We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1122)
Room & Suite (634)
Dining (82)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#102 of 161 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Paid internet
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Green
Languages Spoken
English
6,034Reviews50Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,613
  • 2,075
  • 1,301
  • 654
  • 393
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
arlene b wrote a review Today
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Kim from guest relations was an absolute star, we felt very welcomed seeing her in the morning. A ray of sunshine 🌞 Hotel was clean comfortable with ample choices for gluten free diet. Staff very pleasant and accommodating in a great location
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
milly_was_here_ wrote a review 11 Apr
Leeds, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely hotel close to the station and everything else Edinburgh has to offer. Modern clean rooms and very stylish. Special mention to Kym who works front of house. She is the warmest, kindest woman. I watched how hard she works during breakfast service- she is extremely hard working and maintains her professionalism whilst under pressure and dealing with difficult, rude customers. What a superstar!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience team , Other at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Responded yesterday
Good Afternoon milly_was_here_, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are happy to hear that you found our hotel to be lovely, in a great location, with modern clean rooms and amazingly kind staff. We will share you feedback with Kym and the rest of the team and we can’t wait to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards Melisa Customer Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roger S wrote a review 7 Apr
11 contributions1 helpful vote
This has to be one of the best hotels,both i Edinburgh and Scotland. Fantastic staff in reception and during breakfast. Very good cleaning,both in rooms and in public areas. The only thing that could be improved was the temp in the rooms,could not go lower than 18 degrees Will absolute stay here at my next visit
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The madress in bed could be maybe to hard for somone
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience team , Other at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 4 days ago
Good Afternoon N4937HDrogers, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave a review, we are happy to hear that you consider our hotel to be the best, with great cleanliness and fantastic staff throughout. We appreciate the feedback regarding the heating. We will pass this on to the team and we very much hope that we can welcome you back again soon! Kind regards Melisa Customer Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Yvonne W wrote a review 2 Apr
Birmingham, United Kingdom16 contributions8 helpful votes
I wanted to give them 4 stars but due to location of our room (208) we couldn't. We over looked building site & after early flight, we were hoping for power nap before going back out but unfortunately that was a no go due to all drilling & banging & they start early!! The room it's self was very spacious & clean. Reception staff & breakfast staff were very friendly. Location is great for exploring Edinburgh.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask if you are facing building site
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience team , Other at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 1 week ago
Dear yvonnew424, Many thanks for staying recently and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be spacious, clean, and with friendly staff. We apologise for the inconvenience caused by the noise from the nearby construction site. Guests' comfort is important to us, and we regret that we fell short of your expectations in this regard. We appreciate your understanding and hope that despite this inconvenience, you were able to enjoy exploring Edinburgh. We would love to have you around again in the future when it suits you the most! Best regards, Manol Customer Experience Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ellis P wrote a review 1 Apr
10 contributions
Whilst there was some noise from a nearby building site the staff at the hotel went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating to us. Allowing us to change rooms and support our travels and exploring the city. Kym was the highlight at breakfast, we would go back for her warm charm alone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a front facing room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience team , Other at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Ellis P, Many thanks for staying recently and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're pleased to hear that despite the noise from the nearby building site, our staff were able to make your stay enjoyable through their helpfulness and accommodation. It's wonderful to know that our team went out of their way to support your travels and exploring the city, including allowing you to change rooms to ensure your comfort. We're especially grateful for your kind words about Kym's warm charm at breakfast. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to her and the rest of our team. We would love to have you around again in the future when it suits you the most! Best regards, Manol Customer Experience Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Emma S wrote a review Mar 2024
Stevenage, United Kingdom19 contributions15 helpful votes
Sisters and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Staff were warm and welcoming. Very comfortable and in a great location. Great selection for breakfast. Good selection of non-alcoholic drinks in the room. Short walk from waverley station. Would definitely recommend to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience team , Other at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good morning Emma S, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate feedback from our customers, it’s a great way to tell what improvements we can make to further make your future stay even better. We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent experience with us. It brings us great joy to know that your stay exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. Providing our guests with exceptional service and creating memorable experiences is our top priority, and we're delighted that we succeeded in doing so during your visit. We for sure do welcome you back to once again enjoy your time to our hotels. Kind regards Aksel Customer Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Travelbug wrote a review Mar 2024
31 contributions10 helpful votes
I’m surprised at the harsh reviews on this hotel as it was pretty good. The rooms were gorgeous and so cosy. Hotel was in a great location and the beds were so comfortable. The staff was also extremely friendly especially the lady who took us to our table at breakfast, the most lovely lady. The only downside I can think of is that the hotel has a lot of stag and hen parties which was slightly annoying but not at all the hotels fault.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience team , Other at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear D5114QHamyr, Many thanks for staying recently and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're thrilled to hear that you had a great visit and that you enjoyed our beautiful and cosy rooms. It's fantastic to know that our hotel's location suited your needs and that you found our beds to be comfortable. We're especially grateful for your kind words about our friendly staff, particularly the lady who assisted you at breakfast. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to her and the rest of the team. We apologise for any inconvenience caused by the presence of stag and hen parties during your stay. While it's beyond our control, we appreciate your understanding on this matter. We would love to have you around again in the future when it suits you the most! Best regards, Manol Customer Experience Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roadster623 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Nice hotel in a perfect location. Friendly housekeeping and front desk staff. Sadly our experience at your restaurant was less than enjoyable. Extremely rude and obnoxious restaurant staff. Jordan the bartender should not be in the hospitality industry. He was condescending, unprofessional and made us feel extremely uncomfortable. Kim the breakfast hostess same history. Rude and disrespectful. Not a good morning or even a smile. We had stayed at your hotel before (when it was Jurys) and enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay again so we booked our stay for 10 nights. Needless to say. This time, our experience at your restaurant was not pleasant at all. We will be returning to Edinburgh in September. Regards
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not eat at the restaurant
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience team , Other at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Roadster623, Many thanks for staying recently and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found our location convenient. Your kind words about our friendly housekeeping and front desk staff are greatly appreciated. We strive to provide excellent service to all our guests, and it is rewarding to know that our efforts have made a positive impact on your stay. We sincerely apologise for the less than enjoyable experience you had at our restaurant. It is disheartening to hear that you encountered rudeness and disrespect from our restaurant staff, and we apologise for any discomfort or inconvenience this may have caused you. Please rest assured that we take your feedback seriously and will address the behaviour of the individuals you mentioned with our management team to ensure that appropriate measures are taken. Providing excellent hospitality and service is our top priority, and we regret that we fell short of meeting your expectations during your recent visit. We appreciate your loyalty as a returning guest, and we would like to assure you that your feedback will be used to improve our services and ensure that future guests do not experience similar issues. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better during your next visit to Edinburgh in September. We would love to have you around again in the future when it suits you the most! Best regards, Manol Customer Experience Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kelly P wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Pretty disappointed. I've been checked into a room with facilities for those in a wheelchair (this was not shared with me at the time) which means the bathroom is laid out completely differently i.e. there's zero storage, no room for my toiletries. Perhaps if they had shared this at check in, I might be less frustrated. It's also nearly half five in the evening and there is construction work continuing to take place next door - it's loud and distracting and I'm surprised that hasn't been recognised in some way by the hotel. For what I've paid for this hotel, I am thoroughly disappointed. Look for other options.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience team , Other at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear kellypI548CZ, Many thanks for staying recently and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am very sorry to read that your recent stay didn't meet your expectations. It's our sincerest wish to make our visitors feel at home, in the most comfortable and luxurious way possible and I can only apologise that the issues you've raised prevented that. I do hope you had an opportunity to raise some of your concerns while you were with us, as I know the team would have been eager to do everything possible to improve matters. I very much hope you'll be able to return to a Leonardo hotel soon and we'll be able to start to improve your journey as a customer. Best regards, Manol Customer Experience Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Diana H wrote a review Mar 2024
Kendal, United Kingdom26 contributions9 helpful votes
We had a wonderful stay at The Royal Leonard Hotel. Greeted by a warm and friendly receptionist and then offered a glass of Prosecco. What a great start! Our room was very stylish, clean, light and airy with fantastic views over Waverley Station and the city. It was also very quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the room had everything you might need whilst staying. A particularly lovely touch was a bottle of wine and card welcoming us. Breakfast was fresh with plenty of choice for all tastes. This is a big hotel, which is probably always busy and we only stayed one night but we felt valued and appreciated. We will be very happy to return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience team , Other at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Diana H Many thanks for staying recently and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. It brings us great joy to know that you enjoyed the warm and friendly welcome from our receptionist, as well as the complimentary glass of Prosecco upon arrival. We are delighted that you found your room stylish, clean, and equipped with everything you needed for a comfortable stay. It's fantastic to hear that you appreciated the fantastic views over Waverley Station and the city, as well as the peaceful atmosphere. We're glad that you found the bed comfortable and that you enjoyed the bottle of wine and card welcoming you to the hotel. Additionally, we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast offerings with plenty of choices to suit all tastes. We would love to have you around again in the future when it suits you the most! Best regards, Manol Customer Experience Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£126 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jurys inn edinburgh hotel edinburgh, jurys hotel edinburgh, edinburgh jurys hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LEONARDO ROYAL HOTEL EDINBURGH - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Which popular attractions are close to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh?
Nearby attractions include The Real Mary King's Close (0.2 miles), Edinburgh Old Town (0.3 miles), and The Chocolatarium (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh?
Conveniently located restaurants include 3 Blind Mice, Solti, and Howies Waterloo Place.
Is Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (0.2 miles), Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.5 miles), and Gladstone's Land (0.3 miles).
Is Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.