We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1195)
Room & Suite (398)
Dining (104)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#57 of 160 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Radisson Blu Hotel is located in the heart of the historic Royal Mile in Edinburgh's old town, just a short walk to major city centre attractions. Walk to the iconic Edinburgh Castle, National Museum of Scotland, the Scottish Parliament and Edinburgh's famous shopping thoroughfare, Princes street. The hotel is also within easy reach of Holyrood Palace and Holyrood Park. Arthur's Seat, the park's highest point, has stunning views of the Scottish capital.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French
3616Reviews84Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,205
  • 926
  • 284
  • 131
  • 70
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
M1809 wrote a review 27 Feb
Porthcawl, United Kingdom110 contributions121 helpful votes
Booked this hotel as I knew it was in a great location on The Royal Mile. Flew to Edinburgh early in the morning and caught the fantastic tram from outside the airport to the centre of the City in 25mins. A 10 minute walk from Princes Street and we were at the hotel. We couldn’t get in to our room until 3pm so we left our luggage at reception. First impressions, the reception staff and especially the concierge were friendly and helpful. We had a coffee in the lobby area and noticed that some of the lobby chairs were in a bad condition with rips and tears and needed repair or replacing. We then walked around Edinburgh for a few hours and visited some attractions before checking in at 4pm. On getting to the room, it was cold. I also noticed one of the bed side tables had what appeared to be a drink stain tipped over it. I phoned reception and after 15 minutes of waiting, i got through. I was offered a portable electric heater until the room warmed up and was told that someone would come to clean the table. There were no complimentary biscuits with rather tea and coffee in the room. We used the swimming pool and steam room. Facilities were good but the floor of the male changing room needed cleaning and there was a plaster floating in the swimming pool. The sauna wasn’t hot enough and a staff member told us that this was a known problem. Apart from the initial problem with the room, it was large and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom and the shower over the bath was very good. The complimentary shower gel wasn’t refilled during our stay. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice for everyone, probably as good as I’ve had in any hotel. Overall, a very good stay and fantastic location. This hotel was expensive for Edinburgh and for the price we paid, I wouldn’t expect some of the issues we encountered.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Callan Nicolson, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre
Responded yesterday
Good Afternoon and thank you for taking your time to leave us your review. We would like to apologise regarding the few problems you encountered during your stay. We take all of our reviews and comments in detail and pass them onto our relevant department to have these issues looked into and recitified. If you have any further information you would like to discuss from during your stay then please do not hesitate to get in touch. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future and make your stay one to enjoy this time around. Kind Regards Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stacey H wrote a review Apr 2022
Woodborough, United Kingdom12 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
My husband and I had our wedding reception here on 16th April 2022 following a short ceremony at the Edinburgh City Chambers. We stayed two nights, pre-wedding and the wedding night itself. I had called up the Radisson Blu events team 6 weeks prior to see on the off chance if they had availability for our event. Our original venue weren't being great with communicational and something felt 'off' but we thought we'd try our luck elsewhere - so glad we did because the Radisson Blu actually made our wedding. The prices were fabulous per person for meals and drinks, far cheaper than elsewhere. It fitted our small budget perfectly! We arrived in Edinburgh to discover our families accommodation (5 bed apartment elsewhere for 11 people) was absolutely vile. Dirty, uncared for and unsafe (the external doors didn't lock!). In a panic, we tried to rearrange accom but it being Easter weekend the pricing on the Internet for alternative accom was proposterous. I decided to call Joseph (Head of Operations) at the hotel to explain the situation, he said he'd speak to Head of Front Desk, Fabio. Within minutes I had a returned phone call me from Fabio assuring me that the family all had rooms reserved, I wasn't to panic and to enjoy what I was doing - their keys were waiting at reception for them. The room rate was AMAZING and included breakfast too! We all arrived and enjoyed some lovely drinks at the bar then headed to the Great Scot Room to finish setting up the tables for the next day. In the morning, we all had breakfast (BEST BUFFET EVER!) and we're looked after by Ericcson. He was the most attentive waiter ever and couldn't of been any nicer. Friendly, helpful and respectful! The breakfast is worth the hotel stay. We have children following a gluten free diet and the options were incredible. Following breakfast, the kids and family headed to the pool. Absolutely outstanding, stunning and clean! The normal wedding jazz then occurred. When we returned, our bags had been moved to the Royal suite (free upgrade!) and prosecco awaited us! The Royal suite is EVERYTHING you'd want from a suite and more. It's huge! All our guests had some lovely prosecco too before we moved into the Great Scot Room for our speeches, meal and more drinks. Well, what can I say here? The food was exceptional! The entire menu was gluten free, as was the vegan menu too. The food was beautiful and the presentation was just utterly perfect. The service was perfect too. Professional but warm, fast and flexible - we had to arrange an alternative meal for a guest but this was promptly dealt with without issue. The Great Scot Hall is just perfect. The events team had even arranged some toys to be out for our 4 young children to play with. It made everything so much easier. No children to entertain and the doors closed so we didn't have any escapees - we could relax entirely! Toilets were all immaculate roo and well serviced. The night continued but then luckily it was time to enjoy our suite! The room was so comfortable, quiet (despite being on the Royal Mile) and the air con worked perfectly. The next morning, we were met with Easter eggs for all the children af breakfast and a large table that had been put together to accommodate our large party (we didn't even request this but it was such a thoughtful thing to do!). Ericcson was fabulous as normal and helped see that all our needs were seen too. We were so sad to leave! Honestly, this hotel is the perfect event hotel. The attention to detail from Sarah on the events team, the swiftness and friendliness of Joseph and the absolute lifesaver, Fabio. Fabio really displayed customer service skills like nothing I've ever seen before. If I owned a hotel, I'd of poached him on the spot. They, and all the other friendly faces, made our wedding weekend the best weekend of our lives. We can never thank you enough!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
GeoMac31 wrote a review 26 Feb
Inverness, United Kingdom1 contribution
No WiFi first off. Veeeeery pricey which I didn't felt reflected the hotel. Location is the best part. Room requests were ignored which was upsetting as I needed an extra pillow for my disability to sleep better (even if they said no, some communication would have been nice). Food buffet was excellent but few options for children I.e juices, cereals etc
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Callan Nicolson, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre
Responded 2 days ago
Good Afternoon and thank you for your review. We would like to apologise regarding the few problems you came across during your stay. Our maintenance team were updating our systems and this will have been the cause of the Wifi not functioning correctly however this was advertised throughout the hotel to make all of our guests aware. We hope we can welcome you back with us in the near future. Kind Regards Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Auriol S wrote a review 26 Feb
4 contributions
Very friendly welcome from all staff. Some really brilliant advice from Aidan M in the bar regarding great places to eat for brunch which really paid off. Clean, spacious rooms which were very well equipped. Fantastic central location right in the middle of everything
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Callan Nicolson, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre
Responded 2 days ago
Good Afternoon and thank you for your review. I will pass on this feedback to our bar staff which i know they will be very happy with. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Simontheyraveller wrote a review 25 Feb
1 contribution
Recently stayed here and it’s excellent The check in staff are polite and helpful The hotel is Modern and clean and in a great location 10/10 would recommend Good value for money for the great service and facilities
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Callan Nicolson, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre
Responded 2 days ago
Good Afternoon and thank you for your feedback and review. We hope to welcome you back here with us at Radisson Blu in the near future. Kind Regards Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
6730LaMi wrote a review 25 Feb
49 contributions51 helpful votes
An excellent hotel where everything works extremely well. Friendly staff from check-in to check-out. Special thanks to Priya (breakfast service) and Neill (bar). The location of the hotel is also good. One of the best hotels I have stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Callan Nicolson, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre
Responded 2 days ago
Good Afternoon and thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I will pass on your mentions to our breakfast and bar staff and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Natalie wrote a review 24 Feb
2 contributions
Hotel is fantastic, clean, modern and comfortable. Location is perfect walking distance to everything. There are so many restaurants, pubs and cafes near by. Edinburgh castle is a 5 min walk from hotel. Staff are so friendly and welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Callan Nicolson, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre
Responded 5 days ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback regarding your recent stay. We are so pleased you had such a great time with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the near future. Please let us know if we can do anything else for you. Kind Regards, Radisson Blu Edinburgh
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
trudiereid wrote a review 22 Feb
1 contribution
Our stay was ok but expected more for what we paid especially the room as we paid for a superior room. I would not be in a hurry to recommend this hotel to friends and family in the future. Although the rest of the hotel was good i was disappointed with our room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Callan Nicolson, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre
Responded 6 days ago
Good Afternoon and thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologise regarding your room. Did you call reception when you had realised your room was not what you had expected? Our front office team would of been more than happy to look at an alternate room for you depending on what was available at that time. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ben S wrote a review 21 Feb
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom4 contributions
Great service from the get go - we arrived 4 hours early hopping to just drop our bags off until checkin time only to be welcomed with fresh tea / coffee and the receptionist getting our room ready within 10 min 👍👍 Cocktails then taken late afternoon in the bar served perfectly by Aidan 🤩 Much appreciated guys 👍🤩
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Callan Nicolson, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre
Responded 6 days ago
Good Afternoon and thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was made to be an enjoyable and relaxing experience for you. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrea wrote a review 21 Feb
Oxenhope, United Kingdom126 contributions116 helpful votes
We had a lovely warm welcome by an elder gentleman on concierge dressed in his kilt who looked very dapper and check in was swift with good banter. Our room was a ‘Superior’ but sadly not that superior the room was very tired looking with a piece of inch wood between the mattress and bed base probably to make it firmer which didn’t work and the pillows very soft and cheap, we did ask for better ones but there was very little difference. The toiletries fixed to the wall had old products in and the conditioner sadly came out like curdled butter and I had to rewash my hair. The room was carpeted and very aged and felt very dirty and would be so much nicer with a wooden floor. The room was a nice size, with lots of Windows they all opened to allow the nice brisk Scottish air to circulate which we like. Location is perfect, staff very attentive, check out good. We don’t think we will return unless there is an updated room available next time but we did enjoy our two days in this amazing city.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Callan Nicolson, Guest Services / Front Office at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre
Responded 6 days ago
Good Afternoon and thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback. Thank you for recognising our staff for their professional and welcoming attitude towards our guests. We would like to apologise regarding the few problems you came across during your stay. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future and make your experience better for you. Kind Regards Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£152 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
radisson blu hotel, edinburgh hotel edinburgh, radisson edinburgh, edinburgh radisson, radisson hotel edinburgh
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghCowgate / Old Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
238
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RADISSON BLU HOTEL, EDINBURGH CITY CENTRE - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of Scotland (0.2 miles), Edinburgh Old Town (0.2 miles), and The Real Mary King's Close (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, 3 Blind Mice, and Solti.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh City Centre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.