We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenaldor House

Save
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (5)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
  • Excellent86%
  • Very good13%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“town centre”(36 reviews)
“peter pan”(6 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Free Breakfast
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
Rooftop Bar
Fitness centre
Business Centre
Golf course
3 Star Hotel
View all hotel information
Location and contact
5 Victoria Terrace, Dumfries DG1 1NL, Scotland
48.6 miles to Prestwick Airport
11 restaurants are within a 0.25 mile radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
333
45
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
333
45
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centrequiet cul de sacpeter panhuge bathroomexcellent breakfasttrain stationwarm welcomehaggisbeautiful houseguest houseset us up for the dayfirst classb and bconvenient locationgreat place to staydefinitely stay here againnight's sleep
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is off a roundabout down a gravel terrace. We arrived earlier than we should and the owner kindly let us in. As we had only just arrived, from a long drive from Fort William and were hungry, before we went to our rooms,...More

Thank Travelguidebarbie
Response from Bernadette J, Owner at Glenaldor HouseResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for comments, regards Bernadette

Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Both my self and partner had a booking for a local wedding and hotel did not disappoint in any way. Not only was our room lovely and spacious but it was so clean and comfortable. Bernie who runs this private hotel guest house made us...More

Thank jaymoo69
Response from Bernadette J, Owner at Glenaldor HouseResponded 16 June 2018

Thank you for you great comments. I am so glad you enjoyed your sty, best wishes Bernie

Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Bernadette is a lovely, welcoming host. In fact she was our very first B&B experience! We were her only guests one of our two evenings and she was very accommodating ensuring we had enough breakfast etc. On that note breakfast was generous and delicious. Our...More

Thank catriona777
Response from Bernadette J, Owner at Glenaldor HouseResponded 7 May 2018

Thanks Catrina. Sorry you didn’t sleep well. The mattress has a memory foam topper so that could be why it felt soft to you. It is a standard double bed but as you say it might not be what you are use to. Hope you...More

Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for one night nice large room and spotless clean, big comfy bed and nice and quiet, 10 minute walk to town centre, Breakfast cooked fresh to order and could not fault was delicious and set me up for the day. Would definitely recommend...More

Thank baile67
Response from Bernadette J, Owner at Glenaldor HouseResponded 26 April 2018

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the review kind Regards Bernadette

Reviewed 21 April 2018

Glenaldor House is adjacent to Dumfries train station, making it a convenient location for lodging. An easy walk of 10 minutes will take you to town centre, The Old Bridge, and River Nith. The house owner, Bernadette, offers selfless service toward the needs of the...More

Thank bruysmerrill
Response from Bernadette J, Owner at Glenaldor HouseResponded 26 April 2018

Many thanks for your great review. Hope you had a good rest of your journey. Regards Bernadette

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$93 - US$102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Glenaldor House Dumfries, Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$93 - US$102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Glenaldor House Dumfries, Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Hotel class
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$93 - US$102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Glenaldor House Dumfries, Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lorettawill999
25 October 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DavidIrving | Property representative |
Evening and thanks for the note. Usually it is no problem to check in a bit earlier. Either ring me or book on our online booking on our webiste and just put on the comment line when you would like to arrive - I will get... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Family room is lovely and spacious with extra large en suite!"
Read review
"A double bed in the back of the building was quiet, with a huge bathroom would be if it from suitcase stands"
Read review
"We had a large double at the back. Quiet, large bedroom and bathroom"
Read review
"My room was at the back of the hotel with no appreciable view but I was not in my room for any length of time..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing