We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Balmoral Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (118)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 4 hotels in Moffat
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Welcome to Balmoral Hotel, your Moffat “home away from home.” Balmoral Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Given the close proximity to St Andrew's Parish Church (0.1 mi), guests of Balmoral Hotel can easily experience one of Moffat's most popular landmarks.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV and a refrigerator, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to newspaper while staying at Balmoral Hotel. In addition, Balmoral Hotel offers free breakfast, which will help make your Moffat trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Claudios Restaurant, which is an Italian restaurant that is popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

Best of all, Balmoral Hotel makes it easy to experience some great Moffat attractions like Moffat Museum, which is a popular history museum.

Balmoral Hotel puts the best of Moffat at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Seating area
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
420Reviews3Q+A99Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 289
  • 97
  • 13
  • 8
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
thebrook5 wrote a review Mar 2024
Chorley, United Kingdom48 contributions15 helpful votes
Absolutely Stunning. Part of a 4 day tour round Southern Scotland and would definitely return. Staff are very attentive but not too much. We stayed I the cottages and they were basic but clean and the water and chocolates a liovely touch. We booked a table for tea and the only down side to the whole stay was the table we were given was in the bar area by the door. Would have preferred to be in the eating area,BUT the food was delicious, plentiful and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was served quickly and was once again delicious. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is free and plentiful.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alison U wrote a review Mar 2024
Redhill, United Kingdom19 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Stayed in the Old Stables cottage, very spacious. Really good location, lovely, friendly staff, great atmosphere. The food was really good, the breakfast each morning was lovely; on the Friday my husband had the Fillet Steak and I had the Beef and Guiness pie, both really tasty. Live band on Saturday afternoon. All in all, a great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SMcK67 wrote a review Mar 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom34 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed in the old stables which is a 2 bed flat with kitchen/living area (massive). Upstairs is 2 bedrooms with shower / toilet. I was well impressed with my booking. Complimentary chocolates, water and coke added that extra special touch. Breakfast was delicious with attentive friendly staff. Excellent location and will definitely return when down in Moffat again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Book either cottage 1 or 2 for this great experience.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gary D wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Staff amazing they went above and beyond to ensure our stay was perfect. The local clientele were very friendly also. Rooms spotless and the food and service at breakfast and dinner was faultless ( I can highly recommend the fillet steak ). Already booked my return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Giff, Innkeeper at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi. Thankyou very much for your lovely review. Hope to see you next time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
iain d wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions3 helpful votes
One of the worst restaurants i have ever been in the barmaid/waitress was really arrogant and cheeky we sat for 30 minutes with the menu awaiting to give our order as she completely ignored us passing our table at least a dozen times then when we decided to leave she started giving us abuse we will never go there again !!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not go in !!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Giff, Innkeeper at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Hello. So disappointed to receive this review this evening. I dont know what has happened at this stage however i will try to find out. Please accept my unreserved apology for the experience you have had.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
barbara s wrote a review Feb 2024
Chesterfield, United Kingdom40 contributions42 helpful votes
We stayed at the Balmoral on the 17th and 24th February to break up our journey to Cromarty on the Black Isle each way. This was about the halfway point. We arrived to a friendly welcome and got our keys to room 12. The room was a really good size with TV, T &C making facilities with hot chocolate also. There was a fridge with a jug of milk, 2 complimentary bottles of coke and 2 bottles of water. There were also biscuits and on the table, a dish of sweets ( Cadburys celebrations) all nice touches. There was also a sink area to wash cups. The bedroom was separate from the lounge with en suite bathroom. Decent shower. Large wardrobe, drawers and bedside cabinets. Reading some f the reviews people said it was quite noisy from the bar area downstairs but we didn’t hear any noise. We had 2 very comfortable nights and would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was included which was really nice and plentiful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Free parking outside the hotel. Forgot to add that the evening meals were good too .
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jaypo63 wrote a review Feb 2024
Biggar, United Kingdom48 contributions21 helpful votes
We were really in two minds whether to go to this pub for a meal as when booking,we were informed that the rugby would be on,when we arrived the place was full and I did hesitate to go in but so glad we did,they had set up tables for diners at the back. Yes it was rowdy but only to be expected,especially as Scotland was winning (miracle in itself 😆) The food was excellent,gorgeous creamy mushrooms to start with then the biggest battered fish I've ever seen,hubby had a burger and said it was lovely. Staff very friendly and efficient. Had our little dog with us which wasn't a problem,great evening had and a bunch of happy Scots is a sight to behold,I don't even like rugby but even I was watching it and cheering 🤣 Will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Giff, Innkeeper at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 29 Feb 2024
Thankyou very much
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jinty478 wrote a review Feb 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom478 contributions217 helpful votes
Third time staying here room very spacious, coffe, tea, biscuits, water, cola and milk in fridge comfy sofa as well good shower staff vey friendly and good breakfast first time we have ate in hotel at night however far to noisy for me the restaurant is in the bar and it was crowded so service was slow not the staff,s fault also there was a dog constantly barking and kids running about which kind of spoiled our meal although the food was fine will return but probably eat some where else
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Steven K wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
We were there over the new year period (3 nights) and it was excellent as always.The room was very spacious and the little things like bowl of sweets,biscuit barrel,FRESH MILK in a jug for your tea or coffe and a mini bar with complementary water and bottles of coke were much appreciated.The breakfast options are great and the food freshly cooked to order.We ate dinner in the hotel twice during our stay and again the choices /options and price were excellent.On New Year’s Eve they even provided a free buffet for guests and patrons to enjoy.The staff are all very charming and professional and a good laugh to boot.Luckily for us we have another couple of stays there to look forward to in February for the 6 nations
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Giff, Innkeeper at Balmoral Hotel
Responded 29 Feb 2024
Thankyou very much
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Colin L wrote a review Nov 2023
4 contributions
An excellent hotel. Staff pleasant and efficient. Both our evening meal and cooked breakfast were very good although there is no separate dining area and is within the greater bar area. We stayed on a Friday night so it was quite noisy from the bar area. We particularly liked the tea and coffee making facilities with a jug of milk in the fridge but an unexpected bonus was the dish of chocolates provided! Would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Moffat area.
PRICE RANGE
£92 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
balmoral hotel moffat
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandDumfries and GallowayMoffat
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BALMORAL HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Moffat)

Frequently Asked Questions about Balmoral Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Balmoral Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Moffat Toffee Shop (0.03 miles), Station Park (0.3 miles), and Moffat Museum (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Balmoral Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Balmoral Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Balmoral Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Balmoral Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Balmoral Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brodies, Cafe Ariete, and Claudios Restaurant.
Is Balmoral Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Moffat.
Are there any historical sites close to Balmoral Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Benwell Vallum Crossing (3.1 miles).