We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments

20, 20/A & 24 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EP Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (129)
Room & Suite (257)
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 112 apartments in Edinburgh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Destination Edinburgh are delighted to have Edinburgh Short term let licences for all our properties.This means we meet all planning, health and safety, insurance and other general conditions set by Edinburgh Council forshor Our York Place Self-catering Apartments are set within two converted Georgian town houses in the New Town, offering modern apartments in Edinburgh city centre. Just a 3 minutes’ walk from Princes Street, the main thoroughfare and heart of the city and 15 mins walk from Edinburgh castle and the Royal Mile. The apartments are directly opposite the St James Quarter, one of the largest, most modern shopping and leisure facilities in Europe. Each apartment has king or twin bedrooms, family rooms and multiple flat-screen TVs with Freeview channels and free Wi-Fi. Our deluxe apartments also have Netflix. Each apartment has a bathroom or shower room, with some apartments having 2-3 bathrooms/shower rooms. Lovely large lounges, fully equipped kitchen & dining areas.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free internet
Wifi
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
First aid kit
Washing machine
Room features
Dining area
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Oven
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Czech
309Reviews4Q+A50Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 249
  • 47
  • 7
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Elizabeth C wrote a review Mar 2024
13 contributions3 helpful votes
Just back from a 2 night stay. The apartments are amazing with everything you would need . The style and decor very tasteful. Fab location to the city centre. Communication and detail regarding stay excellent. Would definitely stay here again .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
happyharry03 wrote a review Mar 2024
somerset49 contributions25 helpful votes
Fabulous location , family of 6 with small children, flat one on the ground level. Well appointed apartments with everything you need , easy walking to everything, Warm and clean, not much noise seeing it’s so central. Loved we could use the luggage store before and after check in as well
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Camila B wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
The apartment was spacious and clean, beds and pillows really comfy, the showers and bathroom warm with good pressure. With the amenities available in the kitchen it was pretty easy to prepare meals and to clean everything, it helped a lot as we had kids with us. I would definitely recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you have time get the 48h hop on hop off tour for a good price, as 24h wasn't enough to see...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Scarlett D wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
The room is spacious and airy with comfortable beds with a range of seating options. We stayed in the ground floor room and we had some issues with tram noises but that eased away. It is perfectly kid friendly and has a nice cozy feel during the evenings. The location is INCREDIBLE and we enjoyed it as we are in walking distance of everything. The room is clean and tidy. The only issue is the water pressure in the ensuite shower but there is another shower that works perfectly fine. The price was incredible for a room of this quality! There was everything that was a necessity and there was not much noise during the quiet period. Overall I would 100% stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Hardy, Owner at Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Many thanks for taking time to review your stay. We are absolutely delighted to hear you had an an incredible experience with us. We do hope to be welcoming you in the future !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Casa62 wrote a review Dec 2023
Brisbane, Australia479 contributions252 helpful votes
We stayed here for five nights and it was just perfect. We were at 24 York Place in Apartment 2. Where to start? These are Georgian townhouses converted into apartments are within walking distance of everything. It is part of the New Town but its an easy stroll over to the Old Town. Trams run right past the door. Sainsburys and M & S are an easy 5 minute walk for stocking up. You have views over York Place at the front and the River Forth out the back. This has got to be the biggest apartment we have ever stayed in and the high ceilings give it a real sense of space. Comfy furniture and a fully kitted out kitchen with instructions for all appliances. After washing up bowls in other places it was great to have a dishwasher again. Heating works well and its clean. Everything is there for an extended stay if you want. A note that York Place is busy with the trams rumbling by so some people may find the front bedroom too noisy for sleeping. We walked from and to the train station; if you have a standard suitcase with wheels and just a backpack its doable. We like it that much we are going to kick off our next UK trip here to recover from jetlag instead of London.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Hardy, Owner at Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Thank you for sharing your review, great to hear you loved our apartments and stay. We do hope to be welcoming you again on your next UK trip
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Abigail L wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Loved the apartment. Just great for friends to share .Great social space with everything we needed. Good position, just off the main streets .Everything clean and comfortable .Great value for money. Will definitely recommend to friends and family who visit Edinburgh in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Hardy, Owner at Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your recommendation. We will look forward to welcoming your friends and family in the future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ali P wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
I absolutely love everything about the accommodation at York Place ( this was our second visit). The customer service is brilliant. The staff go above & beyond to assist to make your stay perfect. The accommodation is so central. It’s great for large or small groups as the accommodation is so versatile. I can’t wait to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SAZZA442 wrote a review Nov 2023
Slough, United Kingdom44 contributions42 helpful votes
We recently returned from our second, stay at Destination Edinburgh Apartments. The apartments are very well situated. They are nicely furnished with all the amenities you would expect. We would definitely recommend these apartments and hope to return in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Hardy, Owner at Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Many thanks for your review and for your recommendation. We hope to have you stay once again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sainter352016 wrote a review Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia25 contributions6 helpful votes
Accommodation all as described. Communication at booking and prior to arrival all excellent. Stayed at 24 York Place, Apt 2, on the first floor . Access was straightforward. The apartment is big with large living, dining and kitchen areas, felt more so as we were travelling as a couple. Would be excellent for a large family group. The apartment was clean and tidy, we had no reason to contact the agent. Location very convenient for exploring the city, the tram from the airport stops just down the road. Things to be aware off : - the main bedroom faces onto York Place, at night the traffic noise is very loud as there is a traffic junction outside and a loose manhole was clangs every-time a car goes over it. I am not a light sleeper but after the first night I had to sleep in the smaller back bedroom. Needs DG windows. - the en-suite for the main bedroom is quite small and doesn't have a toilet so you have to use the bathroom off the corridor , not so great in the middle of the night. Strange layout considering the size of the apartment(not a deal breaker) - No toiletries provide at all, as described , but unusual as aimed at more luxury market. Minimal toilet paper. Not expensive items and would be appreciated. - Wardrobe space limited - probably because aimed at people staying a couple of days. Would we stay here again and recommend to friends, yes but book a different apartment with the main bedroom to the rear
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get an apartment with the main bedroom to the rear due tho the street noise from York Place
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Hardy, Owner at Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Thank you for your feedback following your stay, and glad to hear you would rebook and stay with us in the future. Be a pleasure to have you stay again. Our apartments as advertised are on a main road right in the city centre and city centre noise is to be expected. We had reported the man hole cover on the main road to the council and this has been fixed, sorry to hear you experienced noise from this. We do have apartments on various floors and bedrooms to the back of the building also. We note there is one toilet in the main bathroom only for our 2 bedroom deluxe apartments, for guests requiring more than 1 toilet we do have other apartments which have 2 or more toilets. Due to the style/restrictions of the buildings we are unable to have a toilet in the ensuite. Toiletries are not provided, we list everything we offer on the booking platforms and in more details on our online apartment guide. Thanks again for your booking and for getting in touch.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jkirk wrote a review Sept 2023
Scottsdale, Arizona9 contributions
We arrived (three ladies - one is 80) on a delayed flight after midnight. Gained access no problem and things looked great from outside. Once inside, however - you will be in for a terrible surprise. If you book #4 you will be faced with 76 stairs up. There is NO lift. We had three carryon size bags and three backpacks - let me tell you - this is a HAUL! We were not told to expect this - otherwise I would NOT have booked the apartment. The description vaguely says ‘may not be suitable if you have mobility issues’ - we DON’T so didn’t think it was going to be an issue. Take it from us, the thought of going up and down all those stairs will keep you from making frequent trips in an out. Forget about it if you want to get groceries. None of the multiple email confirmations or emails asking for additional information mentioned ALL THESE STAIRS. Neither did the nifty video that was sent. It conveniently begins at the door of the apartment. At the TOP of all of those stairs - so you really are in for a horrible surprise. I phoned the management company that night and they called me the next morning and offered to move us to an apartment one floor down. Too much trouble for our short stay - basically a token gesture. We should have received a discount. This place is too expensive to have to climb ALL THOSE STAIRS. You’ve been warned. I wish I had been. Especially for my poor 80 year old mother!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t book it without finding out what floor you will be on and how many stairs you have to climb...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Hardy, Owner at Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments
Responded 20 Sept 2023
We are upset to read your review given our information is accurate and we have no way of knowing your group requirements unless you outline them prior to arrival. You booked through booking.com so you can contact us via that platform if you have any requests or questions prior to arriving. We also have an office that is available as well as an out of hours call centre. We make every effort to make sure that the information we provide is accurate. I travel with my 85-year-old Dad and would never think of booking somewhere unless I had checked directly that it fitted his mobility requirements. We have worked hard to get such positive reviews as you will find on trip advisor and for the apartments as well as the service we provide. I’m not going to give a discount given you should of called and outlined any issue prior to arriving. Thanks for the booking.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
£275 - £680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
20 York Place
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburghBroughton & Calton / New Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DESTINATION EDINBURGH YORK PLACE APARTMENTS - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Escape Hunt Edinburgh (0.2 miles), National Galleries Scotland: Portrait (0.1 miles), and Scott Monument (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free internet access, baggage storage, and paid public parking nearby.
Which room amenities are available at Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a dining area.
Is parking available at Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Howies Waterloo Place, The Table, and Duck & Waffle Edinburgh.
Is Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the centre of Edinburgh.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (0.4 miles), Palace of Holyroodhouse (0.8 miles), and Gladstone's Land (0.5 miles).
Does Destination Edinburgh York Place Apartments have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.