We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Show Prices
#84 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,076: English reviews
San Salvador, El Salvador
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel has good location, close to downtown to apreciate the monuments, central parks , restaurants and more. But the staff was cold and nothing service oriented. The food was typical diches and very plenty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cristalesavila
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear cristalesavila, many thanks for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was ideal for your sight-seeing. I was surprised to read of your experience with our team which our guests usually...

Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is at the bottom of the royal mile, not the worst location but not that great. It was suppose to be free wifi in room, but my room had no wifi connection or cell service. They said I can make my calls in the lobby where there is service.. oh thanks. beds were very uncomfortable and rooms were tiny....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahhruby
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear Hannah Ruby, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh Royal Mile. I am very sorry to hear that we were not to what you expected from the Holiday Inn Express brand and sincerely apologise for this. As you can see from previous reviews that majority of the time...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As always - guaranteed a great room and warm welcome!!! Room a great size, bathroom lovely. Extremely comfy beds. Breakfast in the mornings are a good size with lots to choose from. Best part -- great location. Just 4mins walk from the castle and just off the main High street/ Royal mile. Surrounded by great pubs, bars and restaurants. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GeeAliThorne
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear GeeAliThrone, Thank you for such an amazing review on TripAdvisor. I have passed on your comments to the team who were delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. They wanted me to pass on their thanks and say that it was a delight to welcome you to Edinburgh. Our location is brilliant and we are just...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great stay with 3 young children. Friendly staff who were very helpful. Rooms standard for HI Express -- clean and spacious. Good central location. Close for restaurants, bars and attractions. Parking close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StueyH73
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear StueyH73, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh Royal Mile. It is great to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable time with us. The team are always looking to see how they can help our guests and love to give our guests a warm welcome....

Malta
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good hotel. Very clean and very helpful staff. Basic but good selection of breakfast items. Location in the Old Town was a bonus. Location was excellent and could walk to many sites - castle, cathedral. Surrounded by many local pubs. Would definitely recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fmamocefai
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night with my husband and 2 young children. I wasn't expecting too much but the hotel was fine for our one night. Room was a big cramped for the 4 of us, wouldn't want to be staying more than a night but it was clean and quiet. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Hannover, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel many times before but we have to say that this time we were very disappointed in particular with the very very poor and slow wi fi that was so so slow that I could not even open my newspaper to read quite disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IGW187351
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear IGW187351, Thank you for staying with us again. It is always great to hear from our regular guests. However I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed on this occasion in regards to our WiFi. We were not aware that there was any issues with the connection and appreciate you taking the time to let us aware of...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Is just out of the world, how much they charge me for the New Years Eve, and i did not recive basic service next day !!! This is just horrible expiriance, I travel a lot but soch thing like no revice becouse of New Year Day is just unprofesional. Is this a hotel? I dont think so. Avoide, spend money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hoseperez
hiexpressrm, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear hiseperez, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile. We are very sorry to hear that you did not receive the service that you would expect from the Holiday Inn Express brand. Our prices are checked daily to ensure that we are offering the best rates possible...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Two night stay to hit many of Edinburgh's highlights. Reasonably priced, the rooms were clean and relatively quiet. The breakfast was typical hotel fare, with plenty of seating. The location was excellent with many sites, including the castle, cathedral, portrait gallery within a five minute walk. Surrounded by shopping and many dinning options. Would definitely book here again for a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew B
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear Andrew B, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh Royal Mile. Our location is very hard to beat to see the sights of Edinburgh. Conveniently located in the Old Town where we are slightly off beaten track on the Cowgate. The Royal Mile is about a couple hundred...

Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed here quite a few times over the previous years, we alternate between here and Picardy Place. Both are fantastic quality hotels but this is better suited for the sights, especially the Castle and the Royal Mile. Very clean with very helpful staff. No problems at all. We will definately be back in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike769953
hiexpressrm, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile, responded to this review

Dear Mike769953, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh Royal Mile. It is always great to hear from our regular guests and the team were delighted to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us. Location for us is amazing with being only a couple hundred yards off...

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,349 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edinburgh city centre budget hotels don't come any better than the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel, Edinburgh's only Express hotel with air conditioned guestrooms. There's FREE Wi-Fi internet access in the public areas and cabled access in the guestrooms plus an extensive complimentary hot breakfast buffet too - this Edinburgh budget hotel is sure to be a popular choice! As the name suggests Edinburgh's newest superior budget hotel is located in Edinburgh's quaint Old Town, just moments from the historic Royal Mile, Waverley Train Station and internationally renowned attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, Scottish Parliament Building, Princes Street and more. For sports fans the Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh-Royal Mile hotel is within easy reach of Murrayfield Stadium, home of Scottish Rugby, as well as Hearts Football Club & Hibernian Football Club. For meetings in Edinburgh our fully equipped, air conditioned meeting room can accommodate up to 40 delegates. Thanks to our FREE Wi-Fi internet access delegates meeting in Edinburgh can keep in touch while on the go! Our location is perfect for delegates attending the Edinburgh International Conference Centre. NCP Car park 3 mins walk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile

Address: 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: £62 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Express Edinburgh Royal Mile
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile Scotland
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book without breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles 133drewr, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid a room with a door connecting to the next room”
 of 5 bubbles WallaceGrommit, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As above opt gor non connecting room”
 of 5 bubbles suekingsley852, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We overlooked the church garden , really quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles shirleym57, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stayed on the first floor which I liked as it was so convenient. Stairs more efficient than the slow elevator (breakfast is downstairs).”
 of 5 bubbles Mary-Outlander, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay