We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Queens Hotel

Save
Share
Queens Hotel Buildings Nethergate 160 Nethergate, Dundee DD1 4DU Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (151)
Room & Suite (70)
Dining (28)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 28/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Best Western Queens Hotel
Updated 28/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 27 hotels in Dundee
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A Warm Scottish Welcome Awaits You At The Best Western Queen's Hotel, Dundee The Best Western Queen's Hotel is situated in the bustling West End of Dundee, making it the perfect choice of accommodation for enjoying the City of Discovery. Our friendly team extend a warm welcome to tourists and visitors from far and wide, and we guarantee you will enjoy the very best in Scottish hospitality when you spend your holiday or short break in Dundee, with us. As well as being just a short walk from the shops, restaurants and theatres, we are also perfectly located for business travelers and conference delegates, and those visiting the University of Dundee and Abertay University. With ample car parking in heart of the City Centre, and only a few minutes taxi journey from the train station, bus station and Dundee airport, The Best Western Queen's Hotel is your first choice accommodation provider for short breaks, holidays and touring trips of Scotland. The Best Western Queen's Hotel enjoys
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Polish and 1 more
882Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 291
  • 311
  • 164
  • 67
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
bruce r wrote a review Yesterday
Glasgow, United Kingdom40 contributions9 helpful votes
Excellent staff very friendly and helpful,breakfast was amazing ,not to much just the right amount to choose from,Bedroom was clean and well looked after ,would highly recommend a stay here and we will be back
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Odyssey16986100083 wrote a review 13 Sep
3 contributions
Hotel is only a few minutes walk from the train station and bus station. Check in and check out was super easy with very nice staff. Room was fine. Decor/furniture is dated, but that's not a major issue. Bed was very comfortable and the shower was super powerful (a definite plus). Internet was fine. TV had ups and downs. It was nice to have access to different apps (BBC IPlayer, ITV, Channel 4 etc.), but it was a bit tough to find a guide for live TV. Was manageable for us, but I could see my parents having trouble with it. Overall would stay again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Leah Melville, General Manager at Best Western Queens Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Queens Hotel. I was pleased to read your positive comments about the staff and will be sure to pass these onto the team. We hope you will return to us on any future visits to Dundee.
Read more
Alasdair-Roxburgh wrote a review 12 Sep
Wooler, United Kingdom326 contributions158 helpful votes
Had a fantastic stay here. Central location. Great spacious car parking for free. Speedy Covid safe check in. Spotless bedroom. Super comfy bed which felt brand new. Excellent in room facilities. Really powerful shower. Lots of piping hot water. Good breakfast provision including lovely smoked fish with poached eggs. Really handy for shopping, city centre attractions such as V&A and Dundee Rep Theatre. Although this hotel is a big old Victorian landmark and has very traditional decor, the bedrooms and bathrooms are modern and would highly recommend for any leisure trip.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Leah Melville, General Manager at Best Western Queens Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Queens Hotel on your recent visit to Dundee and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay. At the Queens, we strive to provide superior levels of service to our guests and our team will be glad to know we made your time with us so memorable! We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Rosemary L wrote a review 9 Sep
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom16 contributions13 helpful votes
Lovely staff, to a person. A credit to the place. Easy access to the centre. Sadly, dated and for such an iconic building, the most bizarre decoration I’ve ever seen. Badly needing updated. The oak bannisters are possibly unsafe- they wobble! Our room, 216, was tiny, with no ventilation at all, smelled and had 24 hour noise from a generator/something. Bed was seriously awful. The room needs completely gutted and made into a store cupboard. Breakfast was served 7-10 which was a lovely interval, and was presented well. Of the Scottish Breakfast, the sausage was nice but everything else was completely tasteless, which was a real disappointment. ‘Could do much better’, really. Parking is behind the building and we found a place easily but as is a public car park, but small, finding a space during the day might be difficult. Guests have an electronic car registration process, so is free. The beer was awful- stale.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Not Room 216!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Leah Melville, General Manager at Best Western Queens Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Queens Hotel. I was pleased to read your comments regarding the staff and will be sure to pass these onto the team. I regret to read however that you did not enjoy your stay with us for many other reasons. We pride ourselves here at the Queens on great service and it appears that in housekeeping, food and bar we did not deliver. I would have rather discussed this with you at the hotel and tried to rectify the problems. I will look at each of the issues you mentioned and hope that you will return to us for any future visits to the area to allow us to provide a better service.
Read more
Helen D wrote a review 9 Sep
Glasgow, United Kingdom14 contributions20 helpful votes
Myself and a friend stayed here for 2 nights and have to say we keep returning to this great hotel, very central, fantastic Staff and spotlessly clean and food amazing so much so I have booked again for October with some other friends, big thank you to Leah and julie for everything and please pass onto your staff our thanks and see you again in october…..
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Leah Melville, General Manager at Best Western Queens Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us here at the Queens Hotel and for choosing to stay with us here at the Queens. We look forward to seeing you in October.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$59 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western dundee, dundee best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandDundee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Queens Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Queens Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Penguin Statues (0.2 miles), Dundee Contemporary Arts (0.04 miles), and Dundee Rep Theatre (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Queens Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Queens Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Queens Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Queens Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gallery 48, Mozza, and Ciao Sorrento.
Is Best Western Queens Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Dundee.
Does Best Western Queens Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Queens Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Queens Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Verdant Works (0.4 miles), Claypotts Castle (3.7 miles), and Dundee International Submarine Monument (0.8 miles).
Does Best Western Queens Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Best Western Queens Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.