Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood

81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU Scotland
Traveller (827)
Room & Suite (527)
Dining (165)

View prices for your travel dates

£98
£98
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#111 of 160 hotels in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh Marriott Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Spa & Leisure facility is ideal to unwind in and our Restaurant and Bar is stylish and sophisticated. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Personal trainer
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 1 more
3931Reviews71Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,749
  • 1,291
  • 511
  • 236
  • 144
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Himself2 wrote a review Feb 2020
Oxenhope, United Kingdom283 contributions193 helpful votes
My wife and I visited here for my birthday for 3 nights in January, repeat visitors due to its location and we can walk from Waverley Station, hence its closeness to 'Old Town' (100 yards away from the Scottish Parliament) and not that far from New Town. We try to visit Edinburgh once per year minimum.
Our room was as close to the lift as it could be and we thought we may have had noise, but, no, the quietness was amazing, with the exception of an annoying fire alarm going off, after which we slept very little that night, with a letter of apology under the door. We were there over a weekend and the Sunday breakfast was just one word, 'chaotic', after queuing we were shown to a table in a corner and seemed to be forgotten about and I had to get up and ask a waiter to come to us, who then forgot whether we wanted tea or coffee with waiters going round asking who had ordered what. The cooked food took an age to get to us (I timed it as 30 mins), thus meaning tables were not being cleared for others to enter as diners were waiting for service. I have to admit the breakfast on the Saturday and Monday went like clockwork. The spa pool was very cold, too cold for me, the sauna broken, the (small) steam room quite busy. Just one comment about the room, the lack of 13 amp plugs to operate devices, there was just one available in the bedroom and another hidden in the wardrobe, not very good for anyone wishing to work, lots of small 5 amp, round pin plugs for the lights.

Other than the problems we had with the fire alarm/breakfast (Sunday) and spa, a good hotel in a wonderful city, and, yes, we would go back again!
It's about 20 metres away from a Tesco Express, where you can get a 2 litre bottle of water for 49p (I'm from Yorkshire!!)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fiona M, General Manager at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood
Responded 8 Feb 2020
Dear Himself2, Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed our location. My sincere apologies that there was an issue with breakfast and you found the spa to be cold, this is feedback i will share with the team to ensure it is reviewed and acted on moving forward. I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Best wishes, Fiona Milligan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BluFast wrote a review Feb 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom175 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
I stayed here for a couple of nights, what appealed to me was the MacDonald brand and having seen previous hotels in that chain elsewhre that looked very good that made me want to stay here.

My first impression was that the location is a bit far the other way from all the main amenities in Edinburgh, it is closer to University areas and when walking to it you come across lots of student accommodation. I was on the first floor looking out onto block of student flats, which, whilst to me I wasn't overly bothered (although the privacy is reduced) it may bother others.

The room itself was clean and in good condition, I would say though that the air conditioning system was extremely slow to get the room warm. I even tried the heater in the wardrobe but again it didn't build up enough heat to warm up the room fully. So during the night the room would get cold unless were are prepared to leave the air conditioning system on all night at full power which I wasn't because of the noise. The TV had it's moments when it kept losing signal, and make sure to put the towel rail heater on which is located on the other side of the wall as it was turned off on arrival. The staff were friendly and able to assist me with questions or anything I required.

I did find the dinner menu choice very small, there is a 'market menu' which you can select one of three choices for each course, however I found that this menu was exactly the same each night, so the choices become less and less unless you eat the same course every night. You are offered the opportunity to use a £25 allowance for your paid for dinner on the a la carte menu instead, however it is very easy to go over that amount just on two courses yet alone the three you pay for when including dinner in your stay.

There is one advantage to this hotel in that of the gym/pool facilities. These are great and kept in good clean condition.

So overall a mixed bag here it had to be said, the location didn't do much for me and I hope they improve the food menus with more choice, but I did enjoy the pool and the room was clean.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fiona M, General Manager at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Dear BluFast, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay. Our location is right next to the Scottish Parliament and Holyrood Palace so we are still right in the heart of Edinburgh and only around a 10-15 minute walk from most attractions. Out Market Menu is changed on a weekly basis and as was explained during your stay, you can also use your dinner allowance as part of your package to use towards the a la carte menu should you wish too. We will certainly take on board your comments for future and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Fiona Milligan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
louloutaylor wrote a review Jul 2021
Peterhead, United Kingdom64 contributions21 helpful votes
Just had a very nice 2 night stay with hubby and two kids (11 & 18 yrs). Twin room & king size - both rooms were perfect and king-size was quite roomy. Stayed bed & breakfast, continental self service and cooked breakfast ordered and it was plentiful and tasted really good.

We had dinner both nights which again was really good, batter on Fish & Chips was amazing. Caesar salad with anchovies, burger. Short BBQ ribs, meat was falling off the bone. All good size portions. There was no kids menu but 11 yr old was happy with main menu.

Pre booked the swimming pool, was nice to be back in a pool again, was a few other people in too but all kept their distance.

All staff were very helpful, friendly and ready to have a laugh and joke with you.

Would definitely recommend staying here, quiet, comfortable beds, yes it isn't the closest to the town centre but a 10 min walk takes you to the royal mile and then another 10 min walk downhill to Prince Street. We used taxis sometimes which were very reasonable.

Enjoy 😁
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siann Reid, General Manager at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood
Responded 30 Jul 2021
Thanks for staying with us and for leaving your feedback. I'm really pleased you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the restaurant so much! I'll be sure to share your kind comments on service with the team, who will be equally delighted. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colleen H wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed here last week after having already had to cancelled two nights stay due to work commitments surrounding Brexit (unforeseen and unavoidable) This cost us £25 on each occasion. We checked in fine and headed to spa where we had booked treatments (back massage for myself and husband) it seems they had not booked treatments in at the same time even thou we had documentation to this effect confirming booking. My husband then went to the pool which he found extremely cold but there were no seats left round the pool. The sauna was also out of action and steam room full as other people unable to find a seat and opting for a warmer option. I then got take to the relaxation room to wait on my treatment but when we got there found it was also full so I had to wait in a seat in the hallway which seemed to take forever. The girl showed up late for my treatment yet it still finished on time. I rebooked the massage for the following day at 12 as this was first available appt.

We were thereafter rudely awoken from our sleep with a fire alarm.

Then from around 0515hrs there was a male wi I believe may have slept in the corridor intermittently knock a door to try and get in. This only got louder and more intense with him then having a domestic argument with the female in the room. I asked politely for him to keep it down or leave as he clearly was not going to get in but fearful of repercussions I then asked my husband to contact security. Which he did but even after the make left there remained issues on the floor with disturbance.

We attended for breakfast where we were initially given the wrong breakfast upon sitting down ? Then when offered tea or coffee, I asked for green tea and was told there was a charge of £4.50 associated with it, so I just had juice. Breakfast was ok but slow service and staff not particularly busy. Lots of guests speaking about the disturbance too and they seemed equally fearful to get involved.

I booked this as a relaxing get away and found nothing relaxing about it. It seems a lot of people were there on some deal which is fine but it angers me that we paid full price including £50 in cancellation / rebooking fees despite explaining my employment.

Massage was ok, on time at least. Room service for sandwiches and chips was overpriced but ok.

Front desk service asked if we had enjoyable staff but when I explained why we had not, they were stuck for words, no apology. We received a letter under our door apologising for fire alarm which did not even have a signature. A personal touch at breakfast with staff advising it was a false activation would have went a long way to recovering the situation.

Overall for such a large hotel with what I believed was a good rep, I felt disheartened and let down by poor experience and uncaring staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fiona M, General Manager at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Dear ColleenhO1568RO, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review of your time with us. This is most disappointing to receive and i will address your comments with each department involved. I would love to hear more about your stay if you would like to contact me on: gm.holyrood@macdonald-hotels.co.uk I look forward to hearing from you. Fiona Milligan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pedick73 wrote a review Jun 2021
38 contributions63 helpful votes
Had a lovely midweek leisure stay here with my husband. Called to try and book direct on the morning we were staying however, I could not get an answer at the hotel on reservations or reception which was a shame as we ended up booking with an online travel agent (which was also considerably cheaper)! The room was very spacious and clean, we were in a room close to the elevator which can sometimes be noisy however we never heard a thing.

Our check in was pleasant and efficient and we were able to access our room a little early too which was superb. We were asked when we wanted breakfast which we later changed as we booked a slot at the swimming pool and this was all done without any problems. We didn’t eat or drink at the hotel in the evening although breakfast the next day was very good. A nice choice of cooked items however some fruit or cereal would’ve been nice too but appreciate things are not the same at the moment. The staff in the dining room were all very nice and we were served promptly as was the breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siann Reid, General Manager at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood
Responded 6 Jun 2021
Hi Pedick73, Thanks for choosing your midweek break at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel. I'm sorry you were unable to reach us via telephone, we are experiencing very high volumes of call at the moment and we are doing our very best to keep up with demand. I'm pleased you enjoyed everything from check in, the breakfast service and found the room to be spacious and quiet enough for you to relax! I will share your kind feedback with the whole team, who will be very pleased you had a fully enjoyable visit. I hope to be able to welcome you back soon, please feel free to get in contact directly on gm.holyrood@maconald-hotels.co.uk for any future bookings. Warm regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jen H wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed at this hotel as part of a group of 3 families. The two other families booked using a 3rd party website but as a family of 5 I was unable to make a booking in this way so phoned the hotel direct. The lady I spoke with a the time of booking was very efficient and advised me that I would need to book a deluxe suite to accommodate the 5 of us. This was priced at £140 more than my friends were paying for their 2 night stay but I accepted this price difference to allow our family to be in a room together. I was told that our suite would consist of a kingsize bed, a double sofa bed and a trundle bed for our 5 year old and would be on a “higher quiet floor”. On arrival we checked in to our room, which was on the ground floor and not a higher floor as promised when booking and discovered that we had a double bed rather than a kingsize bed. I then viewed the rooms that both my friends were in and were paying a considerable amount less for and found that their “family room” and “double room with put up beds” were infact exactly what I had expected of our “deluxe suite”. I approached reception to complain about our room and was offered a move to a different room. This room was next door to my friends “double room with put up beds” and was exactly the same as theirs but for £140 more! I declined a move (due to the hassle of moving with 3 small children) and expressed that I felt I had been over charged and would appreciate it if our rate could be reviewed. I spoke to a manager at this point who appeared very understanding and told me she would review this for me. On checking out I discovered that only around £38 had been taken from our bill and I again expressed that I was unhappy with this. The receptionist told me at this point that we had been given this room as it is the only family room in the hotel, I explained that I had booked and paid for a deluxe suite and not a family room. I also expressed issues regarding our room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel due to early morning wake up from noise outside the window (I appreciate the city location but was promised a higher floor when booking), no towels in the hotel pool and having to sit separately at breakfast on our second morning due to no clean tables that would accommodate 5. I was advised that the receptionist would ask the general manager to come and speak to me but could not tell me when the manager would be available. I had a reservation elsewhere so left both my phone number and email address with the receptionist and was advised that the manager would contact me to discuss as soon as she was available. 14 hours later I have still not been contacted and the fee of £400 (fee + £50) is still showing on my account! Very disappointing stay and poor customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Siann Reid, General Manager at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood
Responded 9 Jul 2021
Hi G4853LZjenniferh, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for leaving your valued feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were allocated our family room instead of a suite in the hotel, and that it was not convenient to move rooms once you had checked in to the hotel. As agreed, the rate was reduced by £80 which is the difference in the 2 room types. Please accept my apologies for any disappointment this caused during your stay with us. I was not in the hotel on the day of your departure, is disappointing that this information was not passed on, but I am grateful I have since had the opportunity to discuss and to resolve for you. I have reviewed your feedback with the restaurant team regarding your second day breakfast, as we could have resolved this at the time by setting an extra table for you and your family. I hope the issues encountered will not deter you from visiting again in the future, as we would love the opportunity to welcome you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MaryP wrote a review Jul 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
My cousin had arrived on a surprise visit from Canada, I had not seen her for 18 years. So we wanted to cram as much as we could into our stay and chose a central hotel from a well know chain Macdonald Hotels, just off the bottom of Royal Mile, easy access to centre of town and historical sites. I am Scottish and live only a few miles away and really was hoping to give my relative a memorable stay in the town.
I am sorely disappointed and disgusted at the state of the hotel. It was more of a 2 star in respect of decor our room was shabby and marked walls, with blankets that I think had last seen a wash at the last supper. Very poor standards in the room none of the soap dispensers (3) in the bathroom had anything in them - hotel -remove them if you don't want to fill them, We asked for an extra pillow which never arrived. As it was my daughters birthday my cousin had also arranged strawberries and champagne for the room this was not there and never arrived after complaining. We had forgotten the no to the safe and asked the concierge to assist us on arrival to the room, he never uttered one word, couldn't open the safe just walked away bringing a maintenance man back. We expected at least a courteous hello or bye. I stood at the reception desk for 5 minutes before. member of staff appeared so I could ask a question about a local restaurant she had no clue either did the concierge nor did he offer to call and ask the question to them. No offer of help with our luggage although luggage trollies were lying in the hallway. For the money that was paid for this city centre hotel I would not recommend, for a visitor to my city I was embarrassed with so many other beautiful hotels nearby for a few pounds more this hotel needs to up its game and redecorate and have its staff on a training course of how to treat the guests. Only good thing was leaving. added note we then went onto Glasgow to stay in the Voco Grand Central Hotel which was only £20 more was night and day abject luxury and very helpful staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fiona Milligan, General Manager at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Dear maryyarm, Thank you for your review. This is disappointing to receive and im sorry that your stay was not as you had expected. Service from each team member is always positive from our guests as you can see from previous reviews so it is unexpected to receive your comments however i will address them with each department to review moving forward. Best wishes, Fiona
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
weixiao82 wrote a review Feb 2020
Peterborough, United Kingdom115 contributions81 helpful votes
Was really impressed with the quality of the room for the price we paid. The hotel felt luxurious and is incredibly well located. We paid £20 extra per person for a late 4pm check out and lunch included - great offer for escaping the storm! Staff were all extremely pleasant and courteous.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fiona M, General Manager at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Dear weixiao82, Thank you for your 5* review. The team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and found our location to be just what you were looking for. Our Lazy Day offer is available every day, and great when its stormy outside! Look forward to welcoming you back soon, Fiona Milligan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa C wrote a review Nov 2021
Perth1 contribution2 helpful votes
The hotel itself is just what you expect for a 3 star. Certainly not 4star standard. Scuffed walls in room, broken wardrobe door etc.

Breakfast is it’s biggest downfall. We waited 28 minutes. Arrived at 10.30 so to avoid the 11am curfew when you expect food to be lacking etc. However that was exactly what happened!
We we eventually reached the start of the queue (which went all the way out into the lobby) we were told they would just clear a table for us. We were quick to tell the waiter there were at least 6 ready and just to put us there. (We had watched this happen to the people before us!) Despite it being 2 minutes to the end of service & only 1 couple behind us the rest of service seemed to be focused on clearing tables & resetting for breakfast. The staff were very inexperienced looking with a clear lack of training in hospitality & absolutely no passion. Why everyone wasn’t designated a specific role I do not understand.
I can’t really rate the food as there was none. A few pastries left & 2 slices of toast between 2 launched on a plate. When we complained & ordered it never arrived! By this point we had completely given up
& people all around us were complaining. After hearing the ‘manager’ mumble under his breath on his way past us we knew there was no point in complaining also. We would wait until checkout!
When this did occur we were never even asked about our stay. At this point keycards were popped down & we just left knowing full well an email would be sent 1st thing once home. We have stayed in many a MacDonald hotel, Aviemore being a firm favourite. This hotel in my opinion is severely damaging the company & management need to be aware/get involved.
I have never left a review on this site before. Mainly because every hotel I have stayed has given me no reason to. But I use it regularly before booking. I should at this point say I did not book the hotel, therefore read all the other awful reviews. It was a birthday gift. That is how strongly I feel about the disappointment of our visit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fiona Milligan, General Manager at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood
Responded 29 Nov 2021
Dear LisaC321, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. My sincere apologies that your stay was not as you had expected and that the breakfast experience was not too standard. On Saturday morning we did have some team members isolating due to COVID regulations and this was at last minute notice so were unable to replace them in time for the breakfast service. I'm sorry that this therefore impacted your visit to us and as a regular guest with Macdonald Hotels, i trust you will understand that this is not our usual standard. From your review i see that you have emailed the hotel directly, so i look forward to receiving that and discussing further with you. Thank you again for your feedback. Fiona
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicholas3368 wrote a review Jan 2020
Coatbridge, United Kingdom43 contributions35 helpful votes
Booked a dinner, spa, bed and breakfast deal for my wife and I but was very disappointed. The Spa relaxation area has some wallpaper flaking off, our bathroom door had a hole in it. Ordered two lattes in the bar section and was charged £4 per cup, the lattes were the worst ever and were absolutely disgusting. Dinner was again a disappointment (the selection was very small) and noticed a number of other guests complaining about the food and the wait. The only positive was that as we booked through a deal site we did not pay full price. Will not be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fiona M, General Manager at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Dear Nicholas3368, Thank you for sharing your feedback. This is disappointing to receive and as the new General Manager to the property, all your comments will be reviewed internally to ensure the areas you mention are investigated and improved upon. Should you wish to return to the hotel please do contact me directly on: gm.holyrood@macdonald-hotels.co.uk and id be delighted to look after you. Best wishes, Fiona Milligan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from mcmillan
Glasgow, United Kingdom130 contributions116 helpful votes
Hotel doesn’t have a car park. We used Dinamic Earth car park a 2 minute walk away. It’s £21 for 24 hours but you get a 20% discount as a hotel resident. We were £33.60 for out 2 night stay
Show all answers
Answer from Andy H
Glasgow, United Kingdom35 contributions10 helpful votes
Hi Nicola, my wife and I parked our car in the NCP across the road from the hotel a couple of weeks ago and it cost £42 ( £21 per 24 hr period)
Answer from Alan M
10 contributions1 helpful vote
There is no height restriction but it is essential to pre book it. I wasn’t aware of the Dynamic Earth car park at the time. It’s literally only 5 minutes away
Show all answers
Answer from Paul C
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes the spa is free to residents
David4100 wrote a tip 21 Feb
69 contributions15 helpful votes
"It's a climb up to the centre. If you like to pop back to the hotel during the day maybe not for you. Staff are great "
Read full review
Deso L wrote a tip 16 Feb
4 contributions
"Lovely place to stay. "
Read full review
capablue90 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Dubai, United Arab Emirates88 contributions75 helpful votes
"Book an alternative hotel!"
Read full review
DazLynne M wrote a tip Jan 2024
Scotland, United Kingdom61 contributions29 helpful votes
"Avoid the restaurant. There’s plenty of other nearby places for food. The chefs can only cook food they are allocated."
Read full review
Chris R wrote a tip Dec 2023
14 contributions3 helpful votes
"If you like to use a gym or pool while staying at a hotel then both are excellent here."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£89 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald holyrood edinburgh, hotel macdonald holyrood
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
160
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EDINBURGH MARRIOTT HOTEL HOLYROOD - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood
Which popular attractions are close to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood?
Nearby attractions include Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.2 miles), The Chocolatarium (0.3 miles), and Mackenzie Leather Edinburgh (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Pakora Bar, PIGGS, and Tempting Tattie.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Are any cleaning services offered at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Edinburgh Marriott Hotel Holyrood?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Russian, and Polish.