We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Old Waverley Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (788)
Room & Suite (484)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#108 of 160 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh’s city centre is on the famous Princes Street. This 3 star Edinburgh hotel offers fantastic accommodation, suited to a range of budgets; for leisure and corporate guests alike. The city centre hotel places guests within reach of the financial district and all of the top attractions, including Edinburgh Castle. Nestled into the heart of central Edinburgh, within easy reach of the financial district and top attractions like Edinburgh Castle, George Street and the National Museum, the Old Waverley Hotel is a vibrant merger of Victorian charm and modern comfort. Distinguished by our traditional elegance and cosy, comfortable accommodation with the best views of Edinburgh Castle, Scott Monument and bustling Princes Street, we offer business and leisure travellers a unique and personalised city centre retreat. In addition to classically designed rooms, the hotel features the Abbotsford Room for cocktails, and the elegant Cranston’s Restaurant, which brings hotel guests and neighbourhood residents together for local Scottish fayre and splendid views of Princes Street. For guests who wish to host a small event at the hotel, Cranston’s is available for private functions. Come to the Old Waverley Hotel and discover Edinburgh as it was meant to be experienced.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 7 more
2766Reviews43Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 715
  • 1,109
  • 563
  • 209
  • 170
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
debs13579 wrote a review Feb 2024
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom4 contributions
When going to Edinburgh we always book at the Waverley and so far have not been disappointed. It is central to shopping and places of interest. Buses and trams travel every few minutes, making the whole of Edinburgh easily accessible. Whilst the staff and decor change over the years, the hotel is clean and comfortable and the food is simple, reasonably priced and tasty. The staff are always helpful and courteous, making it a very relaxed and welcoming environment. I would recommend and will be returning again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The trams and passing nightlife can be heard into the wee small hours but no different to all...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Old Waverley Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We do appreciate your kind comments about our staff, location and facilities. We are so glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
D. Browning Gibson wrote a review May 2023
74 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Elegant, timeless charm perfumes the halls, its scent enhanced by the chipped, period desktops throughout the rooms and the tartan-carpeted, wide staircase's scuffed and scratched wooden banisters (that in any other establishment would demand sanding and staining but here feels like a familiar welcome of open arms). Beds and pillows are firm and inviting, rooms large without carpeting (much appreciated), wifi strength is good, though it occasionally disconnects. A charming lounge and bar offer food and drinks with windows onto an idyllic panorama of Princes Street Gardens and the bespoke agglomeration of Old Town's ascending northern perimeter. Those same views, including the sturdy yet intricately-crafted Victorian Scott Monument across the street, brighten guests' mornings in the breakfast room, which hosts an expansive spread that itself also delights (and includes the number one thing I craved: muesli with cold milk). A most wonderful location on the main axis of Edinburgh that is Princes Street for quick departures to New Town and a visit to Georgian House, to Old Town and the escape and escapades offered by the Royal Mile, and to transportation hubs--train and tram--at Waverly Station and St. Andrew's Square, respectively, means the Old Waverly exudes...Location. Proximity. The enchanting Waterstones bookstore beckons just a short stroll down Princes Street to the west, where, just prior to the bookstore, Ben's Cookies serves the most chocolatey, creamy ice cream I have sussed in all of Scotland, while an equally short stroll down Princes Street to the east awaits the majestic views of Arthur's Seat and Salisbury Crags from atop Calton Hill. I cannot recommend the Old Waverly Hotel any further without risk of rightfully being accused of gushing.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Old Waverley Hotel
Responded 30 May 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We do appreciate your kind comments about our staff, location and facilities. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Topsyturvey wrote a review Feb 2024
9 contributions8 helpful votes
Fantastic hotel, located opposite Scott Monument, perfect for bus,tram and trains. Clean room, comfy bed, proper bath fluffy towels. Staff friendly breakfast usual items but lacking veggie/vegan alternatives, you may need to ask ? I bought oat milk from local Sainsburys ( turn right from hotel the left up Jenners building) and used to make tea/coffee etc. Wifi is hit and miss but its a beautiful old building with solid walls and high ceilings and therefore wont be brilliant..Our room was quite noisy due to traffic so bring earplugs. Would stay again. Edinburgh has stollen my heart 💙
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are about 20 steps to get to reception, no lift until you get there so not good for those...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Old Waverley Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andy606 wrote a review Feb 2024
York, United Kingdom56 contributions58 helpful votes
I want to rate the hotel 3.5 out of 5. It was such a mixed experience. Location is excellent. The communal areas (dining room and bar) were nice and the service was generally very good. But the bedroom was incredibly basic and sparse, with poor decor, no wardrobe and only one socket. Expected much better for the price. That said, the cleaning was good & bathroom was better (other than impossible to regulate water temperature). Breakfast was also very mixed - some bits nice, but the scrambled egg was consistently dreadful, sausages weren’t great and the haggis was soggy. Most strangely, we were charged a mandatory “deposit” on arrival with no real explanation - seems unusual, especially at a cost of £150 per night… maybe would expect that a hostel. So all in all a mixed bag - wouldn’t say don’t stay here, but don’t expect too much.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Old Waverley Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative time with us. We do strive to offer our guests a personable and memorable experience and we are sorry if we were unable to offer you this on this particular occasion.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Welly78 wrote a review Feb 2024
St Helens, United Kingdom340 contributions252 helpful votes
Poor Afternoon Tea After travelling up to Scotland for a few days away, we fancied an afternoon tea and ended up at the Old Waverley. The afternoon tea was £18pp, which didn’t seem to bad until it arrived in front of us. 1 sandwich each and a very SMALL selection of miniature cakes & 1 scone each which disintegrated as soon as the knife went anywhere near it. The actual cup of tea was Luke warm and the cakes didn’t really have any taste to them. I asked for a pot of hot water, but the waiter seemed annoyed that I asked for it. Would I come here again? The answer is simply NO.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Old Waverley Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative time with us. We do strive to offer our guests a personable and memorable experience and we are sorry if we were unable to offer you this on this particular occasion.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Margoro2 wrote a review Feb 2024
oro6 contributions7 helpful votes
Perfect location to access trains, buses, taxis, and walk to the old town. Views from room window were amazing. Room had 3 single beds; it was clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast could not have been better. Overall, this was a great spot, full of character. Staff were helpful and friendly. We will return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Old Waverley Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BigglesWestbury wrote a review Jan 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom191 contributions125 helpful votes
A nice old fashioned hotel, pleasant staff, we had a room on the 6th floor overlooking Princes Street the room was lovely and cosy, the duvets were lovely and warm on the beds. There were 3 single beds in the room, could have done with removing one and a nice sofa to sit on. Room was cleaned and restocked everyday (nice biscuits) Breakfast was fine, plenty of choice, fresh porridge and eggs on request. Wi-Fi was very intermittent, a great place to stay, across the road from Waverley station and the airport bus stopped right on the corner of the hotel. Drinks were a fair price in the bar, downside was over 20 steps to reception before you reached the lifts to the rooms, though you could ring reception to get a hand up with your luggage
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Old Waverley Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sexyrexyCheshire wrote a review Jan 2024
Mazarron, Spain553 contributions249 helpful votes
Great location...comfortable room, bathroom good and a powerful shower..( to tired for a bath) lights and heating on when l arrived feeling cold and tired after an overseas journey, decaffeinated tea /coffe as requested waitingforme, fantastic duvet to snuggle under so had a good nights sleep Breakfast good ..bacon overdone for me, l had a friend egg cooked to order, plenty of choice and hot plates were available, tomatoes not warm enough as not directly under heat lamps... Not happy about the £25 deposit! This was Not mentioned on booking.com, when booking, and havving to wait up to 10 days for it to be returned??
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Old Waverley Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jo wrote a review Dec 2023
Western Australia, Australia66 contributions54 helpful votes
My family of three stayed here for three nights. The main good point has to be the fantastic location. It really is an excellent location to stay in while exploring Edinburgh. The public bar area was also enjoyable for having a few drinks and looking out at the beautiful view of the city if a seat was available. I found the bed in the hotel to be very comfortable , and in the room we slept in outside noise was minimal. The points that were not so good was the room was a little cold . The tv was poor - channel reception had interference and was unwatchable. There was no mobile phone charge point beside my bed. The WiFi was terrible. Staff were neither pleasant nor unpleasant. The last bad point for me was on arrival and every time we entered the hotel there was quite a bit of water pooled at the entrance and dripping from above the entrance. The hotel did the job location wise but could be so much better.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Old Waverley Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We are glad to hear that you had such a pleasant time with us, and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ij wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We can't recommend this. Booked it for the location and because it seems to be in a nice neighborhood (Balmoral practically across the street). However, this was an absolute disgrace. We feared for our health. The room was unclean, tiny, moist walls and almost everything seemed to be defect. The bed was sooo small and didn't fit both me and my husband (we are regular size people). Absolute disgrace. Can't believe this is allowed to call itself a hotel. Reception staff wouldn't fix complaints. I am guessing because they hear it every day and just wait for people to move out. Not the service we expected and paid for. Worst of all: NO WiFi in the room!! Also couldn't be fixed!!! Nightmare!!!! The pictures show the house keeping's stuff lining the hallways (at all times). Lovely atmosphere
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't come here if you want a functioning nice hotel room that doesn't make you afraid of your...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Old Waverley Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We always value our guests’ feedback, as we are continually looking to improve the experiences we can provide. We understand that there are some areas of disrepair and damage throughout the property and we are continuously carrying out refurbishments.  We are currently in the process of renovating all rooms and public areas of the hotel, and regret to hear that you did not experience one of these updated rooms. We do hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£70 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
old waverley hotel, old waverley edinburgh, waverley hotel edinburgh, edinburgh hotel old waverly, edinburgh hotel waverley
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghNew Town / Princes Street and Gardens
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE OLD WAVERLEY HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Edinburgh)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Waverley Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Old Waverley Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Real Mary King's Close (0.2 miles), Camera Obscura and World of Illusions (0.3 miles), and Royal Mile (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Old Waverley Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Old Waverley Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at The Old Waverley Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Old Waverley Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Old Waverley Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Makars Gourmet Mash Bar, Howies Waterloo Place, and Burgers and Beers Grillhouse.
Is The Old Waverley Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Old Waverley Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Old Waverley Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Old Waverley Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Russian, Portuguese, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Old Waverley Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (0.2 miles), Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.8 miles), and Gladstone's Land (0.2 miles).