We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Waverley Hotel

Expedia.comUS$145*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Waverley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,952 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Waverley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,788: English reviews
Cork
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very 'olde worlde' I booked for five 3 rooms in all. They blocked my card for the full amount for the longest time - even though the other guests paid on arrival. It's a strange hotel really - rooms fine small but serviceable - food poor everywhere but fabulous dining area where one can sit & enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hotshotsolicitor
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Old Waverley Hotel. However, we are sad to hear that you did not enjoy the food. In regards to the cheapest rate, we do offer the cheapest price directly on our website. But you must book this specifically. It is called 'Best Available Rate'....

Leyland
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

My brother and I have just enjoyed a one night stay at the Old Waverley. Our room was clean comfortable and had a lovely view over Princes St. The bathroom was large and had all the usual toiletries. Some reviews seem unfavourable which I don't understand if you want the Ritz stay at the Ritz and pay Ritz prices !...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you and your brother enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you found the hotel to be of a good standard and enjoyed the food. We hope you made the most of your time in the city and saw all the attractions...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Wonderful location on Princes Street. Nice comfortable room. Very comfortable bed. Good desk to put my computer on. Plenty of sockets. Good wifi. But no lift at pavement level - Carrying bags up a flight of stairs is annoying when you're not fit. The entrance doors are narrow and awkward to get you bags through when you're on your own....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogert5595
Great Notley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Just returned from a stay at the Old Waverley Hotel, Edinburgh. We booked on their special offer - buy breakfast and evening meal and get room for £1 each - making the cost £82 per room per night. We had a room overlooking Princes Street. It was a small double room with en suite but was very clean and cosy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anngooding
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time to leave such a generous review regarding your stay at Old Waverley Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the hotel, food and staff to be of a high standard. We would love to welcome you back the next time you visit Edinburgh. Kind Regards,...

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel above shops. Nice clean room and comfortable bed. Had bar food, didn't eat in restaurant, but it was lovely, tasty and plentiful. Charged us twice for bar food but it was soon rectified when we pointed it out, just waiting for it to get credited into account now.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jameshS5469XT
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
London
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jimbles
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 12 March 2017

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danskrejser
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at The Old Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave-in-Bournemouth
Reviewed 12 March 2017

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimimk

692 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (345)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
View from Room (55)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (139)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (331)
Viewed
Castle View Room (79)
Viewed
Princes Street View Room (62)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,538 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
281 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#116 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,699 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighbourhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Waverley Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Waverley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a higher floor room as Princes Street is very busy and can bee noisy at the weekends.”
MikeMcDonough, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Princes street rooms are more expensive but some of the rooms on the Jenners side have great views of the castle”
roseh161, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Twin room on the side street gives a lovely view of the castle”
  • The Castle lit up at night from our room
Bluesue189, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not in the basement”
grange5, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Road noise on lower floors facing Princes St.”
lstacey2, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$145* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$176
Hotels.comUS$145
Orbitz.comUS$145
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates