droggs". Very pleased indeed to read you enjoyed your short stay. Room 7 is indeed reached by stairs and is a smaller bedroom than say the bedrooms situated in the "Riverside Lodge" which are larger and enjoy fine views. Thanks for your recommendation regarding our food offers, for dinner and...

Reviewed 7 May 2015

We were offered a bargain break and decided to make the most of it. As usual we were not disappointed - great service, value and quality. The hotel and staff are always lovely but this time we discovered that Peebles itself is beautiful in the spring. As always, we would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs C
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Thank you so much "Sue H" we love your review, its great title, fantastic feedback and recommendation. You have been very complimentary and kind, not only about the hotel and staff, but also you have taken time to mention this great little town of Peebles! We and the town look forward to your next stay with us! Kate, Gordon Innes...

Dawlish
Reviewed 7 May 2015

16 of us stayed at The Tontine Hotel for our golf society's annual trip and we all agreed that it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The rooms were of a high standard and the food was first class. The icing on the cake was the owners & the staff who could not do enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Many, many thanks "Roy C" for this really excellent review! Delighted that you enjoyed your "golf society trip" and we are really pleased that you found "The Tontine" and our super local golf courses to your liking. The month of May has seen many of our golf parties return to enjoy a golfing break. It is also amazing that you...

Strathmiglo, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2015

My self and my husband decided on a whim to take off for the night, taking advantage of good weather during Easter holidays was intending to travel via motorbike. Peebles came up as not too far from home. Hotel was very reasonably priced and central with parking for the bike. Lovely room - huge bed and bathroom. Clean and comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Heather N
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Thank you "Heather N" for your review. We were pleased to read you enjoyed a "lovely easter break" here at The Tontine in Peebles and we love your review descriptions and overall recommendation. We have changed and amended the menu, the chicken dish to reflect your constructive point. We had been using Baby Chicken, "Poussin" which off course did contain...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Having stayed here many times it is always a pleasure to come back. Golfers like us come here for a well organised few days, all our Golf is booked by Sarah the Golf co-ordinator who is a star. Nothing is to much trouble and with the inclement weather we experienced while we were there this time, Sarah managed to switch...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BB2_11
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Very many thanks "BB2_11" another great review you have taken time to post via TripAdvisor and written following another great "Golfing break" here at The Tontine. It is always a great pleasure to welcome guests who return again, every year and indeed we are very grateful that you see fit to visit regularly. You clearly enjoy the great local golf...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2015

This was our first time staying in peebles as we usually stay just outside the town. we stayed for 2 nights as a biking/walking weekend. The hotel itself is situated bang in the middle of the town, which itself is a very beautiful place. The hotel was one of the best we have stayed in on these weekends we have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank peaks940
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Dear "peaks940", many thanks indeed for this great review! We were all very pleased to read your kind recommendations and feedback. We are again very grateful that you have seen fit to "pick out" the team of staff here at the hotel and we are so pleased to know that youl intend to pay us another visit in future. Again...

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We took fifty members of our Mountain Biking Club "the Woollybacks" to the Tontine for a Friday to Sunday mountain biking break on the local trails of Innerleithen and Glentress. The hotel and the team at the Tontine made our group very welcomed, and we enjoyed great service, amazing food, and cracking facilities all weekend. Plenty of secure bike storage,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

We all just loved reading your review "Dave J" and indeed just loved the weekend hosting the "Woollyback Bikers" and very thankful that you have found time to review your stay. It was heartening to be made aware that you all enjoyed "The Tontine", the marvellous town of Peebles and that you will return to enjoy the MTB trails at...

Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2015

The hotel had a date above its entrance of 1808. It has old world charm. In the restaurant we had shank of beef and grilled salmon that was well cooked. The dessert menu suited all tastes. With the age of the hotel the dining room matches the age of the hotel. We went for the food and not to sit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Many thanks "Harry M", a great review following your recent visit to the hotel for Lunch. It is pleasing to note that the "recommendation by a friend" proved a good one and that you also found favour with the food and service in our Adam Room restaurant. The room as you highlight is over 200 years old, but caters to...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2015

Stayed over after a long day biking, staff wonderful and helpful suggested local spots and eateries. Peebles was quite lively with friendly locals. Rooms warm and comfortable good food excellent breakfast. I had also left some belongings in the room, they forwarded them on, I did offer to pay postage but they sent them on no charge, just a small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Many thanks "Barry W" as we very much enjoyed reading your review, which is warm in its praise and recommendation. Very grateful that you have taken time to mention the quality of service from the team with specific regard to the return of your lost property. Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,769 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
698 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
197 reviews
21.7 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room, FREE WiFi and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Address: High Street, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Price Range: £64 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Newcastle

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms over looking the river and hills are the best for a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles kiwiscot, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lots of stairs check where you room will be first if using carpark”
 of 5 bubbles AWilson468, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back for view....!”
 of 5 bubbles Jimmybaxter, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in the annex and that was first class so the higher end and suites must be superb.”
 of 5 bubbles jpeggie47, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms at the back are quieter as they don't face the road”
 of 5 bubbles Janmcmahon, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5